We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor housekeeping”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor
Ranked #119 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Poor housekeeping”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Recently stayed at the hotel as a returning guest as I was attending an event in the Edinburgh area.

The location of the hotel is ideal for Haymarket train station which worked well for me also.

Unfortunately I was on the top floor near a very noisy cupboard, the room was dated with furniture in poor condition- all of this I could deal with. What I don't appreciate is the lack of cleanliness standards, the room was thick with dust across the room and around the edges of the carpet were both dirty and stained. The bathroom wasn't much better with hairs and other items which I wont mention around the bathroom, the toilet handle was also loose. Where are the housekeeping standards and who checked this room for my arrival as this is not acceptable?

Breakfast in the morning was ok, although I had to ask for coffee three times before it arrived. The food quality was good. The staff at reception were very pleasant on arrival and departure.

With so many hotels in the Edinburgh area I would be reluctant to return due to the poor housekeeping standards experienced.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GR1UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Please accept my personal apologies for your recent disappointing experience with us.
I wish to assure you that your feedback is important to us and that my team members are focused on making the necessary corrective actions.

As always, we are committed to the comfort and well-being of our guests, and are taking positive steps forward as we continue with our process reviews and training programmes.
We sincerely hope that there will be another opportunity in the future to deliver a better experience to you. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back.

Yours sincerely,
Ash Singh
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    486
    819
    638
    326
    201
See reviews for
242
975
179
606
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Set just 3 minutes walk from Haymarket station , this is a nice old building that has been converted to a spacious hotel. Easy walking distance to Princess & George St. We had a 3rd floor room and the bedroom wasn't a great size , and it only had a view over a very uncultivated back garden. The best thing about the room was a huge bathroom with bath, double basins and a separate shower. It had a large glass ceiling that brought in natural light and made it a joy to be in.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harriet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback and It is great pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back and being of service to you again in the near future.

Best Wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

The only saving grace of this hotel is the staff. Didn't have a lot of interaction with them but what we did, they were very helpful and friendly.
The hotel does state they do not have parking facilities to be fair. What they don't say is that any chance of getting a space anywhere within walking distance is nil to none. We circled the area for an hour in the car before calling reception to see if they could advise anywhere. We were told there was a car park 20 mins away which would cost us £24 a night! ("But we do offer complimentary taxis there!!")
The hotel itself, is shabby. Nice reception area but downhill from there. Our room was tiny, cramped and roasting. The bed was a very small double and extremely uncomfortable. Not really what I expected from the Hilton chain and very overpriced.
My partner and I stayed for a special occasion, and staying here was meant to be a special surprise. I would go as far as to say the hotel pretty much ruined it for us. I was very upset that it didn't live up to expectations.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma471005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Emma471005,

Thank you for your recent feedback report on Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor.
I am very disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us and will adress the concerns that you raised.

All of our rooms do vary in size due to the building originally being townhouses when built in 1860. All rooms are Hilton approved and I apologise that on this occasion this did not meet your standards.
I am truly sorry for the inconvenience experienced with regards to parking. We do state on the front page of the website that there is no onsite parking facilities at the hotel. I am sorry for the frustration this caused you.

I do hope you decide to return to us in the near future where we can have the opportunity to restore your faith in Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor.

Kindest Regards,
Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Brilliant location within walking distance of city centre amenities. Very warm welcome on arrival. Amazed that despite being in the city centre and at the front of the building, the room was very quiet. Nicely decorated and well equipped with very comfortable bed. We didn't have dinner in the hotel, but breakfast was lovely and the staff were very efficient and attentive. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Anna M,
Thank you for your positive feedback and It is great pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay and breakfast at the hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
King Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Lovely hotel, Staff very friendly couldn't do enough to help. Meals were lovely and bar had great selection. Right next to the Haymarket train station and just round the corner from Prince's Street and Park. Had a lovely weekend and would highly recommend. Rooms were very nice and spotlessly clean. Couldn't fault anything.

Room Tip: The hotel guests can use a NCP car park and they put on a courteous taxi but we found a parking bay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us, it was our pleasure to have you stay with us.

We are pleased to have met your requirements in terms of our location, facilities and service.

We certainly look forward to your next visit and to once again extending our warm hospitality to you.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Big clean room with lots of character. Great breakfast. Walking distance to City centre but right next to haymarket station. Stayed with a group of 22 ladies on a hen party and couldn't fault anything.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pkewbradbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your encouraging feedback on Tripadvisor . We are happy to learn that your stay with us was comfortable and you appreciated the services and facilities available.

At Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor we pride ourselves in ensuring each guest can count on us for 100% satisfaction and I am pleased to know we have been able to achieve that.

Your words of praise will most certainly further strengthen the commitment of the team . Thank you for continued patronage and we eagerly look forward to welcoming you again.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Very good location, close to landmarks in this nice city, warm atmosphere, very friendly professional staff. I am truly satisfied and I can recommend anyone, who are looking for a good quality and value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Mustafa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write your feedback about Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed the services of the hotel and had a comfortable stay. Our persistent effort is on ensuring each guest can count on us during their stay.

I positively hope that you will give us another chance to showcase the true level of service experience that we pride ourselves in. We keenly look forward to welcoming you back.
Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#53 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
West End
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
#57 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#14 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor

Property: Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor
Address: Grosvenor Street | Haymarket, Edinburgh EH12 5EF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic 1860s listed building, the Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor hotel is housed over two buildings, a main building and a townhouse building. Situated in the stylish West End of the city, our hotel is just 200 meters from Haymarket train station and offers easy access to Edinburgh's iconic attractions, from Edinburgh Castle to Princes Street and the Royal Mile and is the perfect location to explore Scotland’s capital city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hilton
Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing