We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Frederick House Hotel
Ranked #113 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A weekend break”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

A central hotel in Edinburgh, the receptionist was friendly and helpful, the room was well furnished and clean. The only negative was eating in the Café rouge across the street. Food was good, but the service was a bit erratic.

Room Tip: No problems or thing I can suggest to look out for
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan_Jean_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    306
    135
    40
    24
See reviews for
125
220
92
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Frederick House Hotel is on Frederick Street close to George Street and Rose Street. We stayed in Room 308, and it was clean, comfortable and quiet. The room had a TV, tea and coffee. The en-suite was very clean. Breakfast is served across the road in Cafe Rouge. There was a choice of full scottish or variations on scrambled egg, toast, cereal etc. Also you could get 25% off an evening meal there. The hotel is smart and friendly and I would definitely stop there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy_and_Michelle_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Really central so we could walk everywhere in Edinburgh and not feel too far away to come back for a rest before dinner.
Nice, comfortable rooms, and quiet as well... We would hear people go into the room next to us but then silence.
Breakfast isn't special but a cup of coffee and a croissant in the morning before going out was useful, think its only hotel guests in the Cafe Rouge at that time unsurprisingly.
We would definitely recommend it and go back again when we return to Edinburgh

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmzD2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I stayed at the Frederick house hotel for 2 nights during the 6 nations rugby. We booked fairly late but everything was seamless. You have to pay upfront on check in which is unusual but the rooms were well equipped and everything was fine. The hotel is nicely decorated and brilliantly located just be George street. Breakfast is across the road in cafe rouge and makes a nice change although service can be slow but this is indicated at the hotel if you go between 9and 10. I would definitely stay there again and recommend to friends. It is tucked away on the street and was missing a few letters from the hotel name on the sign but don't be put off its a great find!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonTraveller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We have just returned from a fantastic 2 night break at this hotel. The location is good. The hotel was great,check in was smooth, reception staff very helpfull. We only booked this break a week before we went and it was a great price, I didn't expect the room we were given when we arrived! To say we were over the moon is a understatement...the room was a triple room with a seperate area with beautiful views over the city..... much recomeneded hotel!

Room Tip: Room 407 is great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

Didn't expect it because I didn't pay much for my single room.
It's so spacious, clean, and cosy. You can find everything you need in your room, even the iron.
The street it's on is not that busy, but it's still very close to the center and you can walk to everywhere.
The breakfast is in another cafe opposite the hotel, which is also very good.
You just can't point anything wrong even for a picky person.
This night in Edinburgh is my best night of holiday so far.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Anita Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

we have stayed at frederick house a couple of times now and couldn't be happier with the service. Check in runs smooth and the staff are happy to help and make sure your stay is fantastic the hotel is right in the centre very easy access to everything.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stelord85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#18 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
New Town
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
#84 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Fountain Court Apartments Royal Garden
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frederick House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frederick House Hotel

Property: Frederick House Hotel
Address: 42 Frederick Street | Lothian, Edinburgh EH2 1EX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#56 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Frederick House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to offer you a very warm welcome to both the city of Edinburgh and to our hotel situated amidst the Georgian elegance of Edinburgh’s "New Town", and only a few steps from the world famous Princes Street. A warm friendly welcome awaits you at Frederick House Hotel, your home away from home catering for both the business and leisure traveller. Recently refurbished throughout to a high 4 star standard, our well appointed accommodation offers modern comfort at an affordable price. We look forward to welcoming you to Frederick House and making your stay an enjoyable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Frederick House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frederick Hotel Edinburgh
Frederick House Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing