We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to Haymarket station”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor
Ranked #119 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Close to Haymarket station”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed for a ladies weekend to celebrate a big birthday and the hotel was within walking distance of shops and restaurants. When we checked in we were informed that we had been allocated rooms in the Townhouse which was across the road which was rather a surprise as we were unaware that the hotel had another situation. Our rooms in the Townhouse were actually very nice and they were both spacious and recently updated so it turned out to be not an issue. We did,however have to go across to the main hotel if we wanted a full breakfast as only continental breakfast was served in the Townhouse. Again, it wasn't a real issue for us but it may have been if the weather has been bad.The staff were really lovely and chatty and looked after us well. Breakfast was excellent. I would go back but i would make sure that I knew where I was staying.

Room Tip: Room 154 is large and has a lovely walk in shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for you recent review of Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor.

I am pleased you found the hotel to your liking and will ensure this review is shared with the team at the hotel.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Many thanks,

Ash Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    490
    830
    647
    327
    204
See reviews for
247
986
179
614
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for a trip to Edinburgh for my birthday. The room was huge with a large bath and the most amazing power shower. Bed was comfy and rooms were warm. Staff were helpful and polite. Great stay, thanks to everyone at the Hilton!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jassumms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Hilton Edinburgh Grovesnor.

We want to express our appreciation for your wonderful comments regarding your stay with us.
We are happy that you enjoyed our amenities as well as our friendly staff.

We will look forward to giving you another enjoyable experience on your next visit at Hilton Edinburgh Grovesnor. You can count on us for consistent standards and customer service!

Regards,

Ash Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
244 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed for one night in this Hilton, as had been given a "Be My Guest" voucher by Hilton Hotels after a problem staying in one of their hotels in Sicily. The rack rate for this hotel was over £300 which seemed an awful lot. However the location is great and the room was large and very clean. It could be any Hilton hotel room in the world, but I suppose that is the point of staying there.

The beds were very comfortable although there was no bath, just a shower.

The breakfast was the best part of the hotel! Delicious food, and the buffet food had not been left for hours to congeal, but was fresh. They also had a chef there to make pancakes, waffles, eggs etc to order which was a nice touch.

Great location, but not sure it's worth £300 per night.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nibbs007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review of Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location perfect for your needs.

I will ensure you review is shared with the team at the hotel.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Best Wishes

Ash Singh
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2014

i stayed in the single room in the townhouse and unfortunately, the bed mattress was extremely sunken. no matter how comfortable or high end other fixtures and fittings etc may be, I think the basic provision a hotel needs to fulfil is a great bed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Mira H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review of Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor.

I would like to apologise that you did not find the mattress to your satisfaction.

We replace mattresses on a rolling basis, and also as and when required to do so.

Next time you book to stay here, please contact me directly and I will personally ensure the room you are allocated meets your satisfaction.

Best Wishes

Ash Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The hotel is in an old building which gives it a charm- however the rooms are poorly appointed. The first room I was given had damp in the carpet, a bed that was lumpy, a bathroom that needed maintenance and the ambiance of a prison cell.

The second room, an upgrade executive double, was cold, this is summer, noisy, with poor beddings and stained carpets.

Unusually in a situation like this the staff are a redeeming factor, but not this time. The staff were reoccupied and inattentive.

Breakfast: my only meal in the hotel - the chief liked to leave his station to keep his customers waiting on their fired egg which he serves undercooked. The potato bread was soggy, the hash brown had no crunch, the bacon anaemic, the sausages a challenging chew and the black pudding was uneatable.

As a business hotel - avoid this place -

Room Tip: if you have to stay insist on an executive room and free internet that will help
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TNTaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for your recent review of Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor.

I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I am very surprised to read the comments for breakfats food quality, we get great feedback for our breakfast offerings and food qualiity, however I apologise that you felt this was not the case.

I do hope you brought the issues you highlighted to the attention of the duty manager as this would have given us the opportunity to resolve them.

I do hope you decide to book again, and would be happy to assist you personally should this be the case

Best Wishes

Ash Singh
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

the hospitality was excellent and the staff were polite and friendly,
The food was delicious.my compliments to your chefs.
The room was a twin bedded room and very clean.
As I was on my own on works business it was very spacious.
only stayed one night but would return with my husband for a longer recreational break.

Within walking distance of Princess street and Edinburgh castle and Royal mile.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david30Wigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear david30Wigan,
Many thanks for your recent review of Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor. I am delighted you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and will ensure your review is shared with the team who will be delighted to read it.
I do look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind Regards,

Ash Singh(Deputy Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molde, Norway
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

If a hotel is a part of the Hilton hotel Chain you have big expetions. The Grosvenor is a disapointment. The best first. The hotel is only a 2 minutes walk from the trainstation Haymarket. But there it stops. Stairs everywhere, carpet on the floor. The bathroom was not clean. And no extra service. I asked for an umbrella. Nope (It seemed like they had two...in Sunny Edinburgh). No adapter, but they told me to go to a kiosk to buy one. The breakfast was very poor. You had to wait ten minutes for a toast, and the alternatives was few. I also ordered a taxi to the airport, it did not came so I had to ask once more. And the price? I know hotels are expensive in Edinburgh but 149 punds per night, for this? Not again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fotballitalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel on tripadvisor.

Naturally, I am very disappointed to read your displeasure regarding your stay with us, tis review is certainly not the general perception of the hotel and I am sorry that is how you found it.

Ou team are renowned for their friendly welcome, which is highlighted on this site, and again I apologise you did not find this to be the case.

Can I ask that you contact me personally next time you wish to stay in the hotel and I will ensure that your stay is 100% to your expectation.

I would like the opportunity to welcome you back to the property.
Kind Regards,

Ash Singh
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#56 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
West End
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
#66 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#12 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor

Property: Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor
Address: Grosvenor Street | Haymarket, Edinburgh EH12 5EF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic 1860s listed building, the Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor hotel is housed over two buildings, a main building and a townhouse building. Situated in the stylish West End of the city, our hotel is just 200 meters from Haymarket train station and offers easy access to Edinburgh's iconic attractions, from Edinburgh Castle to Princes Street and the Royal Mile and is the perfect location to explore Scotland’s capital city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hilton
Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing