We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent Hotel nicely located between airport and city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
Ranked #95 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Tornesch, Germany
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Decent Hotel nicely located between airport and city”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Decent Hotel nicely located betweeen airport and city with lots of
parking available. Bus No 26 is 2 mins away and gets you to the city
in 20 mins for £1,50. Last bus back is 23:47 hrs from the city. Rooms
are spacious and basic, but ok. Expect nothing fancy. Bathroom was
already a bit shabby. Coffeemaker available in room. The king size
bed was really good, slept wonderful. Staff was friendly but reception
had only 1 person available so he was constantly busy. But we got what
we needed, incl adaptor for european power plug.

Nothing to complain at all, but nothing special. Basic and decent.
Good location if you arrive at the airport and want to continue by car
but spend the first night in the city.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr.Floyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Dear Dr.Floyd,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for our hotel.

We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our location is exceptionally convenient for the airport and city. The number 26 bus runs every 7-8 minutes during peak hours, a great way to get out and about exploring.

We were also very happy to read that you enjoyed the comfort and standard of your room they are well appointed and are excellent value in the marketplace. I do take on board your other comments and will be sure to share your feedback with the team. Please note that we are embarking on some bathroom upgrades towards the end of summer. Our company invests significantly in their properties and facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future, please do not hesitate to contact us direct as it would be our pleasure to look after your arrangements with our great rates and personal attention. +44 (0)131 535 9988

Kind regards,

Chris Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    480
    183
    56
    35
See reviews for
253
466
43
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed for 4 days in May 2013 at this hotel and were very pleased with the efficiency of the personnel as well as the delectable meals served in their restaurant. The breakfast buffet was very generous and tasty, the waitresses really friendly and helpful. Same goes for the ladies in the reception who were going out of their way to please the customer.
The only concern we had was the fact that the matresses in the rooms we had were extremely hard and did not allow for a good night's rest. We had different rooms and they both had overly firm beds which were uncomfortable for sensitive backs. Nevertheless, for the price offered, this is a hotel to be recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gisela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Dear Gisela C,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for our hotel.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your four day stay with us I do hope you had a great time visiting Edinburgh. It was highly pleasing to read that you found our staff to be efficient and friendly and you enjoyed dining at the hotel.

I do note your comment regarding firm mattresses and am currently working on a replacement project for those mattresses in our bedrooms that were not renewed last year. This will commence very soon. Portland Hotels is fully committed to investing in their hotels, as such we have a concise expenditure programme each year.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future, please do not hesitate to contact us direct as it would be our pleasure to look after your arrangements with our great rates and personal attention. +44 (0)131 535 9988

Kind regards,

Chris Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Took my mum for lunch last week as have fond memories of when it was the old Fox Covert Hotel. Lunch in the restaurant was a bit disappointing, we were restricted to sitting in the dull bar are and not in the lighter restaurant itself (which was set for dinner!). For a hotel restaurant having to go to the bar to place your order was quite strange, staff were friendly enough but food was very average for the price.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dabhand2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Dear Dabhand2,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for our bar.

It has been some twenty years plus since the hotel was know as The Fox Covert, we do hope you enjoyed reminiscing your memories. Our bar day menu has over thirty choices ranging from traditional and modern home style favourites to deli panini and ciabatta sandwiches. I was sorry to read that you felt our food was average and that the bar was dull and I wish to take on board your comments. I will be sure to share your feedback with the team. I was very happy to read that you found our staff to be friendly, thank you for recognising them.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future, please do not hesitate to contact us direct as it would be our pleasure to look after your arrangements with our great rates and personal attention. +44 (0)131 535 9988

Best regards,

Chris Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

I was here for a two day work conference/training event. I did not stay at the hotel as I live locally, so I cannot rate it for the rooms (which my colleagues tell me were very nice). However, I was very disappointed with the conference facilities and the food. We were in the Rutland Room, which was a fine size for our needs and there were plenty of tables and chairs which we could rearrange. The room had clearly not been cleaned before we used it, there were lots of crumbs on the floor, the mirrors were filthy and it was generally quite grubby. The teas and coffees were regularly refilled but the afternoon cakes were literally bitesized. The lunches were terrible. We had a selection of baked potatoes (overcooked and looked like the had been kept warm for ages) and fillings which were a bit lacking. On the second day there was a chicken curry, with not enough for everyone and there were no staff going about filling up the food counters so we had to make do. The rolls were rock hard and stale, and the soup for starter tasted like watered down curry dishwater. Overall, very disappointed with the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryJaneL85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Dear MaryJaneL85,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your attendance at a conference event.

Naturally I was disappointed to read your comments and wish to offer my apologies for any disappointment. This is not indicative of our normally excellent conference and event feedback. As a matter of urgency I will share your feedback with the team and we will work together to ensure that the necessary improvements are made. Your constructive comments are received fully in the spirit of learning, reviewing and putting things right.

We would very much appreciate the opportunity of welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future, please do not hesitate to contact us direct as it would be our pleasure to look after your arrangements with our great rates and personal attention. +44 (0)131 535 9988

Yours sincerely,

Chris Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

I wanted somewhere to stay which was close to the zoo and airport, and this hotel was perfect for that with a bus stop right outside.
The staff were very friendly and welcoming. We used the swimming pool and sauna which were both clean and well looked after. anything we required, such as an iron was brought up to the room very promptly and with a smile.
The room was perfect for our needs and clean and comfortable. would recommend this hotel and if im ever back in the area will use this hotel again. Thank you for a lovely break!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseT802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Dear Louise T802,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for our hotel.

We are highly delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our location has excellent proximity to the zoo and airport. The number 26 bus service makes all parts of the city very accessible at all times of the day. I would argue that Lothian buses operates one of the best and easiest to use city bus services anywhere.

Thank you ever so much for recognising the hotel team for their friendly and welcoming manner, I am sure they will all be best pleased. I also note that you enjoyed our leisure facilities, you appreciated the comfort and cleanliness of your bedroom and that you recommend our hotel to others.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future, please do not hesitate to contact us direct as it would be our pleasure to look after your arrangements with our great rates and personal attention. +44 (0)131 535 9988

Best regards,

Chris Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We are just back (as of last night 16th) from a three night break to Edinburgh. Staff at this hotel were very friendly and very helpful. Sharon, who we checked in with and helped us on a few occassions was lovely. Staff in restaurant also very friendly and welcoming. Our room was very comfortable and modern. It was a pity that the lift only went to the second floor as it is tricky with luggage trying to get up the stairs to the third floor. Doors were very heavy.
We also enjoyed the leisure centre but there could be better signage from the reception area to it.
It was a bit of a journey on the bus into town but you allow for that then its not so bad. You can get a day ticket for £3.50 which we used for our trips in and out.
I would definitely recommend this hotel for its friendly staff, clean comfortable rooms and good food.

Room Tip: Our room was in the front of the hotel on the third floor but as I mentioned it was hard to get up t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eve031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Dear Eve031,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for our hotel.

It does sound like you thoroughly enjoyed all of the services and facilities we offer at our hotel. I was most pleased to read that you found our staff to be very friendly and helpful, in particular you mention Sharon our reception supervisor, I am sure she will appreciate your recognition.

You recommend our hotel for it's friendly staff, cleanliness, comfortable rooms and good food. Many thanks indeed.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future, please do not hesitate to contact us direct as it would be our pleasure to look after your arrangements with our great rates and personal attention. +44 (0)131 535 9988

Kind regards,

Chris Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
Level Contributor
150 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

First visit here. Stayed 6 nights. Staff polite and efficient. Great Scottish breakfast included haggis and black pudding - right up my alley. Room very comfortable. Nice big flat screen tv. First floor is a mezzanine and the elevator doesn't stop there. Have to backtrack down several stairs (with luggage). Bus stops almost at hotel door. Parking is difficult in town - suggest day pass on bus (after 0930) for 3.5GBP. Lots of free parking at hotel. Free WiFi. Great green space (Corstorphine Hill) over the street from hotel for daytime/evening walks. Good pricepoint esp if you prepay (also breakfast). Good choice in Edinburgh.

Room Tip: Confirm with hotel that elevator stops at your floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Dear KsW_MD,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for our hotel.

We are truly delighted to read that you enjoyed your six night stay with us. Making all guests feel welcome and cared for is a fundamental, something we work very hard at.

We were also very happy to read that you enjoyed our great Scottish breakfast, the comfort and standard of your room and the free wifi. We have 100 complimentary car parking spaces for guests to use and we are very well served by the excellent number 26 bus service. The hotel is directly opposite Corstorphine Hill Nature Reserve (the largest in Edinburgh city) which is open to everyone and is a very pleasant green space to enjoy.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future, please do not hesitate to contact us direct as it would be our pleasure to look after your arrangements with our great rates and personal attention. +44 (0)131 535 9988

Kind regards,

Chris Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#79 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#85 of 150 in Edinburgh
751 reviews
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#39 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,832 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#23 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh Capital Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh Capital Hotel

Property: Edinburgh Capital Hotel
Address: 187 Clermiston Rd | Corstorphine, Edinburgh EH12 6UG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#54 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Edinburgh Capital Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edinburgh Capital Hotel has great views across the west of the city and enjoys close proximity and easy access to Edinburgh Airport, Murrayfield Stadium and Edinburgh Zoo. You are never too far away to explore the sights and sounds of the historic City of Edinburgh. Stylish and comfortable guestrooms with free WiFi, extensive leisure club and substantial free car parking. Westview Restaurant and Bar offers good food at great prices. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Number 26 bus operated by Lothian Buses runs a regular service into the City Centre. Whether your stay is business or pleasure, Edinburgh Capital is the perfect choice for a memorable visit to the City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Edinburgh Capital Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Edinburgh
Edinburgh Best Western
Edinburgh Capital Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing