We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grotty Room” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor
Ranked #119 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Grotty Room”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

The lobby & downstairs areas are quite nice but the rooms, furniture & fittings are desperately tired and in need of updating. It feels rather like staying in a run-down old people's home. Breakfast is the usual buffet style, although a bonus is you can have whisky on your porridge!

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room - if they have any
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I am sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your stay.

I apologise that the rooms did not meet your expectations; I have passed your comments on to our housekeeping team to further investigate these issues.

We hope that despite this isolated incident you still feel able to stay with Hilton in the future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    468
    796
    628
    323
    195
See reviews for
232
954
177
595
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel wasn't a 5* but then it's not 5* prices, however, much better than the price we paid, like a travelodge, same price as a travelodge but much better. Room wasn't the best but had everything we needed as we weren't spending much time in the room.

Best bits, the staff were amazing, friendly and knowledgeable about the local area etc, the restaurant was very good and defiantly worth the breakfast or dinner.

Would definitely stay again

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for your Tripadvisor review of our hotel.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It’s great to hear that our staff members were able to share their local knowledge with you. I have passed on your kind comments regarding our restaurant to our restaurant manager and our head chef who really appreciated your feedback and will share them with their teams.

We look forward to welcomining you back in the future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Tired bedrooms , fast room service - but the so called "famous" Hilton Club Sandwich was a big miss - I have had good ones at other Hilton hotels . Free wi-fi for Hilton Honours members very useful - saved £15 . Breakfast pretty good. Have voted VG as it is a good hotel.

Needs love though and no parking - the web site says that there is an NCP within 250 yds - it has closed so parking a real pain.

Room Tip: no parking ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cragnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a Tripadvisor review of our hotel.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast during your stay with us and that you were able to make use of our complimentary Wifi for gold and diamond Hilton Hhonors guests.

I apologise for the issues you had with parking as our nearest NCP has now closed. We are now offering a free taxi service to and from the NCP at Castle Terrace as we know that parking facilities are important to many of our valued gusts.

We certainly hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saffron walden
Level Contributor
75 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

We liked the location of the hotel - near to Haymarket station and in a quieter part of the city yet with pubs and restaurants nearby. Elegant building too - townhouses with lots of public areas in the hotel.
Our room well equipped although probably ready for an update, as the origninal elegant building needs a bit of help to stay smart. Room not too hot and able to open window a little bit so sleeping was good.
Breakfasts were extremely good with plentiful fruit, cereals and tasty cooked breakfast. One of the few hotels to have Colman's mustard available without asking for it or carrying around one's own tube!
Would happily return as liked the unfussy atmosphere and quiet location, yet within quick reach of a railway station.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms front facing had large windows onto street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SilverTop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

It’s great that you found our location to suit the needs of your stay and thank you for your kind comments regarding our elegant building. I am thrilled that you enjoyed the breakfast and you were able to find bottles of mustard without having to ask for it. We know these little things can go a long way in creating a memorable stay for you.

We really hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

I was going to Edinburgh on Business friday14 feb to monday 17th feb, as a hilton hhonors member looked at The web site for this and made sure parking was available, the web site said 250 yards away. I booked on this basis.
When we got there no car park but we could go to one about two miles away and they would provide a taxi back. They gave me sat nav input and off I set- about two minutes into the journey the cabby phone and said he was waiting no longer. Because of the new tram system ruining Edinburgh I could not get to the car park and headed back and by chance found street parking.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrinceLard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel.

I am very sorry to hear about the difficulties you experienced regarding the parking. Unfortunately, the nearest NCP that was 250 yards away has very recently closed down. I apologise that this was not made clear to you from the beginning. It is most distressing to hear of the issue you had with the taxi company – we are currently looking into why the taxi driver did not wait for you, as instructed.

We hope that despite this isolated incident you feel able to stay with Hilton in the future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Stayed here for one night with my partner. We had a double delux room. Lovely decor, quite spacious, nice & warm. The hotel is off the main road so no noise. Very close to bars, restaurants & train station. Already booked another nights stay during the festival.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Karen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel.

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I am so pleased you liked the deluxe room you were allocated and that you found our location to suit the needs of your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back during the festival.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

The hotel is well situated near the Haymarket and about 10mins walk from Princes St. However, despite the rooms being grand, with high ceilings and large windows, they are little tired; ours in particular smelt of industrial cleaning products, was freezing cold and had stains all over the carpets. The staff at reception were very attentive during check-in and the breakfast was good. On the downside, when we called room service for an additional heater (the room was that cold), it took over an hour.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I am sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. I have passed on your comments to our head housekeeper to further investigate the carpet and smell you experienced in the room. I have also spoken with our guest assistance manager regarding the length of time it took to get the heater to your room as this is not acceptable and I apologise sincerely for that.

I am pleased to hear you found our location to suit the needs of your stay and that you enjoyed the breakfast.

I hope we can welcome you back in the future and show that we have actioned upon the feedback you have provided us with.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#49 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
West End
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
#58 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
#74 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,407 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor

Property: Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor
Address: Grosvenor Street | Haymarket, Edinburgh EH12 5EF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic 1860s listed building, the Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor hotel is housed over two buildings, a main building and a townhouse building. Situated in the stylish West End of the city, our hotel is just 200 meters from Haymarket train station and offers easy access to Edinburgh's iconic attractions, from Edinburgh Castle to Princes Street and the Royal Mile and is the perfect location to explore Scotland’s capital city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Prestigia so you can book your Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hilton
Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing