We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent location, decent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor
Ranked #119 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 14 February 2014

I stayed here in February its about £8 from the train station although it is actually within walking distance at the top of Princess Street.

The room we stayed in was a 'compact room' however it was more than adequate for what we needed. Bathroom, wardbrobe, tv, dressing table area etc.

We didn't have breakfast at the hotel, although round the corner there is a cafe called Golden Grill which served us up a nice Fry up which was just what we need after a heavy night on the tiles.

Staff were very friendly, so overall pleased with the hotel.

Room Tip: Compact Room - more than adequate
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keefdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Thank you for posting a TripAdvisor review of our hotel.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I’m glad you found our location and the compact room you were allocated, to suit the needs of your stay
.
It’s always pleasing to read such positive feedback regarding our staff.

We hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,666)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,476 - 1,482 of 2,666 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2014

Girlie weekend - arrived at hotel and four rooms booked. We were advised two in main building and two in townhouse - not acceptable and congratulations to receptionist to be bake together us four rooms together. Rooms clean enough although dusty along windows and one of the rooms had Jo hot water in shower was reported but not fixed. Hotel close to Haymarket station and near to princes street. Breakfast amazing and great choice. We ate dinner on second night and as cost included dinner choice was good although we all decided to go for steak and paid the difference - all dinners were excellent. Overall a great stay at the Hilton and 99.00 for two nights with one night dinner well worth it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carol s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I am pleased to hear the problem you had with the rooms was sorted out a reception. I am delighted that you enjoyed our breakfast choices and that you found the location of our hotel suited your needs. I will pass on your kind comments regarding your dinner to our head chef to share with the team.

I am sorry for the inconvenience caused by the hot water; we are in the process of upgrading our system to ensure uninterrupted supply to all guests.

We hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Good clean place. location not far from the center. good bar, breakfast is excelent. Beds are good. Rooms are perhaps a bit small but large enough for a business trip.

floors are not level, old constructions. so if you have difficulties walking take a room near the elevator.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanVerhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Thank you for posting a TripAdvisor review of our hotel.

We really value your kind comments regarding your recent stay and hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We checked in early, room was ready even on the morning of one of the busiest days of the year, and our late request for the bath was attended to (for next day, but we understood) all before lunch! Our luggage was moved without a glitch and the housekeeping request in the evening was attended to promptly. Reception both in townhouse and hotel were extremely helpful. The bar struggled on the afternoon of Calcutta cup, it would have given better impression if the managers who were around got stuck in, but then, it is only one day every two years, so perhaps they really didn't expect it?
Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TanjaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It’s always great to hear that our reception and housekeeping teams were attentive to your requests during your stay. I will pass on your kind comments to our reception manager to share with the team.

I will also pass on your feedback regarding the bar during the Calcutta cup to our duty management team to ensure this doesn’t happen again.

We really look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Nicely situated in the west End this hotel offers good breakfast and bar facilities with friendly helpful staff. However the suite was a bit of a let down there is virtually no storage space (in suite 12) other than a coat rack and two very small drawers. Ok if your on business and just want somewhere to crash but not for a weekend away when you might appreciate a bit of storage space. It would be nice if they could also finish of the repairs to the wardrobe with a lick of paint!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a TripAdvisor review of hotel.

I’m pleased to hear that you found our location to suit your needs. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff, breakfast and bar - it's always great to hear.

I apologise that you were disappointed with the storage facilities in one of our suites. I have passed on your comments regarding the wardrobe and to our maintenance manager to rectify these issues.

We hope you can welcome you back to our hotel in the future.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Stayed for 1 night on business. Nice easy check in, got to room and was ok but cold. This was easily sorted by an electric heater in the room. Had a nice meal and a couple of drinks in bar, staff very good indeed. Bed very comfortable but the problems came around 5:30 onwards where I was disturbed every few minutes by a very noisy water system. Decent breakfast also and check out trouble free but the overall experience was spoiled as I started the day feeling not feeling very refreshed due to the early morning disturbances. Would recommend but if you stay avoid room 1 unless you are a very early riser!

Stayed: February 2014
2  Thank Colin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us.

We really appreciate your kind comments. I sincerely apologise that the water system woke you up. I have passed this information about room 1 to our maintenance manager who is going to further investigate the situation. I am sorry that it ruined your sleep for the night.


We do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Having built up such a brand, you expect Hilton hotels to be reasonably good. This one plainly isn't.

The main problem is in the rooms; ours was very small, with fittings more or less falling off the walls and a bathroom from a late 80s student flat.

The Hilton avoids 1 star by virtue of having a fair breakfast setup, but really you should avoid this place.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us.

I am sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. All our rooms do vary in size due to the fact we are a Georgian Townhouse building and I sincerely apologise that the room you were allocated did not meet your expectations.

I do hope that despite this isolated incident you feel able to stay with the Hilton brand in the future.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#62 of 151 in Edinburgh
807 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
West End
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
#61 of 151 in Edinburgh
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
West End
Apex Haymarket Hotel
Apex Haymarket Hotel
#71 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor

Address: Grosvenor Street | Haymarket, Edinburgh EH12 5EF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £70 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic 1860s listed building, the Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor hotel is housed over two buildings, a main building and a townhouse building. Situated in the stylish West End of the city, our hotel is just 200 meters from Haymarket train station and offers easy access to Edinburgh's iconic attractions, from Edinburgh Castle to Princes Street and the Royal Mile and is the perfect location to explore Scotland’s capital city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, TravelUp, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hilton
Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing