We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor conference facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
Ranked #94 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 23 June 2013

I was here for a two day work conference/training event. I did not stay at the hotel as I live locally, so I cannot rate it for the rooms (which my colleagues tell me were very nice). However, I was very disappointed with the conference facilities and the food. We were in the Rutland Room, which was a fine size for our needs and there were plenty of tables and chairs which we could rearrange. The room had clearly not been cleaned before we used it, there were lots of crumbs on the floor, the mirrors were filthy and it was generally quite grubby. The teas and coffees were regularly refilled but the afternoon cakes were literally bitesized. The lunches were terrible. We had a selection of baked potatoes (overcooked and looked like the had been kept warm for ages) and fillings which were a bit lacking. On the second day there was a chicken curry, with not enough for everyone and there were no staff going about filling up the food counters so we had to make do. The rolls were rock hard and stale, and the soup for starter tasted like watered down curry dishwater. Overall, very disappointed with the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryJaneL85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

Dear MaryJaneL85,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your attendance at a conference event.

Naturally I was disappointed to read your comments and wish to offer my apologies for any disappointment. This is not indicative of our normally excellent conference and event feedback. As a matter of urgency I will share your feedback with the team and we will work together to ensure that the necessary improvements are made. Your constructive comments are received fully in the spirit of learning, reviewing and putting things right.

We would very much appreciate the opportunity of welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future, please do not hesitate to contact us direct as it would be our pleasure to look after your arrangements with our great rates and personal attention. +44 (0)131 535 9988

Yours sincerely,

Chris Lynch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

763 - 769 of 1,241 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2013

I wanted somewhere to stay which was close to the zoo and airport, and this hotel was perfect for that with a bus stop right outside.
The staff were very friendly and welcoming. We used the swimming pool and sauna which were both clean and well looked after. anything we required, such as an iron was brought up to the room very promptly and with a smile.
The room was perfect for our needs and clean and comfortable. would recommend this hotel and if im ever back in the area will use this hotel again. Thank you for a lovely break!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouiseT802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Dear Louise T802,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for our hotel.

We are highly delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our location has excellent proximity to the zoo and airport. The number 26 bus service makes all parts of the city very accessible at all times of the day. I would argue that Lothian buses operates one of the best and easiest to use city bus services anywhere.

Thank you ever so much for recognising the hotel team for their friendly and welcoming manner, I am sure they will all be best pleased. I also note that you enjoyed our leisure facilities, you appreciated the comfort and cleanliness of your bedroom and that you recommend our hotel to others.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future, please do not hesitate to contact us direct as it would be our pleasure to look after your arrangements with our great rates and personal attention. +44 (0)131 535 9988

Best regards,

Chris Lynch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We are just back (as of last night 16th) from a three night break to Edinburgh. Staff at this hotel were very friendly and very helpful. Sharon, who we checked in with and helped us on a few occassions was lovely. Staff in restaurant also very friendly and welcoming. Our room was very comfortable and modern. It was a pity that the lift only went to the second floor as it is tricky with luggage trying to get up the stairs to the third floor. Doors were very heavy.
We also enjoyed the leisure centre but there could be better signage from the reception area to it.
It was a bit of a journey on the bus into town but you allow for that then its not so bad. You can get a day ticket for £3.50 which we used for our trips in and out.
I would definitely recommend this hotel for its friendly staff, clean comfortable rooms and good food.

Room Tip: Our room was in the front of the hotel on the third floor but as I mentioned it was hard to get up t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eve031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

Dear Eve031,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for our hotel.

It does sound like you thoroughly enjoyed all of the services and facilities we offer at our hotel. I was most pleased to read that you found our staff to be very friendly and helpful, in particular you mention Sharon our reception supervisor, I am sure she will appreciate your recognition.

You recommend our hotel for it's friendly staff, cleanliness, comfortable rooms and good food. Many thanks indeed.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future, please do not hesitate to contact us direct as it would be our pleasure to look after your arrangements with our great rates and personal attention. +44 (0)131 535 9988

Kind regards,

Chris Lynch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

First visit here. Stayed 6 nights. Staff polite and efficient. Great Scottish breakfast included haggis and black pudding - right up my alley. Room very comfortable. Nice big flat screen tv. First floor is a mezzanine and the elevator doesn't stop there. Have to backtrack down several stairs (with luggage). Bus stops almost at hotel door. Parking is difficult in town - suggest day pass on bus (after 0930) for 3.5GBP. Lots of free parking at hotel. Free WiFi. Great green space (Corstorphine Hill) over the street from hotel for daytime/evening walks. Good pricepoint esp if you prepay (also breakfast). Good choice in Edinburgh.

Room Tip: Confirm with hotel that elevator stops at your floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenneth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Dear KsW_MD,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for our hotel.

We are truly delighted to read that you enjoyed your six night stay with us. Making all guests feel welcome and cared for is a fundamental, something we work very hard at.

We were also very happy to read that you enjoyed our great Scottish breakfast, the comfort and standard of your room and the free wifi. We have 100 complimentary car parking spaces for guests to use and we are very well served by the excellent number 26 bus service. The hotel is directly opposite Corstorphine Hill Nature Reserve (the largest in Edinburgh city) which is open to everyone and is a very pleasant green space to enjoy.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future, please do not hesitate to contact us direct as it would be our pleasure to look after your arrangements with our great rates and personal attention. +44 (0)131 535 9988

Kind regards,

Chris Lynch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel for 1 night and couldn't fault it.

Great rooms, large beds, flat screen tv, great sized bath room with plenty towels, shower gel, hand wash etc.

The hotel has a very nice bar area and is only 10/15mins walk down to Corstorphine where there are other bars and a very nice carvery.

Only £79 per night through late rooms which I feel was good value for money due to the high standards.

Thanks to Christopher on the bar.

Very friendly and polite staff

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abdul2432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

Dear Abdul2432,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for our hotel.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I was very happy to read your comments regarding the standard and cleanliness of your room, overall value and our friendly staff. I have no doubt the team will be best pleased to receive your recognition.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future, please do not hesitate to contact us direct as it would be our pleasure to look after your arrangements with our great rates and personal attention. +44 (0)131 535 9988

Kind regards,

Chris Lynch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Hotel is very nice and relaxing, the staff were very friendly and helpful. The only down side is that its a bit from the city and is expensive on taxis to get in and out of the city. Relaxing if you want a quiet break.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ikea08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

Dear Ikea08,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for our hotel.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the team members at The Capital friendly and helpful. I was also very happy to read that you had a relaxing time with us.

I would not say that our location is "bad" and fully appreciate that this is your opinion. The vast majority of our customers thoroughly enjoy our leafy suburb location next to the local nature reserve on Corstorphine Hill. We are very well served by the number 26 bus service which operates every 7-8 minutes during peak hours, £1.50 for a single ticket or £3.50 for an all day ticket or £3 on the night bus, N26. Indeed a great way to get out and about exploring the city at all hours of the day.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future, please do not hesitate to contact us direct as it would be our pleasure to look after your arrangements with our great rates and personal attention. +44 (0)131 535 9988

Best regards,

Chris Lynch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We were looking for a hotel handy for Edinburgh Zoo for our family and this hotel was perfect. We had a family room for our two adults and three children, the room was very spacious, clean and family friendly. The housekeeping staff had already provided a travel cot made up with bedding when we arrived, the travel cot was exceptionally clean. Facilities at gym a bonus, swimming pool clean and inviting.
We would definitely recommend this hotel if you are a family visiting Edinburgh Zoo, which is less than 5 minutes away by car.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kt987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Dear Kt987,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for our hotel.

We are highly delighted to read your review headline and that you enjoyed your stay with us. It does sound like you made advantage and enjoyed all of the services and facilities we offer at our hotel. The Head Housekeeper and her team will be very proud to read your comments regarding the comfort, standard and cleanliness of your room. Our Leisure team will also be best pleased to be recognised.

I also note and wish to thank you for openly recommending The Edinburgh Capital Hotel to others, there is no better commendation that that from a satisfied customer.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future, please do not hesitate to contact us direct as it would be our pleasure to look after your arrangements with our great rates and personal attention. +44 (0)131 535 9988

Kind regards,

Chris Lynch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#90 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#75 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,301 reviews
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#109 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,286 reviews
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#36 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh Capital Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh Capital Hotel

Address: 187 Clermiston Rd | Corstorphine, Edinburgh EH12 6UG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#54 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £52 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Edinburgh Capital Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edinburgh Capital Hotel has great views across the west of the city and enjoys close proximity and easy access to Edinburgh Airport, Murrayfield Stadium and Edinburgh Zoo. You are never too far away to explore the sights and sounds of the historic City of Edinburgh. Stylish and comfortable guestrooms with free WiFi, extensive leisure club and substantial free car parking. Westview Restaurant and Bar offers good food at great prices. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Number 26 bus operated by Lothian Buses runs a regular service into the City Centre. Whether your stay is business or pleasure, Edinburgh Capital is the perfect choice for a memorable visit to the City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Edinburgh Capital Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Edinburgh
Edinburgh Best Western
Edinburgh Capital Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing