We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location, terrible amenities and breakfast.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Frederick House Hotel
Ranked #112 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Beirut, Lebanon
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“good location, terrible amenities and breakfast.”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

for a whopping 280 pounds a night, you get a breakfast in the cafe across the street. it is an extremely basic breakfast - eggs-coffee-juice. one of each. if you choose the granola, they won't give you a croissant. go ask for anything more and they will charge you. incredible. the worst in 12 days in Scotland, and by far. the soap and shampoo in the bathroom are the cheapest in town (shampoo in paper individual portions). just put it in the perspective of the 280 pounds !!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ghassan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    310
    141
    42
    23
See reviews for
125
226
93
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2013

After reading some of the reviews on here, I was a bit worried about booking here but did due to the location and price compared to other places which were further away from the city centre and taking advantage of the demand during the festival.
I've got to say that I would stay here again in a heart beat. People were friendly, rooms were clean and tidy. Modern deco throughout the whole building. I really can't rate this place highly enough and I find it hard to understand why they aren't further up the placement list on here........ And this is coming from someone suffering OCD!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neilyboyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
488 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 346 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We booked this hotel during the fringe festival at 13:00 on the day, as we decided to extend our stay. We did this via a booking site on the internet at a price of £75 b&b, instead of the rack rate of £220. I must say that I am reviewing this therefore on our purchase price.
Location, excellent - 5 mins from Princes Street, Rose Street and Waverley Station. Building impressive, very period and everything looked quite new and refurbished.
Reception - we booked in at around 10pm was pleasant and informed us about breakfast, luggage storage etc.
Room was pleasant - front facing, high ceilings including a fridge. Bathroom was standard but very clean. Would have expected better toiletries if I had paid more. There was a double bed and a single bed, which could have been harder for me. The soundproofing was ok although there were creaks etc from the room above - but not too bad. TV was large which is good - range of channels not bad.
Breakfast was provided at the Cafe Rouge over the road. We had full english breakfast which was average. Should have been hotter.
Overall, had the breakfast been better we would have given this a 5 for the price paid of £75. If we had paid more my review would have been less favourable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank joan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

The Frederick House Hotel is a modern, basic, hotel lacking in character and overly priced for everything but the location. The room was clean and basic but the paneling on the bath tub was coming out and a large cloud of dust appeared when we dropped our rucksack on the floor next to the bed... (The dust was definitely from the floor and not our ruck suck, I promise!) The selection of teas and coffee in the room were okay, but I was sorry to see there wasn't any hot chocolate or biscuits (it’s the small things that make a difference, especially when you’re paying a lot of money). The daytime receptionists were a bit "too cool" and did not volunteer any help or information beyond giving us the room key. In contrast, the night time staff were much more friendly and helpful. The breakfast across the street at Café Rouge, which comes with the price of the room, is heated from frozen food and of low quality so don’t expect anything special there. Overall, the Frederick House Hotel in quality and character is nothing special but the location is fantastic, so as long as your expectations are realistic, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Brilliant location just a few minutes walk from Rose Street and Princes Street. Large room described as single turns out to be a double. Breakfast is served in a nice little café over the road which works out well. First night's sleep was disturbed by squawking birds outside.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MossCommuter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

This hotel is in a beautiful building giving you a sense of history. It is centrally located 10-15 minutes on foot from all the main sights and places to visit.
Breakfast is served in a French cafe across the street and, by UK standards, we can freely say it's sumptuous. Staff are helpful and kind. Rooms and bathrooms are clean; there's a coffee (or tea) pot in the room.

The only "but" part is that I didn't have Wi-fi coverage in my room (third floor) and since I was on a business trip it was important for me to be online all the time I was in the room. So, I had to go and sit in the lobby whenever I wanted to use the Internet and sometimes it was at 2 am or 3 am (because of time differences in different parts of the world) and on a few occasions it proved to be an embarrassing situation.

So, ask for the room on the first floor if you're web-dependent.

Room Tip: If you need Wi-fi service in the room, ask for a room on the first floor, because higher than that t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mirjana007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

The room was one of the best I have ever stayed in, a loft with an amazing view of the city. While it was a little pricier, the location was unbeatable and we had a magical stay. Any additional complaining is just nitpicking.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winston K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments
New Town
Fountain Court Apartments Royal Garden
New Town
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
#70 of 149 in Edinburgh
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frederick House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frederick House Hotel

Property: Frederick House Hotel
Address: 42 Frederick Street | Lothian, Edinburgh EH2 1EX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#57 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Frederick House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to offer you a very warm welcome to both the city of Edinburgh and to our hotel situated amidst the Georgian elegance of Edinburgh’s "New Town", and only a few steps from the world famous Princes Street. A warm friendly welcome awaits you at Frederick House Hotel, your home away from home catering for both the business and leisure traveller. Recently refurbished throughout to a high 4 star standard, our well appointed accommodation offers modern comfort at an affordable price. We look forward to welcoming you to Frederick House and making your stay an enjoyable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Frederick House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frederick Hotel Edinburgh
Frederick House Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing