We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special weekend. Grandsons engagement .”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor
Ranked #118 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My grandson and his girlfriend spent last weekend at Hilton groove or. They booked room only, but when the hotel was told that they had just got engaged they were upgraded. They received a bottle of wine a congratulation card and a lovely platter of strawberries and chocolate. They also got breakfast included. Thank you Hilton groove or for making it a very special weekend for a young couple. They will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Wilma D,

Thank you very much for your recent review of Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor.

I am deighted that your Grandson and his girlfriend enjoyed all aspects of their stay with us and would like to return to visit us again.

I will ensure your review is shared with the team here.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Best Wishes

Ash Singh
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,754)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,471 - 1,477 of 2,754 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

A curates egg of a Hilton. On the plus side friendly and helpful staff and an excellent breakfast. On the minus side very tired room with MFI style furnishing, not the contemporary des if promised on the website, wifi annoyingly drops out constantly and the promised complimentary morning newspaper didn't arrive on either of the two mornings we were there. The nearest public car park is a mike away although the hotel offers a complimentary taxi back! But overall there is something we liked about this hotel, must be the people, we will return.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Julianfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Daer Julianfin,

Thank you very much for your recent review of Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor.

I take on board your feedback regarding the WIFI conectivity and the complimentry newspapers and will share this with the Front office Team.
I look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Best Wishes
AshSingh
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

A well located hotel for central Edinburgh close to all the major tourist attractions. The hotel accommodation was excellent with spacious rooms and comfortable beds. Breakfasts were exceptional with plenty of choice. Rail, bus and from August 2014 tram links are all close by. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Leonard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Leonard M,

Thank you very much for your recent review of Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor.

I am delighted you enjoyed all apsects of your stay with us and will ensure your review is shared with the team members at the property.

I do look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future

Best Wishes
Ash Singh Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Arrived at hotel and was dealt with efficiently but not overly welcomed. Breakfasts were excellent but room was fairly small. First night was sleepless due to noise from the bar area below and noisy guests across the corridor until around 4 am. Next day while catching up on sleep in the afternoon, there was a fire drill which meant we all had to be evacuated. Overall a little disappointed with our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Brian M,
We sincerely appreciate you for taking out time to share your experience.
It is worth mentioning that your feedback is incredibly important to us and we are seriously taking your comments into consideration as we endeavour to improve our on-property experience.

At Hilton, we consider your safety to be of paramount importance and it is therefore essential that we evacuate the hotel when the fire alarms goes on.

With this thought, we look forward to welcoming you back and thank you for allowing us the opportunity to serving you at this occasion.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Hotel is two parts - we stayed in one (The town House) and ate in the other.
Room was small - not a lot of room around the bed,(legs were falling off bed, so not a lot of sleep on night 1, slightly improved after visit by odd job man next morning who tried to tighten the bolts) no storage drawers, 1 wardrobe, there was a Safe. Our room was at the rear of the building so fairly quiet, others at the front apparently had a disturbed night due to some form of late night reveling taking place in the street. Bathroom, small but clean and tidy. Food - breakfast was good (and they can cater for Coeliacs) evening meals were shockingly poor, service at dinner was not up to standard. Staff were friendly and helpful, and location is great for the city sightseeing. Strangely we would stop again, but not eat evening meals there. Wine list not very good and very expensive for what they have, bar prices perhaps a little on the costly side of things. They seemed a little overawed at trying to deal with a conference type event.

Room Tip: Ask for a at the rear of the Town House
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stewart L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Stewart L,
We sincerely thank you for writing about your recent stay experience through Trip Advisor.
We as a team at the hotel are immensely perturbed, post learning about this insipid experience of yours. Yes, we do realize that we fell short of your expectations at this moment. Needless to say, we have made a diligent note of it. Concerned departments have been instructed to ensure that they work on the feedback provided.

Our food and beverage team have noted your comments and are working as a team to overcome the shortfall.
It is hoped that you would leave this experience of yours in isolation and present us with another opportunity to delight you.
With this humble thought, we look forward to welcoming you back.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Location good, easy walk to centre, easy bus trip from airport.l Restaurant food quality poor. Wines selection poor. Everyday selection and expensive. Staff polite and courteous but need restaurant training. Queues for breakfast tables, but breakfast good when you get it. Get room at back if you don't want street noise at 5am.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Stewart L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear guest,

At the outset, we sincerely appreciate you for taking out time to share your experience with us.

I take on board your feedback regarding the meals and will share this with the Food and Beverage team.
I do hope you return to Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor in the very near future.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I stayed in the Town House across the road from the main hotel. Was there for a reunion weekend, bar priced were good as the organisers had negotiated a price as there were 215 of us. Other wise take out a mortgage. A very good hotel spoiled by lack of attention to detail. Some problems (2) rectified immediatley some still waiting. Hot room, cold cooked breakfast, cracked crockery. Don't take your car, NCP parking £24.10 for 24 hours, on street £2.20 per hour max 4 hours. traffic wardens in abundance. Lots of new oneway streets and no entry for cars due to the tram system, even the taxi drivers are unhappy. Princess Street some 15 to 20 mins walk away. Marks and Spencers just round the corner on the main road to the right. Costa coffee in the hotel is a rip off.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Jean M,

Thank you for your recent review of Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us but will certainly feedback your comments regarding breakfast and attention to detail.

I am concerned that you found our Food and Beverage to be expensive. We regularly benchmark ourselves against the competition in the city centre and our price points are well within the average. We offer wines at varying prices and measures and we find that our alcohol pricing is fairly consistent with the market in which we operate.

However, I am always keen to listen to feedback and we will again look at the pricing.

I do hope you visit us again in the very near future.


Best Wishes

Ash Singh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#77 of 151 in Edinburgh
937 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
West End
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
#79 of 151 in Edinburgh
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
West End
Apex Haymarket Hotel
Apex Haymarket Hotel
#69 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,166 reviews
West End
Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor

Address: Grosvenor Street | Haymarket, Edinburgh EH12 5EF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £51 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic 1860s listed building, the Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor hotel is housed over two buildings, a main building and a townhouse building. Situated in the stylish West End of the city, our hotel is just 200 meters from Haymarket train station and offers easy access to Edinburgh's iconic attractions, from Edinburgh Castle to Princes Street and the Royal Mile and is the perfect location to explore Scotland’s capital city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hilton
Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing