We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable as ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor
Ranked #118 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Enjoyable as ever”
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Overnight usually means the big brother, Waldorf Astoria, but with a few disagreements at the Waldorf, decided to book here instead. Check in staff very friendly and informative and you feel as though they actually mean have a nice stay etc. Rooms nice and clean, ours huge, but could do with a wee bit of upgrading as it is starting to show signs of wear and age. However, slept like a lamb. Bar staff very friendly and attentive, even when busy. Again though, as with the Waldorf, they don't serve Bacardi as rum? Not sure why as the rum of choice is, in my opinion, no where near as good. However, in comparison with other Hilton's, the bar staff immediately state that their rum is not Bacardi and do not either force it on you or just give you their alternative as if you wouldn't notice. However, minor annoyance but dealt with fairly. Breakfast the usual standard with friendly staff everywhere. So no real complaints about anything and will be back.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank robeth_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you very much for your recent review of Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor.

I am delighted the hotel and location met your needs and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I am always delighted to read comments about how friendly the team are here, and I will ensure your review is shared with the team.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    519
    858
    676
    348
    219
See reviews for
265
1,033
183
644
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

My partner and I stayed here last weekend as a special treat for ourselves to see the christmas markets and spend time in the city of Edinburgh which we had never been to before and thought after visiting various other Hilton's we would have a lovely stay. On arriving we entered a lovely, well furnished and clean lobby. We checked in and were told to walk over to the other building accross the road and we weren't offered any help with our bags. When entering this other building known as the 'town house' it was very underwhelming and a lot less well kept and 'special'. On booking the stay we were not given the choice between the 'proper' Hilton which we checked in at and would have preferred or the 'town house' which we were bundled into. The receptionist was cold and unwelcoming after a long journey there and again, no help was offered with our bags. The room was nice, clean and well furnished. Clean bathroom with a good array of toiletries. I was appalled at the car parking facilities, we were told to drive 10 minutes around a horrendous 1 way system and leave my new car in the most derelict car park I have ever seen. Pot holes, a building site right next to it and no one seemed to man it at £12.50 a day as if I hadn't spent enough on this underwhelming hotel. We asked for a jug of water and was told very abbruptly that we would have to PAY for it?!! The next morning we went down for breakfast where we were told that we would only be offered a continental breakfast when we had specified and seemingly payed for a full English but this was 'not available in the town house'. The breakfast was adequate and did the job however the staff in the breakfast rooms watched every move you made and stood right behind you waiting to clear away any mess you may have made making us feel very uncomfortable. We had barely finished and stood up from our seats when she had started to clear our things as if there was some kind of rush. All in all, not impressed. I have high expectations when I visit a Hilton and these were not met here.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hg1393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor on Trip Advisor.

I appreciate your observations and feedback in regards to breakfast and I have passed on your comments regarding your experience to our Restaurant & Bar Manager to discuss with their teams in order to deliver the expected levels of service on a consistent basis.

I note your comment regarding car parking. As we are a city centre hotel, this is somewhat of a challenge for us. Unfortunately the site which the car park is situated on will soon be starting a building project, where the car park will no longer exist. I have taken onboard your feedback so we can look into alternative parking arrangements.

Thank you again for your measured review and I look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I really loved staying here. I stayed for 4 nights over Christmas, and was worried that standards might slip as a result but not at all. Housekeeping was meticulous and the service excellent. The hotel is very handy for the airport as it is on the airport bus route, it is also a stone's throw from Haymarket station making a day trip to Glasgow less than an hour away, and with easy connections to London and some direct trains. Within a few minutes walk is the West End, and the stunning St Mary's Episcopal Cathedral is on the doorstep. William Street is less than five minutes walk with great shops and eateries. My first room (room 4) was not up to the standard I had expected and was overlooked and in a basement. I asked for, and was given without quibble, a new room (321) overlooking the Cathedral and much more what I had expected. On Christmas Eve I came home to discover a mince pie, hot chocolate and marshmallows and a handwritten Christmas card. The room itself was very nice indeed, and well ventilated with a good bathroom (a bit tired perhaps). I did not eat here but there seemed a large range of eating options and a good bar. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: 321, 325, and other rooms on this side have great views of St Mary's Cathedral
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyWildman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you very much for your recent review of Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor.

I am delighted the hotel and location met your needs and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

The rooms were clean and cozy to stay. The reception staff and the guy who carried my luggage was very friendly and courteous. The rooms were not noise proof so heard voices from other rooms and nearby streets. Good toiletries and clear bathroom. Excellent variety in the Breakfast. The staff at the breakfast room need special training on courtesy and human sensitivity. Be careful while go to pick up some additional food...your existing plates would be quickly cleaned up without your permission. They stand next to you waiting to snatch your completed place. Why cant the clean after the guests leave? WiFi in rooms are very good but you have to pay for it. Overall great experience. Would stay again every time i visit Edinburgh. Money's worth.

Room Tip: Rooms in the opposite guest house are much better than the one in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ravishankar P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you very much for your review. I am pleased that on the whole you enjoyed your stay with us, but do take on board your comments regarding the breakfast service.

I am always delighted to read comments about how friendly our reception team are and they really made you feel welcome, and I will ensure your review is shared with the team.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Think I got unlucky with this stay as I had a good experience 12 months earlier. On this occasion the room was small and pokey. There were some issues with the bathroom and storage. However the room was clean and the other services were good.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to submit your Trip Advisor review.

We are very disappointed to read your review with regards to room allocated to yourself.
We apologise for any discomfort that this caused you during your stay and I will ensure that your comments are followed up as we would have ideally liked to have spoken with you before you left.
We will certainly use your feedback to improve our services in the future.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

UK
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We travelled to Edinburgh in connection with a theatre visit and had a two night stay at this hotel – a twenty minute walk from Waverley Station (Haymarket Station is closer). Reception staff friendly and the Junior Suite we were allocated (although somewhat dated) was perfectly adequate for our needs. On the second evening one of the radiators stopped working but housekeeping provided an electric heater within 30 minutes of being notified. Breakfast was a buffet similar to that found in many hotels – although the haggis and whisky were novel! Decent amount of space in the public areas. On the downside, some corridors and parts of the public areas are in need of redecoration and “freshening up”.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKPinkPanther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Thank you for your recent review of Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor.

I am delighted that you appear to have enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us and I will ensure that your comments are shared with the team here.

I do hope you have the opportunity to visit us again in the near future at Hilton Edinburgh grosvenor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Excellent posch,clean rooms for the price. The reception staff and the guy who carried my luggage to the Opposite Guest house block was very friendly and coruteous. Nice of him. The Breakfast was good but the quality of service very bad. The staff there needs good training on what is courtesy and human sensitivities. Overall pleasant stay. Would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Ravishankar P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Thank you very much for your review. I am pleased that on the whole you enjoyed your stay with us, but do take on board your comments regarding the breakfast service.

I am always delighted to read comments about how friendly our reception team are and they really made you feel welcome, and I will ensure your review is shared with the team.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#65 of 149 in Edinburgh
710 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
West End
Apex Haymarket Hotel
Apex Haymarket Hotel
#73 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
#66 of 149 in Edinburgh
579 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
West End
Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor

Property: Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor
Address: Grosvenor Street | Haymarket, Edinburgh EH12 5EF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic 1860s listed building, the Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor hotel is housed over two buildings, a main building and a townhouse building. Situated in the stylish West End of the city, our hotel is just 200 meters from Haymarket train station and offers easy access to Edinburgh's iconic attractions, from Edinburgh Castle to Princes Street and the Royal Mile and is the perfect location to explore Scotland’s capital city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hilton
Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing