We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 star at best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #73 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“2 star at best”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

it was ok for an overnight stay but thats it.staff were friendly and was well organised but the restuarant/breakfast deals were quite dear but thats city prices i suppose.the bad pts were the rooms were small,looked tired and bedding was marked definitly not cleaned right.bathroom was dirty as well.overall ok but would reccomend a better hotel if staying more than 1 night.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidsenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    442
    196
    76
    63
See reviews for
161
436
166
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

This place was super cheap and close to major attractions! You can walk to most things you'd like to see, but a cab ride is super cheap to both the train station and the castle. It's clean and it has all the amenities. Some of the rooms have newer bathrooms...some don't. But in any case, we had an excellent time and slept very well and were super happy here.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaucho v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

The hotel is far from 5*!! Have stayed in better. In need of some attention and updating, thats besides the dirty net curtains unsightly cobs, my room was cold. My advice choose a different hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Hr74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

I booked my room for my overnight stay online with lastminute.com and paid a grand total of £29. I was very happy with what I got for this price.

The hotel features free wi-fi which is accessible in the rooms at a decent bandwidth.

The hotel is five minutes walk to a Tesco. It is about 10-15 minutes stroll to the Royal Mile.

My room was a spacious and clean twin room with a renovated bathroom. It also had a decent sized flat screen television.

The only issue of significant concern during my stay was the heater; the radiator was aged, took a long time to begin working, and even on full power was not enough to combat the chill of a Scottish evening in November.

However, on the whole I was satisfied with this hotel for the price. If I could secure a room for £29 again I would gladly return, albeit with my warm jacket to wear inside.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael255093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

Many pluses for this place-a quick cab ride from the train station(under 5 quid) and easy walking anywhere.There are a few great restos in the area too. The room I had was a single and did the job, single bed, good sized tv, shower only bathroom. Free wifi-a nice plus.
The decor was a bit tired but it was relatively clean.Walls are yes-very thin so bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper. Desk clerks were sort of helpful, didn't go out of their way to make sure everything was to my satisfaction.
Skip the breakfast-it's not worth the trip downstairs, go around the corner for an excellent breakfast at Cafe Marlayne.
I'd give this a 2 1/2 between poor and average

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank touringirrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

I paid for a discounted room (from £95 to £36), via LateRooms. The room was so bad, that I moved to a different hotel, and effectively paid twice.

Room was not in main hotel, but across the street. It was in a run-down house. It was down two flights of stairs (no lift). The door jammed (the couple opposite couldn't lock their door), the window fell in!! The room was basement, with a view of nothing. The carpet was ripped, grimy. I'm not a fussy traveller, but I felt extremely uncomfortable and unsafe. In a dingy basement, with no proper locks, on my own, this wasn't a good place to stay. I left within 5 mins. Management made no attempt to change rooms or refund - definite sense of 'you paid for discount, you don't get the 'nice' rooms'. Awful.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank drboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
here
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

Small room but everything a business traveller needed. Free wifi, big HD tv, just £31 for the night. Plenty of pubs & restaurants within walking distance. Not tried the hotel restaurant. (Next time). Definitely go back because of the price. No frills but no problems.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#84 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#22 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
The Salisbury Hotel
#75 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairn Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairn Hotel Edinburgh

Property: Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 10-18 Windsor Street, Edinburgh EH7 5JR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Leith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairn Hotel Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the lively theatre district of Edinburgh with the old town just minutes away, the Cairn Edinburgh has recently undergone a complete refurbishment to high standard. The hotel offers fantastic accommodation suited for leisure and corporate guests alike easily accessible by rail with the Edinburgh Waverley station only a 10 minute walk away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Lastminute, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cairn Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing