We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with friendly helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
Ranked #92 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel for four nights, taking in two shows in Edinburgh. The hotel is about 3.5 miles from the city centre. there is a Bus terminus round the corner for three different bus routes.
Going to Gyle centre, City Centre via Leith and Seton Sands via City Centre.
There was a reasonably priced dinner menu. With an early evening special menu at a slightly cheaper rate before 7 pm. I used the leisure centre once during the stay. It was busy and local people use it regularly. The Pool was clean, you could see the far side underwater, although it was a little over chlorinated for my personal taste. The Gym was also busy and there were two training personnel in attendance to answer any questions.
The only downside was that the floorboards are slightly creaky and if you had active neighbours above you this might be a problem. (I stay in a second floor flat and do not get this problem).It did not bother us greatly. The bed was very comfortable and there was a tea making facility replenished daily. The beds were made daily too.
There was a good selection at breakfast, they make porridge on request.

Room Tip: Get a top floor room to avoid creaky floor board noise.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NewConstellation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for your detailed feedback, clearly you have made good use of all the facilities.

I trust we will be in the position to accommodate you on your next visit.

Regards

Simon and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,225)
There are newer reviews for Edinburgh Capital Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

627 - 633 of 1,226 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2014

Good medium to low priced hotel for an Edinburgh City stay. It had good car parking, is on a bus route, and sits high on Corstorphine Hill with excellent views to the west, so try for a room on the west facing (back) side of the hotel. The lifts only go to the second floor so you need to be in reasonable condition to get your luggage to the third floor.
The hotel's amenities and restaurant are very good and overall you are presented with a clean crisp image and the rooms are big enough to feel spacious. A walk up to the top of Corstorphine Hill with its amazing 360 degree views of Edinburgh starts just across the road from the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frankribs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Very pleasing to read that your overall stay rated so highly, and that you decided to share your feedback with the Trip Advisor Community.

I do hope that we will be welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards

Simon and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We have always stayed in the centre of Edinburgh when up for Rugby matches but tried this hotel for a change. We were pleasantly surprised. The recently refurbished reception and bar areas were very modern and welcoming. The rooms are fine if not up to the standard of the public areas. Town is a 15 min bus ride away (£1.50 single)or £12 in a taxi. Overall really quiet (apart from the odd rumble from the airport) and free car parking is a real bonus in Edinburgh.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank wrighty2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for choosing to stay with us over the Rugby weekend, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay.

Hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Regards

Simon and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed here with our family as part of our city break in Edinburgh and were very happy with the hotel, its facilities and all the staff members. It's a little bit outside of the city centre, but the bus that leaves from outside the hotel takes you there in 15 minutes (and it's much easier parking your car here than with a central hotel). The hotel is very handy for the airport. The rooms were a good size, the leisure facilities were great (although the pool can get quite crowded in the morning) and the hotel restaurant was lovely. The staff in the restaurant were particularly friendly, and the food there was delicious.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ww-wef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Firstly thanks for choosing to stay with us at the Edinburgh Capital Hotel, and secondly for sharing your feedback.

The team will be very encouraged by your comments especially our new Head Chef, you cant ask for more than "delicious" food!

Also pleasing to read that the hotels facilities including our Leisure Club were put to good use.

Hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Regards

Simon and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

What and absolute gem!!! We arrived in the evening,check in was super fast and efficient,went to our room(184)loved it!!! Tidy,clean and very welcoming,plenty of room for us 3 girls!!! After unpacking we went to reception and asked for directions to any restaurants,also booked a taxi for us the following day!All of the staff from front of house to the bar staff and cleaning staff were amazing,excellent customer service from all(well done),after a 1st great nights sleep,we went the zoo and when we came back we decided to go for a swim an a sauna,which was a delight! Once again,clean,tidy and brill staff. I would recommend this hotel to,businesses,families,couples,girlie weekends and beyond. Not one thing I can fault! I will definatley return.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Choochybabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your glowing feedback, the team will be very pleased to receive such a brilliant review.

Kind Regards

Simon and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Lovely stay indeed. room had all facilities that me and friend needed . nice and comfortable beds and POOL WAS GREAT !!! not to forget the staff ! they were welcoming !
Cudnt find any downside of this hotel ! well done!! 10/10

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank d a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for the 5 star rating, very pleased to read that you made good use of the pool and that the team were noted as the highlight of your stay.

Hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Regards

Simon and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

we stayed at the Capital Hotel Edinburgh for 4 nights a family of 4, mum, dad and two teenage boys, the hotel was really lovely, we had a great family room (room 200) with plenty of space for us all, two Tv's one for us and one for the boys, the leisure facility was fantastic, our boys loved the pool, breakfast was great and we ate one night at the hotel which was very good, and also we were allowed to have a takeaway delivered from Annies chinese down the road, which was a great inexpensive option on one evening, the whole feel of the hotel was smart, relaxed and friendly, all the staff were excellent, friendly, efficient and seemed like they loved working at the capital
the only thing that would improve the room (and it's only a very small thing) is some nice curtains on the bathroom window for purely cosmetic reasons, they looked a bit clinical without curtains
although the capital is a little way out from the centre of edinburgh the bus service (No 26) Lothian buses whas fantastic being every 10 mins or so, and the bus stop was just around the corner from the hotel which was a real boon and change from using the car, we hadnt used the bus for many years and it was great fun hopping on and off (top tip buy the family saver ticket for £7.50 and you can use it all day/eve anywhere that lothian buses go) which we left at home, we visited edinburgh zoo which was absolutely delightful and the city was beautiful and what we saw was clean and metropolitan
to sum up we would definately recommend the Capital Hotel and would return again

Room Tip: family room (200) was a fab size, plenty of room for mum dad and two teenage boys
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank firery-arrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for the detailed feedback, our family rooms continue to receive fantastic feedback like yours and this really is appreciated, it also pleases me to read that the team stood out as a main part of your experience.

Look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards

Simon and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#86 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#75 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,239 reviews
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#107 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,230 reviews
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
1,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh Capital Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh Capital Hotel

Address: 187 Clermiston Rd | Corstorphine, Edinburgh EH12 6UG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#53 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £59 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Edinburgh Capital Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edinburgh Capital Hotel has great views across the west of the city and enjoys close proximity and easy access to Edinburgh Airport, Murrayfield Stadium and Edinburgh Zoo. You are never too far away to explore the sights and sounds of the historic City of Edinburgh. Stylish and comfortable guestrooms with free WiFi, extensive leisure club and substantial free car parking. Westview Restaurant and Bar offers good food at great prices. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Number 26 bus operated by Lothian Buses runs a regular service into the City Centre. Whether your stay is business or pleasure, Edinburgh Capital is the perfect choice for a memorable visit to the City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Edinburgh Capital Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Edinburgh
Edinburgh Best Western
Edinburgh Capital Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing