We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine for overnight stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor
Ranked #119 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Jackson, Michigan
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fine for overnight stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Stayed here for one night for an early morning flight next day from Edinburgh Turnhouse. I'd requested a quiet room above the ground floor, this was already done by the receptionist, who had put me in the quieter townhouse opposite the main hotel as there was a coach-load of rugby fans staying there for the 6 Nations.

Room was fine, Hilton quality with good shower and bathroom, though the door did jam into the toilet. Toiletries were good. Bed could have been better, felt old and saggy, didn't match the quality in the rest of the hotel, which was clearly newly-decorated, room lacked A/C to keep the room fresh this would have helped me get a better night's sleep. The room was well appointed though, with nice sheets and lighting.

Overall, nice stay. Quiet room, good staff, friendly and clean place to stay at an acceptable price-point.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G-Kaplan59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear G-Kaplan59

Many thanks for your review of Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor.

I am delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and will certainly pass on your comments regarding the jamed door in the bathroom to our Maintenance team.

Thank you for the feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    471
    796
    628
    323
    196
See reviews for
232
958
177
595
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

What an amazing welcome and relaxing experience.

Arrived at the Hilton after reading mixed reviews to be pleasantly surprised by the brilliant staff, especially Stuart.

We specified a spacious room as we had a wheelchair and we got exactly that, a well appointed room, clean, fresh and well equipped.

Breakfast buffet was very good with fine quality and plenty of selection of food.

Thank you to all that made our staying so relaxing, perfect.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank darranjarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I am so pleased to hear that you were happy with the room that you were allocated and that you enjoyed the breakfast.

We have noted your feedback regarding Stuart and have put him forward for internal recognition.

We really appreciated your kind comments and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

A lovely hotel, with really friendly and helpful staff. Great location, within easy walking distance to the city centre. The breakfast is fantastic. Would we stop here again? Definitely! The only negative was the bed, but I believe they are doing all the rooms up, so this will no doubt be sorted out

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlisleguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

It’s great to hear that you found our staff to be helpful and friendly and that you enjoyed the breakfast. I have shared your kind comments with the whole team at the Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor.

We hope that we can welcome you back in the future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
982 reviews
178 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

The Grosvenor is a bit away from all the action in Edinburgh, thus it offer a quiet location. I was put up in the "town house" part of the hotel. Big room and impressive ceiling height. Comfortable beds, clean rooms and good service as you would expect from the Hilton chain. The price I paid was very competitive well worth the cab fare to the royal mile.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Reslimpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I am pleased that you liked the room you were allocated in our Townhouse Building and found the service you received to meet your expectations.

We really appreciated your kind comments and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Got upgrade from single to double room. They also listened to customers feedback with regards to free Wi-Fi and now you get the first hour for free which is just enough for me. When I did had a complaint about my room the second week this got handle very professionally and I received a better room when I got back. Breakfast is fantastic and the employees are helpful and friendly

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Ingrid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I am pleased that any issues you did have during your stay were rectified to meet your needs. I have shared your kind comments with the entire team at the Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor.

We really appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Hotel is located less than 5 minutes by foot from the Haymarket station and only 15 minutes by foot to the city center. Very helpful and friendly staff. The rooms were a bit old and the floors made a lot of noise when you walked on them but overall it was good value for the money.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I am so pleased that you found our location to suit the needs of your stay and found our staff to be most helpful to you.

We really hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

I stayed here for business for a total of 2.5 weeks. I never go for this long so decided to choose Hilton as this is one of the choices offered via the works travel agent.
The booking was for a single room but this got upgraded to a double room which was a really nice surprise.
The second week was for a single room, which I have no issues with at all as it was booked for such a room. Unfortunately the room and bathroom were very cold and the bathroom must have been next to the kitchen as it smelled like a deep fryer. When needing to work at night as well it would have been nice to be comfortably warm.
When I went to the reception and advised about the issues with this room and that it was the opposite of my experience the previous week the gentleman couldn't be more friend, helpful and apologetic and said he would see if he could place me in the same room as the previous week and do the same for the 3rd week.
And I was indeed put in the same room for the rest of the weeks that I was there.

Yes, the room had creaking floorboards but for me that gives the building and rooms a bit of charm.
And I slept better then I did in the last 4 months.

Often people complain but don't go to the reception. If you have an issue it is worth it to go and speak to someone.
I don't like complaining and if it had been for the one night and not for business it would not have been an issue at all for me.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IBrands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a Trip Advisor review of our hotel.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I am very pleased that the issues you experienced were rectified for you and you were allocated the original room again.

We really appreciate your kind comments and hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#47 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
West End
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
#57 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
#75 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,409 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor

Property: Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor
Address: Grosvenor Street | Haymarket, Edinburgh EH12 5EF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic 1860s listed building, the Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor hotel is housed over two buildings, a main building and a townhouse building. Situated in the stylish West End of the city, our hotel is just 200 meters from Haymarket train station and offers easy access to Edinburgh's iconic attractions, from Edinburgh Castle to Princes Street and the Royal Mile and is the perfect location to explore Scotland’s capital city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hilton
Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing