We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“sunken bed mattress”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor
Ranked #119 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“sunken bed mattress”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

i stayed in the single room in the townhouse and unfortunately, the bed mattress was extremely sunken. no matter how comfortable or high end other fixtures and fittings etc may be, I think the basic provision a hotel needs to fulfil is a great bed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Mira H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review of Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor.

I would like to apologise that you did not find the mattress to your satisfaction.

We replace mattresses on a rolling basis, and also as and when required to do so.

Next time you book to stay here, please contact me directly and I will personally ensure the room you are allocated meets your satisfaction.

Best Wishes

Ash Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    485
    816
    637
    326
    198
See reviews for
240
973
179
605
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

The hotel is in an old building which gives it a charm- however the rooms are poorly appointed. The first room I was given had damp in the carpet, a bed that was lumpy, a bathroom that needed maintenance and the ambiance of a prison cell.

The second room, an upgrade executive double, was cold, this is summer, noisy, with poor beddings and stained carpets.

Unusually in a situation like this the staff are a redeeming factor, but not this time. The staff were reoccupied and inattentive.

Breakfast: my only meal in the hotel - the chief liked to leave his station to keep his customers waiting on their fired egg which he serves undercooked. The potato bread was soggy, the hash brown had no crunch, the bacon anaemic, the sausages a challenging chew and the black pudding was uneatable.

As a business hotel - avoid this place -

Room Tip: if you have to stay insist on an executive room and free internet that will help
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TNTaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for your recent review of Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor.

I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I am very surprised to read the comments for breakfats food quality, we get great feedback for our breakfast offerings and food qualiity, however I apologise that you felt this was not the case.

I do hope you brought the issues you highlighted to the attention of the duty manager as this would have given us the opportunity to resolve them.

I do hope you decide to book again, and would be happy to assist you personally should this be the case

Best Wishes

Ash Singh
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Wigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

the hospitality was excellent and the staff were polite and friendly,
The food was delicious.my compliments to your chefs.
The room was a twin bedded room and very clean.
As I was on my own on works business it was very spacious.
only stayed one night but would return with my husband for a longer recreational break.

Within walking distance of Princess street and Edinburgh castle and Royal mile.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david30Wigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear david30Wigan,
Many thanks for your recent review of Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor. I am delighted you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and will ensure your review is shared with the team who will be delighted to read it.
I do look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind Regards,

Ash Singh(Deputy Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molde, Norway
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

If a hotel is a part of the Hilton hotel Chain you have big expetions. The Grosvenor is a disapointment. The best first. The hotel is only a 2 minutes walk from the trainstation Haymarket. But there it stops. Stairs everywhere, carpet on the floor. The bathroom was not clean. And no extra service. I asked for an umbrella. Nope (It seemed like they had two...in Sunny Edinburgh). No adapter, but they told me to go to a kiosk to buy one. The breakfast was very poor. You had to wait ten minutes for a toast, and the alternatives was few. I also ordered a taxi to the airport, it did not came so I had to ask once more. And the price? I know hotels are expensive in Edinburgh but 149 punds per night, for this? Not again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fotballitalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel on tripadvisor.

Naturally, I am very disappointed to read your displeasure regarding your stay with us, tis review is certainly not the general perception of the hotel and I am sorry that is how you found it.

Ou team are renowned for their friendly welcome, which is highlighted on this site, and again I apologise you did not find this to be the case.

Can I ask that you contact me personally next time you wish to stay in the hotel and I will ensure that your stay is 100% to your expectation.

I would like the opportunity to welcome you back to the property.
Kind Regards,

Ash Singh
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We booked a very last minute weekend through British Airways. We had never stayed in this hotel nor the area of Haymarket. It was convenient for exploring Edinburgh, still within walking distance to Princes St (just under a mile). The hotel staff were so friendly, the room bigger than expected as we had booked a standard room. Lovely comfortable king size bed. Room lovely and clean and in a quiet part of the hotel at the back. No view - which we didn't mind as we were out all day.
The breakfast was superb, freshly cooked omelette of your choice along with the usual breakfast items.
I cannot fault this hotel and we will definitely return.
Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent review on tripadvisor.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as that, I am delighted that you mentioned the quality of the food served at brekafast and the team have done a great job in looking after you.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Kind Regards,
Ash Singh (Deputy Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

the hotel has fallen into disrepair. it's noisy, the rooms smell, the rooms are not clean and the staff does not seem to care. the bathrooms were not clean, the entrance has beer bottles and cigarette butts. it's noisy.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
3 Thank nathanaf2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your recent review of Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor..

Naturally, I am very concerned with your review of the hotel. I would like to apologise that we have not met your expectations on this stay and I will share the feedback with the team here.

We have a duty management team on 24 hours a day to manage any guest concerns and we are always delighted to assist where we can.

Once again, many thanks for the feedback.

Best Wishes
Ash Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabster, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Excellent hotel. Although the rooms were a bit smaller than american hotel rooms, and service was excellent, and the location was perfect for sightseeing in Edinburgh. Front counter staff was very helpful with tour setups, and the breakfast is among the best we've seen.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear David H,

Many thanks for your recent review of Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor.

I am delighted you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and will ensure your review is shared with the team who will be delighted to read it.

I do look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Best Wishes,

Ash Singh
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#51 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
West End
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
#57 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#14 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor

Property: Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor
Address: Grosvenor Street | Haymarket, Edinburgh EH12 5EF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic 1860s listed building, the Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor hotel is housed over two buildings, a main building and a townhouse building. Situated in the stylish West End of the city, our hotel is just 200 meters from Haymarket train station and offers easy access to Edinburgh's iconic attractions, from Edinburgh Castle to Princes Street and the Royal Mile and is the perfect location to explore Scotland’s capital city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hilton
Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing