We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #77 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great value”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Our room was comfortable and spacious and a great deal for the price.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weekend_traveler82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    472
    208
    79
    66
See reviews for
174
468
167
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Clean rooms, friendly staff, good value for money. Breakfast was nice and plentiful, easy walk to princes st and main attractions.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison18jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

The hotel was easy to walk to from the train station. Staff were friendly and reception manned 24/7. We booked a double and stayed in a large triple room (double + single), room was clean and the bathroom was very modern with a powerful shower. Decor in the bedroom slightly outdated with a few crack, but nothing major. Perfect for a budget city break. Pre-booked the continental breakfast, at £2 each, nothing fancy but wouldn't have expected anything else

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carluke, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Excellent location for Playhouse theatre. Basic, small room but comfortable and with everything needed. Shower great,lashings of hot water. Good, fresh cooked breakfast - only minor complaint about watered fruit juice. Good bed.

Room Tip: Location off main road so whole area quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lachlan75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eire
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Stayed at the Cairn Hotel this weekend with a pal for a city break in Edinburgh. Location was perfect- quiet street but a very short walk to Playhouse Theatre, clubs, pubs, Vue cinema, and lots of restaurants!
This is a budget hotel & I was perfectly aware of this when I booked so I wasnt expecting the Ritz! Check in was quick & easy. Staff always helpful & polite.
Room was fine-abit small with 2 single beds, flat screen TV, Tea/coffee making facilites (which was much appreciated in the evenings along with the shortbread biscuits!) & ensuite. Shower was excellent- great pressure just give it a few minutes to warm up fully before diving in. We asked for clean towels the following day- this was no problem- I'm sure this would have being done but I did advise that the room didnt need a service just some towels!
I think the rooms could do with a small bit of a re-vamp some fresh paint, new curtains & pillows would go along way! But it was totally fine for a 2/3nt city break. And for what we paid we were both happy enough with the Cairn. I would defo go back to this hotel!

Room Tip: Those visiting Edinburgh should defo visit the Britanna ship down on the docks- what a wonder tour t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank happiest-on-hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, UK
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The Cairn Hotel is about 10 minutes walk away from Princes Street, so the location is fab. It's also close to Waverley Street Station and Edinburgh Bus Station too. The hotel is large and consists of the main hotel building and a smaller annex, which is just over the road. Both buildings are situated on a quiet side street in a lovely part of town, 2 minutes walk away from the Playhouse. Our room was a little old-fashioned, but clean and a very good size - we were given a triple room instead of our booked double. One negative point was that one side of our double bed (2 singles pushed together) sloped a little, but this was easily fixed by folding a couple of toiwels under the mattress!

We didn't eat in the hotel restaurant, but we have heard that it has very good reviews and the menu did appear to be good value. The hotel bar was lovely - small, but Stuart, the night-porter/barman, was extremely friendly and good craic!

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and the location of the hotel was fabulous, as everything was within walking distance. There are a few gay bars nearby which were extremely good fun and there were several other bars and restaurants around the area. (We found Rose Street to be a great night out, with lots of bars and restaurants about 20 minutes walk away from the hotel.)

We would definitely stay here again; the hotel was great and we got a fantastic deal through booking.com, instead of booking direct with the hotel.

Room Tip: Room 28 was a triple room, but one side of the double bed sloped a little - easily remidied by poppi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angellea69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

This was a great place to stay and was situated almost 5 minutes away from the main areas of Edinburgh. Our room was very spacious with modern cupboards, room facilities and a nice big tv !

Would recommend this hotel to anyone who is travelling to Edinburgh and does not want to pay the top hotel prices!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DARREN D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
The Salisbury Hotel
#83 of 149 in Edinburgh
826 reviews
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#38 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
No. 11 Brunswick Street
#35 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,004 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Princes Street and Gardens
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairn Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairn Hotel Edinburgh

Property: Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 10-18 Windsor Street, Edinburgh EH7 5JR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Leith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairn Hotel Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the lively theatre district of Edinburgh with the old town just minutes away, the Cairn Edinburgh has recently undergone a complete refurbishment to high standard. The hotel offers fantastic accommodation suited for leisure and corporate guests alike easily accessible by rail with the Edinburgh Waverley station only a 10 minute walk away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cairn Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing