We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Easter night away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
Ranked #95 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Brechin, United Kingdom
1 review
“Easter night away”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

After visiting Edinburgh zoo with family we decided to make a night of it and booked to stay at Edinburgh Capital Hotel. On arrival we were very pleased the hotel was modern and much more than we expected. The gentleman on reception who checked us in was very welcoming and helpful or so we thought! He advised us that the hotel would be closing the following day due to water work but not at any point did he direct us to a sign at reception or tell us that we would need to ensure we were showered and finished with requiring any water at all by 10am. So as you can imagine we were extremely disappointed when we went to get washed just after 10am before check out at 11am and there was no running water in either the shower or the sink and we had no use of our toilet either. We had a whole day planned out in Edinburgh and it was ruined by the fact neither of us could have a shower or even clean our teeth and use the toilet so we had to cancel our plans and head home early. We were also very disheartened when we called reception in the morning to ask why there was no water and we were advised there was a sign at the desk! My girlfriend who is a hotel receptionist herself found this more than unacceptable because something as important as running water should be verbally discussed with guests at check out and a reminder left in the room by housekeeping or hotel management so that guests are fully aware of the situation and cant have their getaways ruined. If we were to stay again we would definitely call first to make sure there was no work at the time of our stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig7791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for the feedback, I must admit that I am surprised that the verbal communication on arrival as noted by you failed to alert your attention to the emergency water repair, we had over 100 guests to inform and this was in large successful, we also handed letters, posted notices around the public areas and placed a letter in each guest room.

Kind Regards

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    386
    480
    183
    56
    35
See reviews for
254
466
43
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
172 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

I always try and use this hotel when working in the area. It's got a great elevated position and my room was on the top floor so I had great views. There is plenty of free parking and it's not far away from the city centre.
I enjoyed my meals in the restaurant (also with great views) and found the staff to be very friendly and sincere.

Room Tip: The best vies are from the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Geoff,

Thanks for the feedback, its always good to receive such positive comments regarding our food, facilities and team! But its great to know that you like it so much you keep coming back for more.

Many Thanks

Simon and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

It wasn't a bad hotel - everything was clean, the room looked nice, etc. - I won't stay here again. Our door was broken when we arrived, and it took them the rest of the night to fix it. While they did fix the door, it set the standard for the rest of our stay. The WiFi was pitiful, and their breakfast is outrageous. The location is near a few of the buses (the best way to travel in the city), but you should count on an hour-long ride around rush hour. It won't be the worst hotel you've ever stayed in, but try to find something better if possible.

Room Tip: If you're on the ground floor, your room opens up directly to the parking lot. The doors lock, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bnettmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for the feedback, I can see that you rate the service highly and your comment regarding breakfast being outrageous gives me little to respond to other than to offer my sincere apologies that this area of our business has fallen short of your expectations.

In regards to the door issue again this should not of been a issue on arrival, however I am glad that the team managed to fix the problem whilst you went out for the night having this fixed by your return.

The location of the hotel is certainly reflected in our pricing and clearly noted on our website, in regards to the bus taking 1 hour I think you may have taken the wrong bus as this usually take under 30 minutes even in rush hour, due to the dedicated bus lanes.

Overall your review makes for a disappointing read, however your comments have been noted.

Regards

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Very good hotel, very clean and good facilities. Staff were very friendly as well. The food at the restaurant is also of good quality.

My only criticism is that the weights area in the gym was quite small but that is a general criticism I would have for most hotel gyms.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robertobaggio1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for firstly choosing to stay with us and secondly for sharing your feedback, I get that with free weights more room could be an advantage, however this clearly did not take away from your overall experience.

Many Thanks

Simon and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stranraer
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

We Stayed here for a surprise for our Anniversary and coming from the west it was real easy to find. Check in was quick and polite and the receptionist was friendly and chatty. The room we had was clean and roomy as was the toilet. As it was an inclusive deal we had to book the evening meal and due to our late arrival it was 8.30pm. We went to the bar at 7.30 and the views were fantasic over the firth of forth and Edinburgh airport and sitting there watching the sunset then seeing all the small villages light up was magical. We were seated early for our dinner and the meal was great, the only criticism was the chips were slightly burnt. We then took a seat to finish our drinks. The bed we had was comfortable but again a slight citicism the room was really hot but I would prefer that than too cold. Check out in the morning again was quick and polite so overall a very enjoyable stay would would go back to this hotel in a heartbeat

Room Tip: mid cost hotel booked through 5pm but worth every penny
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank giterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Cant ask for more than a 5 star rating so thanks for this, its always a motivator for the team to receive such glowing feedback, very pleasing to read that the teams chatty service has been well received they really are a credit to the hotel, as you can see on past posts this is a common theme.

Look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy the views once more!

Regards

Simon and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last weekend on a 5pm voucher have to say we were pleasantly surprised lovely hotel and the staff were fantastic. Jovita at the front desk was extremely helpful. It's about a 4 1/2 mile walk into Edinburgh which took us just over an hour. Or the bus leaves from just around the corner. The restaurant was excellent and the bar area was comfortable there were weddings on the days we were there and we hardly saw the wedding party which was great as we didn't feel like we were imposing which I have had before at other hotels. The deals on their website are better than 5pm so check the website first.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Craigt1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for the detailed review, Jovita is delighted to hear that you singled her out as a key highlight to your stay, in regards to weddings we have over 80 weddings a year and the function room has its own bar and even its own entrance so I am glad that you didn't feel as if you were intruding.

Thanks for mentioning the direct deals on our website,

Look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Kind Regards

Simon and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

I stayed here with my husband for 3 nights last week. The staff was so helpful - we arrived early so they stored our luggage and later placed it in our room for us.There is a bus around the corner that takes you right downtown and runs every 10 minutes all day. The hotel is modern and clean. They have a great bar and the breakfast is very good (fresh, good choices). The room was very spacious, modern and clean. The beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was clean, modern and very large. Loved our stay at this hotel - very good value for your dollar!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadianMAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for the fantastic feedback, cant ask for much more, I will have great pleasure in going through this with the team.

Hope we can accommodate you on your next trip to the Capital.

Regards

Simon and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#79 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#84 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#23 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,217 reviews
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#40 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh Capital Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh Capital Hotel

Property: Edinburgh Capital Hotel
Address: 187 Clermiston Rd | Corstorphine, Edinburgh EH12 6UG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#54 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Edinburgh Capital Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edinburgh Capital Hotel has great views across the west of the city and enjoys close proximity and easy access to Edinburgh Airport, Murrayfield Stadium and Edinburgh Zoo. You are never too far away to explore the sights and sounds of the historic City of Edinburgh. Stylish and comfortable guestrooms with free WiFi, extensive leisure club and substantial free car parking. Westview Restaurant and Bar offers good food at great prices. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Number 26 bus operated by Lothian Buses runs a regular service into the City Centre. Whether your stay is business or pleasure, Edinburgh Capital is the perfect choice for a memorable visit to the City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Edinburgh Capital Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Edinburgh
Edinburgh Best Western
Edinburgh Capital Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing