We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Frederick House Hotel
Ranked #108 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Nice quiet clean hotel in excellent location, not the best facilities and restaurant is over road in separate building but somehow seems to add to the personality of the establishment, had a thoroughly enjoyable stay and would certainly recommend.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
Thank theoriginalscrote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (733)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 733 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

My friend and I just spent a week at this nice hotel. A small but quiet place in town. So conveniently located! At first we thought it looked dark and we had to walked up few steps to get to the reception. Then we realised that it was such a nice place to stay in this beautiful city. The receptionist was so friendly and helpful. She provided us all the information we needed for our daily trip, both I town and out side the town. The breakfast in The Rick restaurant just across the street was nice too. We stayed in a room away from the street so it was quiet and the ceiling was high so it made the room comfortable without the air conditioner. We could walk easily to the bus stops and the shops on the Princes Street. And only ten minute walk to The Castle. I do recommend this place if you go to Edinburgh.

Room Tip: Ask for the room away from the street on the back side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Petcharee1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We booked this hotel purely because of it's superb location to the amenities of the city, and were not disappointed, barely a few steps from the bars of Rose Street and a glorious selection of restaurants, it was also perfectly located for the train station and local buses. The room was perfectly adequate, although nothing to shout home about. We were lucky enough to visit Edinburgh on one of the hottest days of the year, and unfortunately, the hotel wasn't equipped with aircon, making for quite a stuffy room, although I suppose this isn't an event they have to plan for very often. Free wifi, luggage storage and a really superb breakfast at Rick's across the road. This hotel served our needs for our quick stopover more than adequately!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank KateL1710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This is a rather dated hotel with limited services.
You have to cross the road & walk down the street to 'Ricks' for a buffet breakfast where the food can be somewhat less than freshly cooked if you attend during the latter period of availabilty.
This together with a very slow single lift & just being handed the key to add & remove stored luggage would lead to my recommendation of selecting another property as being first choice if visiting Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Telboy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here thinking we were going to a 4 star hotel that has been fully refurbished rubbish. The bathroom was lovely looked like it was refurbished recently the bedroom area was grubby with stains on the carpet & on the bed valance the furniture was old & chipped. The windows had dirty grey net curtains. The breakfast was across the road at Ricks cafe was ok the usual sausage egg ect but no bread or rolls!!!! Really I think this hotel is way overpriced and would prefer to stay in a premier inn next time in Edinburgh

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank happytravellers0023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

good location walking distance to anywhere in Edinburgh, staff very friendly and room very cosy wi fi was good as well as everything else would recommend to anyone great little whiskey pub just around the corner

Room Tip: A must if your in Edinburgh
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Randy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I stayed for two nights in this excellently placed hotel. I had to change room after the first night (I didn't have a reservation and asked for one more night in the morning). Both the rooms were clean, tidy, spacious and really comfortable. The staff was very kind, helpful and friendly. The hotel is located in the centre of the city, within a walking distance from everything I needed. Waverley Station is just a few minutes walk by.
Quality/price ratio is great (a total of £ 100 for two nights - breakfast not included) for a city centre hotel with such a good service.
I'd definitely recommend Frederick House Hotel to those who look for a nice place to stay in Auld Reekie for a reasonable price.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank raskolnikov82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Regent House Hotel
Regent House Hotel
#130 of 151 in Edinburgh
25 reviews
Old Town
Holyrood apartHOTEL
Holyrood apartHOTEL
#78 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,058 reviews
New Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Old Town
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
Princes Street and Gardens
The Old Waverley Hotel
The Old Waverley Hotel
#106 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frederick House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frederick House Hotel

Address: 42 Frederick Street | Lothian, Edinburgh EH2 1EX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#55 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £48 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Frederick House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to offer you a very warm welcome to both the city of Edinburgh and to our hotel situated amidst the Georgian elegance of Edinburgh’s "New Town", and only a few steps from the world famous Princes Street. A warm friendly welcome awaits you at Frederick House Hotel, your home away from home catering for both the business and leisure traveller. Recently refurbished throughout to a high 4 star standard, our well appointed accommodation offers modern comfort at an affordable price. We look forward to welcoming you to Frederick House and making your stay an enjoyable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Stayforlong S.L., Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Frederick House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frederick Hotel Edinburgh
Frederick House Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing