We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 night stop for the Rugby!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor
Ranked #119 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“2 night stop for the Rugby!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Stopped 2 nights on the 7th and 8th of Feb, with a party in Edinburgh for the Rugby (England beat Scotland so very pleasing weekend!!), our room was lovely and roomy, big sash windows (Room Number 226) and plenty of space, with impressive high ceilings, good location, when the trams are running it will be even better.
Great atmosphere in the bar before and after the Rugby, made all the more impressive as Jerry Guscott, Ian Robertson and Brian Moore were all in the bar. After the game its buzzing with Rugby goers. Breakfast was good and service excellent. Rating would have been "excellent" if it was not for the faf of parking (which is quite awkward)

Room Tip: Our room overlooked Grosvenor st so quite a nice view, 226 has lovely high ceilings and sash windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a TripAdvisor review of hotel.

I’m pleased to hear you enjoyed your weekend (although some of us did not find the score so pleasing!). We really appreciate your kind comments and I’m delighted you liked the room you were allocated. I have passed on your comments regarding breakfast to our head chef who will be so pleased to read them.

We hope you can welcome you back to our hotel in the future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    485
    816
    637
    326
    198
See reviews for
240
973
179
605
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

My room in the townhouse across from the main building was just fine for one person staying one night. It was clean and tidy. No complaints on that front. My gripe was the same in most hotels as one of the number of people who don;t drink tea or coffee a couple of hot chocolate sachets or herbal tea bags would improve a stay.
Breakfast was across the road. I was glad the rain was off. The spread was good but unlike the Point Hotel, part of the same chain, the Haggis was treated as gold dust and served in teeny portions in a Ramekin.

Would I stay again ? If work is paying .. yes

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weequine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your room in our Townhouse building.

I have passed on your comments to our head chef regarding the dinner you were served to further investigate this issue.

We do hope we can welcome you in the future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

This Hotel was convenient location wise, but I was disappointed with the standards. Not quite up to scratch with other Hilton hotels. Towel rail falling off wall. Batteries for remote TV control dead!! Peppermint teabags requested several times but only received one in my 3 night stay. Staff were friendly but not as efficient as expected. Room could have been cleaner.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank deniseac55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a TripAdvisor review of our hotel.

I am sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your stay.

I have passed on your comments regarding the cleanliness of the room to our head housekeeper to further investigate this. I have also highlighted the towel rail and faulty remote control to our maintenance team. If in the future, you experience any of these issues, please do make any of our team members aware; who would be more than happy to rectify any of these negative experiences.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope we can welcome you back and show you that we have actioned upon your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Middlesbrough, Up North , UK
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

On arrival, reception saw that my husband was disabled and upgraded our room immediately. Room was spotless with walk in shower, plenty of choice of tea and coffee, lots of hangers in wardrobe. Breakfast was fantastic, so much choice. We were on ground floor. There were two wedding parties, with two different discos. We never heard a thing in our room. Staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Definitely stay there again

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Smoggycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a TripAdvisor review of our hotel.

I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We really appreciate your kind words and I’m glad you were not inconvenienced by our in-house functions. I will pass on your comments regarding breakfast to our head chef who will be delighted to hear you enjoyed it.

We certainly hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel is nice and in a good location with just a 5 minute walk to Princes Street and across the road from Haymarket Station. The condition of rooms and public areas is generally quite good. This time we were upgraded to a room in the Townhouse opposite main hotel, it was lovely and spacious. Breakfast good, staff very helpful and accommodating. Only a couple of negative comments from us. A whopping £8.50 for two coffees which were not really very hot and lack of car parking close to hotel. We had to keep popping out to put adequate money in meter! Over three days it got a little annoying. All in all though a pleasurable experience. Thank you.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank fabdiners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel.

I am delighted to hear you found that our location suited the needs of your stay. We really appreciate your kind words regarding our hotel staff and I am thrilled that you liked your upgraded room.

I sincerely apologise that you had issues with the parking. Unfortunately, due to our city centre location and that the area surrounding the hotel is made up of residential Georgian Townhouses we cannot provide an onsite car park.

We hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Close to the Haymarket station and quite easy to find. Staff are professional and helpful but the hotel is not up to much really. No Wifi in the rooms and the room I had which was supposed to be a double was more like a single. Not much better than a travel lodge really with no fridge, and no gym in the hotel.

Room Tip: If you want a double room I'd ask for a kingsize
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine0072012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you for posting a review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

I am sorry to hear that we did not entirely meet your expectations on this occasion.

I apologise that the size of the bed did was not what you had expected. I will pass on your comments to our head housekeeper to further investigate this issue. Wifi is available free of charge in all of our public areas, I can only apologise if this was not expressed to you when you arrived.

Thank you for your nice comments regarding our staff and it’s great to hear that our location met the needs of your stay.

We hope that despite this isolated incident you feel able to stay with Hilton in the future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

This hotel is in lovely Georgian buildings which have lovely high ceilings and large windows. The staff and always friendly and very helpful. Great buffet breakfast and comfortable beds. The Townhouse which is across the road from the main hotel has been refurbished and has modern bathrooms. The hotel is in a nice location in the West End of Edinburgh. If arriving by train try if you can get off at Haymarket Station as the hotel is just 200 meters away. The Airport bus also stops at Haymarket and so will the new tram service starting in the summer 2014. Well situated for Princess Street and the Castle and other attractions.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scotland007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you for posting a review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding our rooms and building. It is great that you found our hotel to be in an ideal location to suit your needs.

We hope we can welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#51 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
West End
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
#57 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#14 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor

Property: Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor
Address: Grosvenor Street | Haymarket, Edinburgh EH12 5EF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic 1860s listed building, the Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor hotel is housed over two buildings, a main building and a townhouse building. Situated in the stylish West End of the city, our hotel is just 200 meters from Haymarket train station and offers easy access to Edinburgh's iconic attractions, from Edinburgh Castle to Princes Street and the Royal Mile and is the perfect location to explore Scotland’s capital city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hilton
Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing