We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and brilliant location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
Ranked #95 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 21 October 2012

My boyfriend took me to Edingburgh for my birthday in April, we drove up and spent 3 nights at this hotel. The navigator found the hotel easy and there are plenty of parking spaces so we never had a problem with that. The hotel staff were very friendly when we checked in and throughout our stay. The hotel room was lovely and the view was brilliant, such a lovely sight to wake up. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom reasonably sized with a lovely shower!
We went to Edinburgh to see the pandas at Edinburgh zoo! This was perfect location as it was a five minute drive down the road to the zoo. I personally recommend if you are going to stay at this hotel then take the time to go to the zoo, its a brilliant day out and the pandas were adorable (You have to book to see the pandas in advance which isn't a major problem).
Back to the hotel! There is a bus stop right around the corner from the hotel which takes you straight in to town, again very handy! We decided not to drive into the city centre because there was tram work going on when we went and it made things very hectic! But because the bus stops were close and fairly simple it was not problem.
The restaurant, bar and the pool at the hotel are brilliant, and again I must praise how lovely the staff were! Every night we went to the bar for a drink and they were always so lovely.

I would recommend this hotel highly to anyone! Its near the zoo and has easy access into the city centre! We are already planning to go back again :)

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

Dear Alexandra K,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for our hotel.

It sounds like you had a great time whilst celebrating your birthday back in April. Thank you for all your excellent comments, I am sure the team here at the hotel will be delighted to have been given your recognition.

We were also very happy to read that you enjoyed the comfort and standard of your room. I would readily agree that driving in the city centre is not a straight forward experience due to the tram construction works. We have 100 complimentary parking spaces on site and feel we are a great choice for leisure and business travellers given our proximity to the zoo, airport and city centre. The number 26 bus service to and from the city operates every 7-8 minutes during peak hours.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future, please do not hesitate to contact us direct as it would be our pleasure to look after your arrangements with our great rates and personal attention. +44 (0)131 535 9988

Kind regards,

Chris Lynch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

846 - 852 of 1,231 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2012

We ended up at the Best Western Capital Hotel as our flight was delayed by 24 hours and the airline put 12 of us up here. The hotel has a modern and welcoming reception, check-in was quick and we went down to our room - fed up as ur flight was delayed and we had spent more than 9 hours in Edinburgh Airport!
We got a lovely modern room with a huge bed and tested it with a wee nap... well it is the most comfortable bed I've slept in, I would love this bed at home! After our nap we decided to start our holiday by going for a swim in the leisure centre, we didn't venture into the fitness room but had fun in the pool, sauna and steam room.
The airline also provided a meal so we were advised by the nice bar we could eat in the restaurant or the bar and could have 2 courses from the table d hote menu. There was a good choice and it was very tasty. A bottle of Sauvingon Blanc was reasonably priced at around 16 quid.
With another early start we retired and had a great nights sleep on the fantastic bed!
Can't comment on the breakfast we were picked up before 6am. Others on the same flight were in the Holiday Inn around the corner and said the food was awful so I think our luck was in when we ended up at the Best Westen Capital!
So will definately consider it the next time I have to stay in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allybee0806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

Dear Allybee0806,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for our hotel.

We are truly delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was great to read that you really liked the comfort of your bed. We always replace with Hypnos mattresses, well known for their excellent comfort and superior quality. Thanks for your comments regarding our excellent leisure facilities and that you felt you had a very good meal in the Westview Restaurant.

The whole team will be thrilled to have had their efforts recognised by you. I do hope that you were able to enjoy your holiday despite the airline delay and that we were able to get you off to an excellent start.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future, please do not hesitate to contact us direct as it would be our pleasure to look after your arrangements with our great rates and personal attention. +44 (0)131 535 9988

Kind regards,

Chris Lynch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012 via mobile

This hotel is situated about a 20 min bus ride from town, view amazing views

The rooms are clean and quite spacious.

Breakfast was very poor, but the good service made up for this.

I would recommend a city centre hotel if you are only here for a few days, but if you get a good price a taxi is only £6 from town

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewcastleRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

Dear NewcastleRobin,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for our hotel.

We are truly delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We were also very happy that you enjoyed the comfort and standard of your room and was also very pleased to read you had received great service. I do wish to take on board your other comments, in the spirit of understanding and learning from feedback I would welcome a little more detail regarding your breakfast. Please do not hesitate to contact me direct by email: manager@edinburghcapitalhotel.co.uk

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future, please do not hesitate to contact us direct as it would be our pleasure to look after your arrangements with our great rates and personal attention. +44 (0)131 535 9988

Kind regards,

Chris Lynch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We have stayed at this hotel a few times as it is only a short walk away from where our family live. We have always found the staff friendly and the rooms have always been clean and tidy. The beds are first-rate and having a 'bad back' this is so important. The breakfasts are delicious - always fresh and really do give you enough energy to keep going all day! The views from the restaurant must be amongst the best in the world. It is a very popular venue for weddings and the staff in Reception have always told us and given us a room further away from the wedding suite area. We arrived very late this time for our stay and the staff were just as welcoming even though they were in the middle of serving a wedding group. We do enjoy staying here as the staff are so friendly - it makes it a very important part of a holiday. I can't review the Spa area as we were too busy househunting and visiting family but it looked brilliant from the outside.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edinburgh g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Dear yorkie g,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for our hotel.

We are truly delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I do note that you have stayed on several occasions before. There is no better feedback than that from return guests. Thank you for your previous and future custom. Making all guests feel welcome and cared for is a fundamental, something we work very hard at.

The team will no doubt be very pleased to have been given your praise and recognition.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future, please do not hesitate to contact us direct as it would be our pleasure to look after your arrangements with our great rates and personal attention. +44 (0)131 535 9988

Kind regards,

Chris Lynch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Having stayed here before, when booking direct with the hotel I had specified a preference for a room on the upper levels at the front - it‘s quite a nice outlook over parkland.

On arrival the receptionist allocated a ground floor room at the back of the hotel which had disability access. Whilst I would give the receptionist points for noticing that my wife was using a crutch to help her walk (she was recovering from knee surgery) it would have been better to have discussed if we would prefer the allocated room in the circumstances especially since the location was entirely opposite to our stated preference. Perhaps there were no disability rooms available at the front at higher levels? There are lifts so access to upper levels is not an issue however perhaps there are no walk-in showers except on the ground floor? We will never know.

Anyway our room #59 was close to the reception on the ground floor and had a walk-in shower. It overlooked the car park at the back of the building so not much of a view however as we were only staying overnight I suppose it was not a big issue. The only other reservation we had about the room location was the proximity to the reception and the potential for noise.

We were looking for a snack so headed to the Westview Bar - near the reception. The menu was limited however, when I had managed to find a member of staff to take our order, we just opted for paninis and a couple of glasses of wine. The food took quite a while to appear. The paninis were very hard (as if the bread had been lying for some time) and were served with nachos and a bit of salad. Hopefully the wine accounted for the bulk of the £19 bill because the food wasn’t very enjoyable.

We were attending an event elsewhere and the reception organised a taxi for us which arrived promptly.

Later when we returned to the hotel we had a drink in the bar. Apart from a few guests attending a function who had opted out for a while it was quiet. Sadly the peace was not maintained. After we had gone to bed my wife’s sleep was disturbed during the night by laughing and doors banging in the corridor outside our room.

Breakfast, served in the restaurant, was buffet style and the selection and taste of the food was very good.

Let’s look at the evidence…room allocation opposite to that requested, the poor bar snack experience, the disturbed sleep. Who stays in a hotel like this?

Luckily it has a number of redeeming features - free parking, nice looking pool (which we still haven’t tried), it’s a short taxi/bus ride from the centre, it has comfortable beds and therefore I wouldn’t be entirely put off returning. On this occasion we paid £89 for a standard room on a bed & breakfast basis which for Edinburgh is very reasonable.

Room Tip: Suggest requesting high level at front - you may be lucky
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rantin rover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

Dear Rantin rover,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for our hotel.

It would appear that you have generally enjoyed your stay with us way back in June. I do wish to acknowledge your feedback, thank you for your constructive and highly detailed comments, I will be sure to share this with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future, please do not hesitate to contact us direct as it would be our pleasure to look after your arrangements with our great rates and personal attention. +44 (0)131 535 9988

Kind regards,

Chris Lynch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We booked two rooms 313/315 for four nights 4th to 8th October. We wanted a hotel with parking and the parking was great. The bus service into Edingburgh was excellent (about half hour bus ride away) the bus service was cheep £1.40 to go anywhere and the bus stop just around the corner from the hotel. Dont even think about driving around central Edingburgh its a nightmare especially with the roads dug up for tram line extention etc.

The hotel's housekeeping was excellent our room and the hotel was spotless. The food was excellent as well we ate at the hotel every night apart from one night. The breakfast was fab as well.

What made our stay were the staff at this hotel they were so friendly helpfull and just really really nice people nothing was to much trouble so I feel the manager and staff should be congratulated on an excellent hotel. Well done Best Western Capital Edingburgh.

Room Tip: Rooms 313/315 have a fab view over the city really lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2012

Dear MelNorthYorkshire,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for our hotel.

We are truly delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Making all guests feel welcome and cared for is a fundamental, something we work very hard at. You as so many other guests have commented upon our team being very friendly and helpful, the team and I are very proud to be given your recognition, thank you.

I would fully agree with your comments regarding the current tram construction project in the city centre. We have 100 complimentary car parking spaces and the number 26 bus service operates every 7-8 minutes during peak times to and from the city. We feel that this makes our hotel an excellent choice for both leisure and business travellers alike.

We were also very happy to read that you thought our housekeeping to be excellent and that you enjoyed our great Scottish breakfast.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future, please do not hesitate to contact us direct as it would be our pleasure to look after your arrangements with our great rates and personal attention. +44 (0)131 535 9988

Kind regards,

Chris Lynch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012 via mobile

Arrived on the 8th October after a 5 hour drive, very easy to find! Warm welcome and ample car parking. Very nice hotel and the room was lovely (205), bus stop is nearby route 26. Lovely breakfast and nice room service food! Great value for money and ideal if you want a peaceful nights sleep! Staff are friendly and polite, will come back!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank statman86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2012

Dear Adam R,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for our hotel.

We are truly delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Making all guests feel welcome and cared for is a fundamental, something we work very hard at. We think we have a great location with plenty of complimentary car parking. The number 26 bus service is frequent and a great way to start exploring Edinburgh.

We were also very happy to read that you enjoyed the comfort and standard of your room and that you found the standard of our chefs cooking to be very good.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future, please do not hesitate to contact us direct as it would be our pleasure to look after your arrangements with our great rates and personal attention. +44 (0)131 535 9988

Kind regards,

Chris Lynch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#88 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#73 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,263 reviews
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#108 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,254 reviews
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
1,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh Capital Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh Capital Hotel

Address: 187 Clermiston Rd | Corstorphine, Edinburgh EH12 6UG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#54 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £58 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Edinburgh Capital Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edinburgh Capital Hotel has great views across the west of the city and enjoys close proximity and easy access to Edinburgh Airport, Murrayfield Stadium and Edinburgh Zoo. You are never too far away to explore the sights and sounds of the historic City of Edinburgh. Stylish and comfortable guestrooms with free WiFi, extensive leisure club and substantial free car parking. Westview Restaurant and Bar offers good food at great prices. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Number 26 bus operated by Lothian Buses runs a regular service into the City Centre. Whether your stay is business or pleasure, Edinburgh Capital is the perfect choice for a memorable visit to the City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Edinburgh Capital Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Edinburgh
Edinburgh Best Western
Edinburgh Capital Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing