We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Frederick House Hotel
Ranked #112 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

Didn't expect it because I didn't pay much for my single room.
It's so spacious, clean, and cosy. You can find everything you need in your room, even the iron.
The street it's on is not that busy, but it's still very close to the center and you can walk to everywhere.
The breakfast is in another cafe opposite the hotel, which is also very good.
You just can't point anything wrong even for a picky person.
This night in Edinburgh is my best night of holiday so far.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
Thank Anita Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (692)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 692 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2014

we have stayed at frederick house a couple of times now and couldn't be happier with the service. Check in runs smooth and the staff are happy to help and make sure your stay is fantastic the hotel is right in the centre very easy access to everything.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stelord85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Room was great, loads of space! Everything was clean and tidy and the shower had good pressure. Lovely service and there was a luggage room available for you to leave your things in after check out if you've still got a bit of time before leaving the city.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimC20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

This hotel was definitely a surprise when we checked in. Based on the reviews we knew it would be good, but it really exceeded our expectations. We stayed in a loft room with two great double beds. The best part, easily, was the loft part of our room that had an unbeatable view of the water! We found ourselves going up there to hang out, look outside, and just enjoy being in Edinburgh!

Amazing location- everything is walkable!!

I think it was a bit pricey, but very on par with the other hotels in the area.

I would easily stay there again on another trip!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kate110715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Went at Christmas time for a days shopping and dinner. Got there a little early but was no problem as our room was ready. Was clean and tidy, much bigger than i expected as well. Reception staff were very helpful about Edinbrugh as i hadn't been in a few years. After a few drink i overslept the check out time but was no problem and was told to take my time(which was needed ha) Thanks for a lovely stay, will be back

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Needed a room to crash until the next day after a late flight, this hotel was perfect as it's close to the bus links as well as the train station for onward journey, also a very safe area to walk around at any time. Perfectly located for shopping, restaurants, city centre and everything you'd expect as tourist.

Staff was very helpful and cannot be faulted.

The rooms look and feel clean and new enough to be comfortable. I hadn't slept that well as I did not manage to find a duvet, but instead had to cover myself with a bed-sheet plus two scratchy blankets.

The other negatives I have cannot really be changed and these are : no plug next to the beds, no towel radiator, not enough lights and very little natural day light as well.

Maybe breakfast could have been more options/larger? But my meal was tasty in it's own.

Overall, a good place to stay at, but don't bring your loved one on a romantic getaway here.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveleralice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We spent 3 night in this hotel and everything went just fine. Good room, excellent location and a quit night's sleep. Found it on laterooms and paid £250 for the three nights (booking 6 weeks in advance). Wouldn't pay more than that but hey, it's Edinburgh, so busy time before Christmas.
Staff at the hotel were nice and helpful.
Breakfast across the road was good although the staff there were a bit unfriendly.

Room Tip: Room 210 at the back was very quiet at night. It had double bed and an extra bed in a separate room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sirenita1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments
New Town
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
#73 of 151 in Edinburgh
831 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Fountain Court Apartments Royal Garden
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#26 of 151 in Edinburgh
354 reviews
New Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Rose Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frederick House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frederick House Hotel

Address: 42 Frederick Street | Lothian, Edinburgh EH2 1EX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#56 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £65 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Frederick House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to offer you a very warm welcome to both the city of Edinburgh and to our hotel situated amidst the Georgian elegance of Edinburgh’s "New Town", and only a few steps from the world famous Princes Street. A warm friendly welcome awaits you at Frederick House Hotel, your home away from home catering for both the business and leisure traveller. Recently refurbished throughout to a high 4 star standard, our well appointed accommodation offers modern comfort at an affordable price. We look forward to welcoming you to Frederick House and making your stay an enjoyable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Frederick House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frederick Hotel Edinburgh
Frederick House Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing