We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor
Ranked #119 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good stay”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I was not sure about this hotel, but the rate was good so I checked it out. I had an upgrade to a deluxe room, and I believe that is what made the difference to the more mediocre reviews here.

The deluxe room was very spacious, and had a very nice English (Scottish) old school feel to it whilst modern. Breakfast service and food was excellent, and I found reception staf to be helpful and friendly. At the rate I paid (ca. £60) I have received excellent value!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank insulaner1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

It gives me immense pleasure to receive such a superlative feedback.
It is a pleasure to know that your stay was most enjoyable and our services and facilities exceeded your expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best Regards,
Ash Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    491
    832
    649
    327
    204
See reviews for
249
987
179
616
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2014

This hotel is second to none, the staff are so helpful and considerate and our room was clean and tidy with everything we needed for our stay. The food was delicious from the evening meal to breakfast. The location is a nice scenic 10min walk from Princes Street. We had a great experience staying here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
India, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write your feedback about Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor. We are elated to know that you had a great experience at the hotel and our services were at par with your expectations. Your kind words of appreciation will definitely inspire the team to continue to deliver their best.
We eagerly look forward to welcoming you again at the Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor. You can count on us.
Best Regards, Ash Singh, Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This was my second stay at the Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor. On my first stay earlier in the February, the Hotel heating and hot water system wasn't working so I woke up to a cold room and no hot water. The Hotel did apologise and were offering a 50% room reduction to all guests checking out, not that I benefited from this as it was a business trip! I gave the Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor the benefit of the doubt and returned in May and had no issues with hot water this time. I ordered room service which was quick to arrive and the food was good if not on the expensive side and they do charge a £4 tray charge. Room was ok, but thought the net curtains could do with a wash (maybe the Hotel had been waiting for the hot water to be fixed...). Was rudely awaken by a guest across the hall shouting on a mobile phone at 2am but I guess that could happen in any hotel. Breakfast was good, with eggs cooked fresh to your liking, unlike other Hotels where the fried eggs are cooked earlier and chucked into a serving dish. Overall, the stay was good and as it is a 5 minute walk to the office, I will probably stay again. However, it isn't somewhere I would stay if I came to Edinburgh for pleasure rather than business.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Adrian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Overall experience was good, however hotel rooms would use some refreshment. Also would be good to fit air conditioning. There was a electric heater in the room but I think those days is not what you expect from hotel of this class.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank typ01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2014

My mother and myself, arrived at the hotel on Friday afternoon. There are two entrances, which are at different sides of the road. There is the main hotel at one side and the Town-house at the other. We arrived and went into the main reception. The receptionist was very nice and got us a room, although we were a bit early. She put us in the Townhouse, at the other side of the hotel. Our room, which was a twin bedroom 262, was clean, although a little small. It was fine for a couple of days. That night, we had a nice dinner, which was part of the deal, in the restaurant, in the main hotel. The girl waiting on us, was very nice and chatty. We had a nice meal, which was quick and hot and fresh. Next morning, we were told our breakfast, would be in the Town-house. We went down, that morning, we were suprised to find it, very quiet. There was only one person in. Helping himself to his break-fast. There was nobody, there to greet us, so we decided to have a seat and help ourself. The waiter, did come out of a door and never came over to see if we needed anything. We poured our own coffee and it was stewed and cold. The chef, who came in and was testing the temperture of the scrambled egg, heard and asked the waiter to bring us a warmer jug. The breakfast in the Town-house is not as comprehensive , as the one, just over the road in the main building. We went over after, we had our break-fast in the Town-house to see what was on offer in the main building and couldn't believe the difference. So, i say to anybody, get your breakfast in the main building. There is plenty of staff there, all very pleasant and helpfull.There is a cold buffet there with cheeses, meats fruit, there crusty bread and on the hot buffet there much more extras, you don't get over there. To be fair, when we went over to complain, the differences, in the breakfast, they did say. we could come in and have something there, We declined, but we did take the opportunity to go, over for our breakfast the following morning. That morning our breakfast was lovely, the girl came over to offer us, nice hot coffee and the cook at the hot buffet, asked us, what kind of eggs we would like. All very different from the Town-house.

Room Tip: Go for your breakfast in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bighead2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Guest, at the outset, we sincerely appreciate you for taking out time to share your experience.

Guest feedback through Trip Advisor is incredibly important to us and we are quite seriously taking all your comments into consideration as we endeavour to improve our on-property experience.

We hope that you would treat this experience of yours in isolation and would present us with another opportunity to serve you.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2014

For quality of service, friendliness and helpfulness of staff, the Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor is top notch. Breakfast is excellent, and the chef really helps with the experience. The rooms have some quirks, but overall these add to the hotels character and charm.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Gareth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Gareth J,

Delighted to learn that you enjoyed our stay and Hilton Edinburgh Grsovenor is your favouiite hotel in Edinburgh. Thank you for appreciating the team.

We look forward to seeing you at the hotel very soon. You can count on us for consistent customer service!

Regards,
Ash Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
264 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

On our Scotland trip by car with another couple we ended up at this hotel, after making reservations thru their UK reservation line kindly connected by the very helpful hotel operator. I booked one King room for me and one double room for the other couple. No valet parking but is was easy to park across the street at around 11 PM.
Our room was worn out with stained carpets and there were no sleepers in the room , when requesting them I was informed that maybe they would have them by the week end!!!. Limited room service menu but for our surprise upon arrival the Caesar salad was in fact a Greek salad, the soup was reasonable and the Margarita pizza was good.
The next day during breakfast with the other couple to decide if we would stay another night or not in Edinburgh I was told that their room was tiny, the bed side was leaning against the wall, the windows were small starting at 6' height, the mattress terrible, a nightmare.
So, we checked out. I did complain to the front desk about my friend's room. The receptionist was very nice and professional and offered to remove the GBP 15 room service of the night before from the bill which I rejected (my friend does not speak English well, reason being why he did not complain the night before. Finally and in a very courtesy manner she removed the room service charge and 50% of the room charge (50% of GBP169) which did not pay for his distress but did show some respect and apologies.
Breakfast had not salmon (in the UK? please...), but the high point goes to the cook a not skinny guy with a big smile and willingness to make you happy. The 2 white egg omelet was just great.

Room Tip: Be aware when booking double rooms and ask if they are the cubicles they call "compact"
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 47carlosm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear 47carlosm,

We sincerely appreciate you for taking out time to share your experience.

Guest feedback through Trip Advisor is incredibly important to us and we are quite seriously taking all your comments into consideration as we endeavour to improve our on-property experience.

We hope that you would treat this experience of yours in isolation and would present us with another opportunity to serve you.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#56 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
West End
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
#66 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#12 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor

Property: Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor
Address: Grosvenor Street | Haymarket, Edinburgh EH12 5EF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic 1860s listed building, the Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor hotel is housed over two buildings, a main building and a townhouse building. Situated in the stylish West End of the city, our hotel is just 200 meters from Haymarket train station and offers easy access to Edinburgh's iconic attractions, from Edinburgh Castle to Princes Street and the Royal Mile and is the perfect location to explore Scotland’s capital city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hilton
Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing