We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor
Nearby Hotels
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$193
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$251
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$347
US$279
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$325
US$258
Waldorf Astoria
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$300
US$280
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$328
US$305
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$169
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Scotsman Hotel(Edinburgh)
US$231
US$176
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$143
US$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Holiday Inn Edinburgh(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$98
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (2,815)
Filter reviews
2,815 results
Traveller rating
578
933
714
364
226
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
578
933
714
364
226
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshaymarket stationdeluxe roomhigh ceilingscity centreprinces streettram stopbreakfast was excellentporridgehaggisroyal miletownhousecastlebusespubs
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,429 - 2,434 of 2,815 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2010

Our first stay in Edinburgh, all but the hotel was great! My first stay at a Hilton and my expectations were definetly not met.
Started off we got there and checked in, (reception staff are very friendly ) took a bit to get settled and after being passed from room to room my partner and I decided to upgrade so as to get a better room with space to move past each side of the bed with windows that open.
First appearance was a nice room, view was of the hotels fans that made a very annoying noise from 6am to 12am. Warm though so we tried to open the window- and to our shock part of the frame fell off. As well as this we had to put up with smokers above us throwing their cigarette ends on our sill so we were gettin smoke through the window.
Bathroom was small & clean but the toilet was not secure to the ground and very unsteady.
Our upgrade was to a king room with a king bed which turned out to be two single beds badly zipped together with linen that didn't fit. Both my partner and I thought the floor would have been more comfortable than those rocks.
Alarm not needed as to wake up the hotel has housekeeping wake you up with their shouting conversations first thing in morning.
Location wise, the hotel was close to Princes st and Edinburgh bus services are fantastic, £3 for an all day ticket. Newsagent on the corner and less than 5min walk to Haymarket station.

We will return to Edinburgh but definetly not to the Hilton.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank practice27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2010

We stayed here over Easter, lovely staff, nice enough room and location. The bar is very expensive, went down for a couple of coffees, Costa outlet, and was charged £4.25 each! Total bill £8.50 for two mediocre coffees in cardboard cups! Wish I had gone round the corner where they were serving coffee for £1.50 with free refills.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladysatsuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2010

About 10 to 15 minutes walk from Princes Street and only 2 minutes from Haymarket station the Hilton Grosvenor is conveniently located in a street of Georgian buildings. The bedroom itself was of a decent size (for a single room) and whilst the furniture could only be described as eclectic the workdesk and chair were excellent and the bed comfortable. The one disadvantage was that the room was at the front of the building and therefore prone to traffic noise.

The great strength of this hotel is its staff. Without exception all were friendly and helpful.

I was able to secure a particularly good rate through Lastminute.com so felt I received excellent value for money. Overall this hotel is of a good three star standard - the full room rate probably does not represent good value, but by shopping around a good deal can probably be secured.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RGYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2010

I stayed 2 nights at this wonderful hotel in Edinburgh. It's a bit off the beaten track, away from the center of the city, but close enough to walk to Princes Street. That's a 10 minute walk to the main shopping district. I used the airport bus which drops/pick up about 100 yards from hotel front-door.

My first impression was the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. Front desk was great and extended to restaurant and rest of staff - they give the impression they truly enjoy providing service.

The room was spacious with high ceilings (ground floor room). It was up to-date, as befits a Hilton hotel. Internet was a paid service but worked flawlessly.

I was there for a conference and the facilities and service matched their overall service standard.

When I come back to Edinburgh, this would definitely a hotel to stay at given it's location.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2010

You know you've stayed somewhere special when you return home and miss all the smiles and friendly conversation that punctuated the time you were away. From the moment we arrived, every single member of staff seemed to go out of their way to make eye contact and show a genuine interest in how you were, where you were from, how you're enjoying the city etc etc. And not in an annoying way. On top of that, the room was spotless and fresh. Modern but retaining beautiful Georgian grandeur. The breakfast set us up for the WHOLE day. Just the perfect place from which to explore Edinburgh for the first time. The distance from the centre on foot is about 20 mins and means you can burn off the delicious breakfast and explore the interesting streets en route to the Old Town sights/Princes Street shops.

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank branwellbronte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews