We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor
Ranked #121 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 22 April 2010

We were a bit wary after reading some of the reviews but we were very pleasantly surprised, the hotel is in an excellent location, within easy walking distance of the tourist areas. We were greeted by polite helpful reception staff and were upgraded to a beautiful room. Breakfast was fabulous with everything you could wish for, parking just across the road, no complaints whatsoever!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunsearcher100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,698)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,318 - 2,324 of 2,698 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2010

Hotel is nice and clean and modern decorated but service wasn't brilliant and the rooms are a bit akward.

The bathroom in my room was very narrow, and I imagined if i was in anyway "big" i would have issues navigating through it.

Clean hotel though, but service at front desk varied with staff members, which is a bit disappointing from hilton.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arnald5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2010

we booked into main hilton reception..very friendly. left bags and went out for the day. car parking a good 5 minutes walk away. came back and was directed over the road in another building. though this was odd. went to room which was not the same quality as Hiltons normally are. Had to climb two setsof stairs with luggage!. Asked reception what is the difference between main building and this one..3 star compared to 4. we didnt know this on booking or on checkin! very very disappointed with whole thing as it was my birthday and this was our celebration. didnt have breakfast so cannot comment what we would have got.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmajade7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2010

Myself and my wife stayed at the Hilton recently and found it to be enjoyable.The accommodation is comfortable and clean,breakfast was good and the staff friendly and helpful with dining suggestions.The location is excellent for exploring the city and seeing the sights.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cianfin69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2010

Our first stay in Edinburgh, all but the hotel was great! My first stay at a Hilton and my expectations were definetly not met.
Started off we got there and checked in, (reception staff are very friendly ) took a bit to get settled and after being passed from room to room my partner and I decided to upgrade so as to get a better room with space to move past each side of the bed with windows that open.
First appearance was a nice room, view was of the hotels fans that made a very annoying noise from 6am to 12am. Warm though so we tried to open the window- and to our shock part of the frame fell off. As well as this we had to put up with smokers above us throwing their cigarette ends on our sill so we were gettin smoke through the window.
Bathroom was small & clean but the toilet was not secure to the ground and very unsteady.
Our upgrade was to a king room with a king bed which turned out to be two single beds badly zipped together with linen that didn't fit. Both my partner and I thought the floor would have been more comfortable than those rocks.
Alarm not needed as to wake up the hotel has housekeeping wake you up with their shouting conversations first thing in morning.
Location wise, the hotel was close to Princes st and Edinburgh bus services are fantastic, £3 for an all day ticket. Newsagent on the corner and less than 5min walk to Haymarket station.

We will return to Edinburgh but definetly not to the Hilton.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank practice27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2010

We stayed here over Easter, lovely staff, nice enough room and location. The bar is very expensive, went down for a couple of coffees, Costa outlet, and was charged £4.25 each! Total bill £8.50 for two mediocre coffees in cardboard cups! Wish I had gone round the corner where they were serving coffee for £1.50 with free refills.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladysatsuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2010

About 10 to 15 minutes walk from Princes Street and only 2 minutes from Haymarket station the Hilton Grosvenor is conveniently located in a street of Georgian buildings. The bedroom itself was of a decent size (for a single room) and whilst the furniture could only be described as eclectic the workdesk and chair were excellent and the bed comfortable. The one disadvantage was that the room was at the front of the building and therefore prone to traffic noise.

The great strength of this hotel is its staff. Without exception all were friendly and helpful.

I was able to secure a particularly good rate through Lastminute.com so felt I received excellent value for money. Overall this hotel is of a good three star standard - the full room rate probably does not represent good value, but by shopping around a good deal can probably be secured.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RGYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#66 of 151 in Edinburgh
847 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
West End
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
#67 of 151 in Edinburgh
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
West End
Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh
Broughton & Calton
Courtyard by Marriott Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor

Address: Grosvenor Street | Haymarket, Edinburgh EH12 5EF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £65 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic 1860s listed building, the Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor hotel is housed over two buildings, a main building and a townhouse building. Situated in the stylish West End of the city, our hotel is just 200 meters from Haymarket train station and offers easy access to Edinburgh's iconic attractions, from Edinburgh Castle to Princes Street and the Royal Mile and is the perfect location to explore Scotland’s capital city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hilton
Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing