We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business trip to Edinburgh”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor
Ranked #119 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Cardiff
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Business trip to Edinburgh”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

Quick stop in Edinburgh... Nice hotel, needs a refurb I would suggest... Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. My bed was a little soft and the room a little worn but still comfortable and clean. Great for a quick stop. Bathroom was a little dated.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ShamusG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this review, 13 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review of Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor on Tripadvisor, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and were impressed with freindly and helpfull team at the Hotel.

We very much appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Ash Singh
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    486
    819
    638
    326
    201
See reviews for
242
975
179
606
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

I stayed here as I was speaking at a conference at the EICC (which is 5 mins walk up the road). The rooms are large, airy, and very comfortable with a proper desk for working at and free wifi in the bedroom. The buffet breakfast was excellent (haggis very edible!) and the staff were friendly and helpful at all times. The hotel is just round the corner from Haymarket and from the Airlink Bus 100 stop to and from the airport. It takes about 10 minutes to walk up to Princes Street and then a little longer to get to the Royal Mile but you're right by a tram stop if you don't want to walk. I will be coming back and bringing the family with me.

Room Tip: The Grosvenor also owns the property across the road (Hilton Townhouse) which is where I actually st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this review, 13 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, it was a pleasure having you with us.

We are delighted to learn that you found our Guestrooms comfortable and service friendly during your stay. It was our pleasure to deliver the warm hospitality that contributed positively towards your experience with us .

We look forward to welcoming you back and being of service to you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Ash Singh
Deputy Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
82 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

I have mixed feelings about this hotel. We paid £200 for one night for an average room, and the price didn't even include breakfast. The room was clean but the standard really didn't reflect the price. The location is good, just across from Haymarket station and a quick 5 minute stroll from town. The price of drink at the bar is shocking, we were charged an eye-watering £9.80 for a large glass of house white! What the hell! And this is coming from a group of Irish people who are used to things being expensive at home.

I don't agree with some other reviews that there was no selection at breakfast. There WERE eggs, contrary to an earlier review, along with bacon, sausages, haggis and some kind of scottish potatoes. If you ask the chef, he or she will make pancakes with maple syrup (Yum) and they had delicious mini pastries and a selection of fruit and cereal. Also they leave a pot of delicious coffee on the table. Breakfast was the highlight of the stay for me even though I felt annoyed it wasnt included and had to pay £10 on top of the already inflated £200

overall wouldn't stay here again i felt ripped off

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Irish L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this review, 13 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel.
I am sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. I am concerned that you found our Food and Beverage to be expensive. We regularly benchmark ourselves against the competition the city centre and our price points and well within the average. We offer wines at varying prices and measures and we find that our alcohol pricing is fairly consistent with the market in which we operate.
However, I am always keen to listen to feedback and we will again look at the pricing.

I do hope that despite this isolated incident, you feel able to continue to stay with Hilton in the future.

Thank you
Ash Singh
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Uk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 night. We arrived early but they were happy to look after our luggage.
Room was very spacious, very clean.
All the staff were very helpful and polite.
Breakfast was great, as much as you can eat, eggs cooked how you want them. They Even cooked my wife vegetarian sausages.
Overall great stay, if we ever visit Edinburgh again we will stay at the Hilton

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pc11010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this review, 13 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, we are delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us. We appreciate your feedback on our service, quality of food and breakfast spread.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Ash Singh
Deputy Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

First of all this hotel's location is far from the center of the city. The city is accessible by Tram. The staff was friendly but knew little about the city as they were all from some other country. The room was dingy. They forgot to clean my room one day. There were stairs to get to the room. I saw no porter to help with the luggage. The windows did not work, and for a hotel with no AC that is a problem. The breakfast was meagre, no eggs,just cereal and bread. The meal I had in the bar was inedible, I wonder how you can destroy a hamburger. This was an expensive hotel and I would not recommend it.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this review, 13 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your insights from your recent stay at Hilton EDinburgh Grosvenor.
It is regrettable that there were some aspects of your stay that did not meet with your expectations. My team have noted your points and where necessary, are taking corrective actions.

It was a pleasure having you with us and we hope to deliver a better stay experience to you when you next return to Edinburgh
Yours sincerely,
Ash Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

This hotel offers good value for money. Bar area is very inviting with a relaxed atmosphere The rooms are spacious, clean & with modern furnishings. The bathroom was clean & water was hot. Overall a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosvenor_Edinburgh, Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, responded to this review, 13 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review of Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, we are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

We truly appreciate your positive feedback on our facilities and breakfast, which you enjoyed.
It is rewarding for the team when our guests enjoy their experiences with us.

We look forward to having you with us again when you next return to Gurgaon.

Many Thanks,
Ash Singh
Deputy Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Room was way too small, not even the TV was aligned with the bed due to the lack of space. Hotel interior seriously needs a refurbishment, looks like an old cheap hotel and definitely doesn't stand up to the brands' standards. In addition, nightly rates were way overrated in comparison to other similar hotels despite the Fringe festival.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Renato G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#53 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
West End
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
#57 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#14 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor

Property: Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor
Address: Grosvenor Street | Haymarket, Edinburgh EH12 5EF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic 1860s listed building, the Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor hotel is housed over two buildings, a main building and a townhouse building. Situated in the stylish West End of the city, our hotel is just 200 meters from Haymarket train station and offers easy access to Edinburgh's iconic attractions, from Edinburgh Castle to Princes Street and the Royal Mile and is the perfect location to explore Scotland’s capital city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hilton
Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing