We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very enjoyable hotel in which to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
Ranked #94 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights. The hotel is about 5 miles from the centre of Edinburgh, but is well seved by bus services which run roughly every 15 minutes.The cost is £1.50 single, or you can get a whole day ticket for £3.50 and you can travel on any route for 24 hours - fantastic value. The food in the hotel is excellent, the breakfast is great value at £10 and there is a wide range of continental and cooked food, including haggis which you have to try. The evening 2 course meal, served between 5.30pm and 7.00pm is also great value at £9.95. There is a limited choice and it is not a huge meal, but if you are not absolutely starving, then it is very tasty and more than adequate. We noted the genuine friendliness of some of the staff members. In particular, I would like to mention Michelle in the dining room. She made us feel particularly welcome, and was very genuine in her efforts to help when required. i would also like to mention Magda on reception, who was also very genuinely helpful and friendly. on the whole, we would really recommend this hotel for your stay in Edinburgh.

Room Tip: We had room 81. This is the only one than I can comment on. This room was very quiet indeed, and was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for the detailed feedback of your recent stay, very pleasing to read that the both our breakfast and dinner options were to your liking, and even more pleased to read that you highlighted both Michelle and Magda as standing out in terms of friendliness, I will certainly pass on your comments.

Hope to welcome you back in the not to distant future.

Regards

Simon and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

618 - 624 of 1,231 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

THE YOUNG STAFF ARE SUPERB AND BAR STAFF LOVELY!!! senior staff a joke, especially the girl fiona her alone would put me off this hotel she is the most arrogant lady i have ever met in my life. get rid of her and use one of the young girls instead. rooms terrible dirty bath mould everywhere please avoid this hotel faulty towers hasnt got a look in..












1

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank coline538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Clearly something has happened during your stay to warrant such feedback,this concerns me greatly please do contact me directly at the hotel to discuss your dissatisfaction in further detail.

Due to the anonymous nature of Trip Advisor I am not in the position to comment further.

Regards

Simon (manager@edinburghcapitalhotel.co.uk)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here for the Easter weekend for 3 nights. Our first impressions were very positive the receptionist was very helpful and friendly. When we got to the room we were very pleased to find a large room with an enormous bed, it was very clean and had a great view of the nature reserve opposite. The hotel was well positioned for buses into Edinburgh and for getting to the zoo.
Our only gripe about the hotel is that they were doing routine water maintenance on the Monday morning and turned the water off at 10am so no shower, cuppa or toilet flushing after then!
Firstly as check out was 11am why couldn't they wait until all guests had checked out? Secondly they only had a note on reception to tell you about the water being turned off, as you don't actually have to pass reception to get to your rooms a lot of guests were unaware including us. Just a suggestion if this needs to happen in the future maybe a note put in the room by housekeeping or under the door, so no one is left caught short!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Unfortunately the emergency works carried out in regards to timings were out of our control, hence the information provided on check in, not a great situation all-round, I am however encouraged by your positive feedback regarding the room, views and location.

Thanks for the feedback.

Regards

Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

A one night stay for dinner, bed and breakfast at a bargain price and we were not expecting too much. The welcome surprise was a very good room with comfy king size bed and a lovely view. The leisure centre was well up to standard for a quick swim. The highlight was then an excellent, restaurant standard dinner from the a la carte menu. A perfect and unusual beetroot risotto with crowdie cheese and beetroot crisps followed by a sea bream dish and for dessert a perfect dark chocolate fondant with a white chocolate curl. Definitely way better than we were expecting on a bargain deal. Waiting staff apologised that dishes would take some time to prepare but that was very welcome as they were clearly cooked only to order with results that were of a very high standard. Staff were welcoming and helpful and a short stay here was simply a pleasure.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ayrshire911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Delighted to hear that your experience was beyond your expectations, the Chef is very pleased to hear such compliments regarding his dishes, it also is pleasing to read that the restaurant teams knowledge of the cooking times have assisted with your enjoyment.

Kind Regards

Simon and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Came across this hotel by chance on Expedia back in October last year, looking for a cheap 3 night break at a decent hotel with leisure facilities. It had an offer on which made it one of the cheapest, but the reviews were better than I would have expected and continued to be so right up to the date of our stay. Having just got back, I have to say it was very good value for money and the reviews were justified.

Location is 4-5 miles outside the city centre, very quiet but well served by buses with no. 26 round the corner running every 5-10 mins throughout the day and taking 30 minutes to get to/from Princes St.

Fairly old looking building but modernised inside with tasteful decor in the reception, bar and restaurant areas and the rooms. We had 2 adjacent rooms which were on the ground floor and were wheelchair accessible, very big bathrooms and one with a large walk-in shower. Rooms had all the usual facilities, nothing lacking. We were on the front, bit of noise from cars going past but this quietened down at night. Only real gripe was that floorboards all over the hotel were creaky.

Leisure facilities were decent, pool was a good size and gym was well equipped. Would have been nice if there'd been a jacuzzi, looked like there might have been in the past. Complimentary towels were handy.

We booked room only and paid for breakfast, £10 per adult per day but kids eat free which made it better value. Very much worth it, food was good quality in particular the toast and bacon.

Bar area was nice, Sky Sports on a big plasma made good viewing. Free wi-fi throughout also came in handy.

Would definitely return, particularly if I got such a good deal next time.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Rumberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for firstly choosing to stay with us at the Edinburgh Capital Hotel and secondly thanks for the glowing feedback.

The team are delighted by your comments, hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future, don't forget to book direct for our best deals.

Regards

Simon and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

After visiting Edinburgh zoo with family we decided to make a night of it and booked to stay at Edinburgh Capital Hotel. On arrival we were very pleased the hotel was modern and much more than we expected. The gentleman on reception who checked us in was very welcoming and helpful or so we thought! He advised us that the hotel would be closing the following day due to water work but not at any point did he direct us to a sign at reception or tell us that we would need to ensure we were showered and finished with requiring any water at all by 10am. So as you can imagine we were extremely disappointed when we went to get washed just after 10am before check out at 11am and there was no running water in either the shower or the sink and we had no use of our toilet either. We had a whole day planned out in Edinburgh and it was ruined by the fact neither of us could have a shower or even clean our teeth and use the toilet so we had to cancel our plans and head home early. We were also very disheartened when we called reception in the morning to ask why there was no water and we were advised there was a sign at the desk! My girlfriend who is a hotel receptionist herself found this more than unacceptable because something as important as running water should be verbally discussed with guests at check out and a reminder left in the room by housekeeping or hotel management so that guests are fully aware of the situation and cant have their getaways ruined. If we were to stay again we would definitely call first to make sure there was no work at the time of our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig7791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for the feedback, I must admit that I am surprised that the verbal communication on arrival as noted by you failed to alert your attention to the emergency water repair, we had over 100 guests to inform and this was in large successful, we also handed letters, posted notices around the public areas and placed a letter in each guest room.

Kind Regards

Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I always try and use this hotel when working in the area. It's got a great elevated position and my room was on the top floor so I had great views. There is plenty of free parking and it's not far away from the city centre.
I enjoyed my meals in the restaurant (also with great views) and found the staff to be very friendly and sincere.

Room Tip: The best vies are from the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Geoff,

Thanks for the feedback, its always good to receive such positive comments regarding our food, facilities and team! But its great to know that you like it so much you keep coming back for more.

Many Thanks

Simon and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#86 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#76 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,257 reviews
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#108 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,252 reviews
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
1,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh Capital Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh Capital Hotel

Address: 187 Clermiston Rd | Corstorphine, Edinburgh EH12 6UG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#54 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £59 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Edinburgh Capital Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edinburgh Capital Hotel has great views across the west of the city and enjoys close proximity and easy access to Edinburgh Airport, Murrayfield Stadium and Edinburgh Zoo. You are never too far away to explore the sights and sounds of the historic City of Edinburgh. Stylish and comfortable guestrooms with free WiFi, extensive leisure club and substantial free car parking. Westview Restaurant and Bar offers good food at great prices. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Number 26 bus operated by Lothian Buses runs a regular service into the City Centre. Whether your stay is business or pleasure, Edinburgh Capital is the perfect choice for a memorable visit to the City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Edinburgh Capital Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Edinburgh
Edinburgh Best Western
Edinburgh Capital Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing