We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit outta town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
Ranked #95 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A bit outta town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed for 2 nights for a family trip the rooms were fine ours was on the front and you could not avoid the traffic noise. The beds were huge and comfy but the room was far to hot and as the road was noisy we couldn't open the window so sleeping was not the best.
Breakfast was buffet style and was ok they ran out of things and they were not replenished whilst we were in the dining room i.e. croissants and pastries.
Overall if you don't want to be in the heart of it all and like free parking at your hotel then this place is great.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leisa43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for your detailed review, I will certainly pass on your comments in regards to the replenishment of the breakfast items as we do have dedicated team members on each shift to do exactly this.

Kind Regards

Simon and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    386
    482
    183
    56
    35
See reviews for
255
467
43
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed for a night with the family. The hotel was very busy with at least two wedding parties. The staff were helpful and friendly. The rooms were ok, but not perfectly prepared (soap missing in one room). The swimming pool is closed at the weekends in the evening. There is no air conditioning and the room was hot. Also the music from the bar could be heard, so not a restful night. The journey into town is easy (one bus ride which leaves from round the corner every 15 mins or so).

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back, away from the bar which is noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spoons m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for the detailed review, however I am slightly disappointed that did not meet with your satisfaction more favourably.

The Leisure Club is open Mon-Fri 630am-10pm and Sat-Sun 7am-830pm, so I have to disagree with your point about this.

You mention soap being missing in one room, I have spoken to the Housekeeping Manager as this is not good enough, however I am sure the reception team would have sorted this out for you.

In regards to weddings yes we hold over 70 weddings and as a full service hotel this does mean we are busy, that being said I do apologise if this is not what you were expecting.

Thanks for the comment regarding our friendly and helpful team members they really are a credit.

Kind Regards

Simon and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We booked a normal double room with the Superior Upgrade package. On arrival the hotel does look a little tired from the road, but there is plently of parking and the views across the road are stunning. Inside the hotel is a lot more modern and attractive. The staff checking us in were very helpful and told us where and how much the buses were to town.
The bus stop is just around the corner and is a very reasonable £1.50 single or £3.50 day pass which allows you to use any bus as often as you like all day. The 26 goes to Princes Street and from there you can catch a connecting bus to whereever (we went to Royal Brittania one day- very easy) From Princes street it is a short (uphill- but everywhere is in Edinburgh) walk to the Royal mile. It also stops right outside the zoo on the way to Princes Street.
Once checked in at the hotel we were amazed to find we had been upgraded to the suite which was beautiful. The upgrade package we had ordered was waiting inside, consider you get Champagne, Bathrobes, Choocolates and Bath smellies all for £29 I thought this was a great deal.
The room was lovely, the bathroom was very nicely decorated and the shower heavely after such a long trip to the city. My other half is a bath man and the bath is large and deep.
We didnt realise until the last day that the taps for the bath are hidden under what seens to be a handy table in the bath for your products but we since realised it was a rather posh looking tap. We had been filling the bath with the shower head oops!
We had dinner in the hotel on the first night in the Bar area. The Bar staff were lovely and the food was delicious and reasonabley priced. We also got the house wine with is £11.95 a bottle so again quite reasonable for a hotel.
We ate again at the hotel mid-week, this time in the resturant during the 'early bird offer' where you get 2 courses for £9.95. The food was again lovely but we got forgotten and had to wait about 45 mins for our meal and when it did get bought out we were given the one wrong meal, so had to wait a bit longer. The waitress who took th plates back went and stood with them by the till podium and stood talking with the manager for a few minutes before heading back to the kitchen with the food. The meal that was the correct one emerged a short time later with the original correct meal, which was by this point lukewarm and my partner had to send it back. Once a hot plate of food came out it was lovely.
We ate breakfast on the last day which was a buffett. I felt it was quite expensive at £10 a head. The hot food was good but not amazing for that price and the pastrys were stale which was a shame. The food was edible and what I would expect from a buffett but I think the price should be reduced to reflect the quality. It does not compare to the evening food.
One thing the hotel website does not make clear is that you get access to the gym and pool included as part of your stay. We were not aware of this and would have bought kit with us had we known, but to be fair we probably wouldn't have had time to use it.
Overall the hotel was lovely and I would stay here again and pay extra for the suite. I would definatly eat in the resturant and Bar again but I would skip breakfast and eat in the City centre for half the price.

Room Tip: Book the upgrade package and the suite!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexKChristie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for such a detailed review of your recent stay with us, it really is appreciated.

I am pleased to read that you have chosen to highlight so many positives along with a couple of areas of improvement so again thanks for this.

Disappointed to hear of the problems in the restaurant and I will speak to the relevant members of my team, your comments regarding the breakfast being overpriced does surprise me however its great to see that along with the 5 star rating and more importantly you will be back, cant ask for a better result than that.

Kind Regards

Simon and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

stayed for a couple of nights had a lovely family room. Staff very polite and even though the place was busy with a wedding didnt have to wait at the bar etc.

We really enjoyed the Leisure facilities an added bonus the water was also lovely and warm have used a few heated pools where the water is still too cold for me but the water tempearture made a swim very enjoyable.

Didn't eat at the hotel as we met friends but the bus to Edinburgh is good value and runs often and great value too.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Res1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for firstly choosing to stay with us, and secondly for taking the time to share your fantastic feedback.

Hope to welcome you back to the hotel on your next visit to Edinburgh.

Regards

Simon and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed here several times before and have always found standards to be high, staff are brilliant despite being run ragged trying to cover all areas. Our room was lovely as always and in a quiet part of the hotel there were 2 weddings on and we didn't hear a thing brilliant!
On the negative side the bathroom roof had had a repair but not a very good one and part of the grouting was black, and the glass shower screen at the bottom was in desperate need of descaling. When we returned to our room after lunch to find that towels had been changed but dirty ones had been left at the side of the bed , not great also an empty wine bottle lay in our corridor until I took it to the bar. Not sure if it's because the staff are too busy or maybe there are just not enough staff either way there is scope to make a great hotel a fantastic hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on first floor up from the porters office are really quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for the detailed feedback, the team really are a credit to the hotel so appreciate you highlighting this.

Disappointing to read that you encountered several issues in regards to the bathroom, I will personally review this with my Housekeeping Manager as this is certainly not to our usual standard.

It is however a real positive to read that you have been back to the hotel on more than one occasion, and your overall rating is encouraging.

Thanks again for the detailed and balanced feedback, this really is welcomed.

Hope to welcome you again on your next visit.

Regards

Simon and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

This hotel is a bit tired around the edges (the common areas) but the rooms are large, clean and comfortable and are quite modern. The bed was very comfortable and the power shower in my bathroom was amazing! A bit pricey but overall it's worth it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Firstly thanks for choosing to stay with us at the Edinburgh Capital Hotel, and secondly for taking the time to complete your recommendation.

Kind Regards

Simon and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Stayed here on sat well what a great place this.when arrived was greeted with a big smile everything explained to me regarding facility's and restaurant. rooms are amazing and i mean amazing the size of my room was as i say amazing. very clean and bright and so spacious with lovely views. breakfast is well worth having plenty to choose from all cooked fresh and eat as much as you want i would stay here in a heartbeat. on venturing into city it only took me 28 mins by bus from hotel and there is even a night bus service if going clubbing all in all an excellent stay with no complaints I also need to mention the lovely very helpful and cheery girl on reception Rachel who had to put up with me twice needing my room key reset and was my fault lol she was also very helpful with bus directions ect and what a cheery way to check out asking that everything was ok for me. please thank her for me again

Room Tip: tip stay here so easy to get to city
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George_Hall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with the Trip Advisor community, I will certainly make sure that Rachel receives your comments, and as a relatively new Receptionist this will undoubtedly bring a even bigger smile to her face.

Thanks again.

Simon and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#79 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#83 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#22 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,217 reviews
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#41 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh Capital Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh Capital Hotel

Property: Edinburgh Capital Hotel
Address: 187 Clermiston Rd | Corstorphine, Edinburgh EH12 6UG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#54 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Edinburgh Capital Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edinburgh Capital Hotel has great views across the west of the city and enjoys close proximity and easy access to Edinburgh Airport, Murrayfield Stadium and Edinburgh Zoo. You are never too far away to explore the sights and sounds of the historic City of Edinburgh. Stylish and comfortable guestrooms with free WiFi, extensive leisure club and substantial free car parking. Westview Restaurant and Bar offers good food at great prices. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Number 26 bus operated by Lothian Buses runs a regular service into the City Centre. Whether your stay is business or pleasure, Edinburgh Capital is the perfect choice for a memorable visit to the City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Edinburgh Capital Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Edinburgh
Edinburgh Best Western
Edinburgh Capital Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing