We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food Service you can time by a Calendar” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Edinburgh Capital Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
Ranked #93 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Food Service you can time by a Calendar”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2010

Stayed 2 nights so we could visit Edinburgh's superb Christmas Market, we arrived the first night after 4.5hrs of driving on ice etc to get there. We booked a table for the restaurant, we arrived promptly and were not offerred drinks when we were seated, 20mins later our order taken, they couldnt avoid my glare indefinately then, 35 minutes later I had to go and complain to the restaurant supervisor. The food took an hour to come. Quality of the food was very good but not a place to go if hungry.
The second night room service was tried, nothing technical just sandwiches and chips. but guess what from order to food been delivered took 2 hours and 2 reminder calls from us to chase them. Then the Bread was wrong, the cheese plastic and the fries nicely cooled by their uncovered journey from the kitchen to our room.
ok fair play to the hotel they waived the drink charges for night 1 and indeed after my protest on check out the room service for night 2. We got a good rate going here from Laterooms but seriously wouldnt go again as service so poor.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeHYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    380
    476
    180
    56
    35
See reviews for
250
459
42
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rum, Austria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2010

The Edinburgh Capital Hotel provides clean and spacious rooms, which are ideal for business and leisure trips to Edinburgh. It is located 20 minutes by bus from the city centre. The bus stops is located just outside the hotel and the bus tickets are cheap (3 pounds for a day ticket). The staff, on the other hand, is rather unfriendly. While sitting at the bar, the bar tenders made jokes, opened up the alcohol bottles and smelled it. This is rather unprofessional as the guests had to wave to be seen by the staff. The breakfast is not really good (the English breakfast was cold, the only bread are rolls and cold toast), but the fruits are fresh and tasty. The pool, spa and gym are for free.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Regina_Birmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West-Sussex
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2010

Just stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. The Hotel is very clean. The leisure facilities were lovely, very clean. The pool is really warm too!

On the first day, had lunch in the bar, which was really enjoyable and more than plentiful.The evening meal is good value for early bird £9.95 for 2 courses or £12.95 for 3 courses. Portions are not huge but adequate.

The staff were really helpful and polite, despite the hotel being fully booked!

Overall had a really lovely stay and would definately come back.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwissMiss33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biggar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
739 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 765 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2010

We choose this hotel because we were attending a BBQ at the home of friends on the west-side of Edinburgh. It would also be fairly convenient for Edinburgh Airport and offices at the South Gyle, etc but it is not on the doorstep of the Castle or attractions in the town centre.

The building is functional rather than attractive and the front faces open parkland. There is a reasonably sized free car park surrounding the hotel and the attached fitness centre - and in Edinburgh free parking is a rarity. Public transport and taxis are easily available.

Inside the reception area is comfortable and modern. We were checked in quickly to our Superior Room and took up the offer of an upgrade package for a modest sum which meant we were provided with bathrobes & slippers, a bottle of wine, Kettle crisps and decent coffee. (We had the bottle of wine when we returned home and it was pleasant enough).

The room was spacious, clean, plainly decorated and overlooked the front of the hotel. It had a comfortable double bed, a couple of bucket chairs and a small table, tea/coffee making facilities, trouser press, plenty of storage space and a large flat screen television. The ensuite had a bath with overhead shower and was perfectly practical rather than luxurious.

We were able to order a taxi quickly through reception and when we returned in the evening we had a couple of drinks in the lounge which was fairly busy as it was catering for a wedding. We were able to have a decent nights sleep.

All the staff we came across during our visit were pleasant. We didn’t use the leisure facilities due to time restrictions of our visit - we had another event to attend the following morning! Breakfast was a self-serve buffet style and the food selection was reasonable and tasted ok.

Overall our stay was satisfactory.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rantin rover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2010

Nice welcome, modern well equiped room, polite staff, good facilities menus and range of drinlks. Such a shame that the staff were so busy, my glass of wine did not arrive in time for my meal.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gowfer72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2010

Stayed here a few times with work - good comfortable rooms, large solid beds, good bathrooms, friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast from 0700 which is good if you need to get to work. You have free access to the gym and pool - the facilities are a little tired, especialy the changing rooms, but OK.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaddyBadger2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2010

I have just come back from a 4 night stay. The hotel decor and facilities are excellent. I used their swimming pool, steam and sauna. Everything was very clean. I did notice plates and cups left outside a room in the hallway in the morning and came back in the evening and it was still there. I complained and they apoligised saying they would get rid of it but never did. I went to dinner the following evening and had seabass with chips. The portion was radiculously small. They divided the fish between myself and my mum. We complained and the lady behind the desk said they would get me another meal. She called the manager and she said the same but then returned to my room and said I got what I ordered and did not give me a meal like they said they would. Its like taking back a present. Very bad management. I had also ordered a bottle of wine with my meal but i never got it. But I did inform 2 staff.
I also noticed our bedroom was very noisy. People kept walking upstairs and the door next door was very loud when it opened and closed. The windows in the bedroom were of poor quality because the wind seemed to be extremely loud outside but I blame the quality of the windows.
The restaurant is in a conservatory and the ceiling leaks all around the restaurant unless you a lucky enough to be sitting under a solid ceiling rather than a glass one. They are aware of it but choose to ignore it because it happened to another group of people the previous day.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank serinm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#78 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,038 reviews
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#85 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#40 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,806 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#26 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh Capital Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh Capital Hotel

Property: Edinburgh Capital Hotel
Address: 187 Clermiston Rd | Corstorphine, Edinburgh EH12 6UG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#54 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Edinburgh Capital Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edinburgh Capital Hotel has great views across the west of the city and enjoys close proximity and easy access to Edinburgh Airport, Murrayfield Stadium and Edinburgh Zoo. You are never too far away to explore the sights and sounds of the historic City of Edinburgh. Stylish and comfortable guestrooms with free WiFi, extensive leisure club and substantial free car parking. Westview Restaurant and Bar offers good food at great prices. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Number 26 bus operated by Lothian Buses runs a regular service into the City Centre. Whether your stay is business or pleasure, Edinburgh Capital is the perfect choice for a memorable visit to the City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotel.de, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Edinburgh Capital Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Edinburgh
Edinburgh Best Western
Edinburgh Capital Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing