We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Frederick House Hotel
Ranked #111 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Brilliant location just a few minutes walk from Rose Street and Princes Street. Large room described as single turns out to be a double. Breakfast is served in a nice little café over the road which works out well. First night's sleep was disturbed by squawking birds outside.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MossCommuter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (714)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 714 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2013

This hotel is in a beautiful building giving you a sense of history. It is centrally located 10-15 minutes on foot from all the main sights and places to visit.
Breakfast is served in a French cafe across the street and, by UK standards, we can freely say it's sumptuous. Staff are helpful and kind. Rooms and bathrooms are clean; there's a coffee (or tea) pot in the room.

The only "but" part is that I didn't have Wi-fi coverage in my room (third floor) and since I was on a business trip it was important for me to be online all the time I was in the room. So, I had to go and sit in the lobby whenever I wanted to use the Internet and sometimes it was at 2 am or 3 am (because of time differences in different parts of the world) and on a few occasions it proved to be an embarrassing situation.

So, ask for the room on the first floor if you're web-dependent.

Room Tip: If you need Wi-fi service in the room, ask for a room on the first floor, because higher than that t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mirjana007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

The room was one of the best I have ever stayed in, a loft with an amazing view of the city. While it was a little pricier, the location was unbeatable and we had a magical stay. Any additional complaining is just nitpicking.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Winston K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed here recently and I can't say I have any complaints. It's tidy, the rooms are a good size and have all the usual amenities. Can't say there's anything that particularly makes it stand out from the others but there's a whole lot worse as well. It a good location in new town close to the castle. There is no parking, the closest is about a 10 min walk away in a reasonably hard to find parking building. I found the receptionists a bit cold but I guess they deal with people all day so I can't blame them. It's not the cheapest hotel out there but like I say the location is good, a good base to explore Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Booked incorrect dates in error on-line, called the Hotel immediately to explain and change dates. Unfortunately the date I wanted was fully booked but Frederick House Hotel refused to refund for the booking in error.

I found their customer service to be extremely lacking and indeed uncaring. They showed no empathy for a genuine mistake being made and I feel they showed a complete disregard for any kind of customer service!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank PaulMc73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for an overnight! Got a good deal online, room was fantastic. Not much facilities in the hotel but for a few day and being so central you don't really need any! Definatley would return but not 100% I would pay full price as its quite pricey ...

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichelleKane21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Fantastic location in New Town. Rooms and particularly bathrooms immaculately clean and decent size by Europe standards. Good breakfast options at Cafe Rouge. Very nice staff. Walls and pillows on the thin side though. And very few rooms with a view of the street, mostly facing other rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LVB1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
New Town
Fountain Court Apartments Royal Garden
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#32 of 151 in Edinburgh
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
The Old Waverley Hotel
The Old Waverley Hotel
#109 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,136 reviews
West End
Angels Share Hotel
Angels Share Hotel
#91 of 151 in Edinburgh
493 reviews
Old Town
Holyrood apartHOTEL
Holyrood apartHOTEL
#79 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frederick House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frederick House Hotel

Address: 42 Frederick Street | Lothian, Edinburgh EH2 1EX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#56 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £57 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Frederick House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to offer you a very warm welcome to both the city of Edinburgh and to our hotel situated amidst the Georgian elegance of Edinburgh’s "New Town", and only a few steps from the world famous Princes Street. A warm friendly welcome awaits you at Frederick House Hotel, your home away from home catering for both the business and leisure traveller. Recently refurbished throughout to a high 4 star standard, our well appointed accommodation offers modern comfort at an affordable price. We look forward to welcoming you to Frederick House and making your stay an enjoyable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Frederick House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frederick Hotel Edinburgh
Frederick House Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing