We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location Hotel - not too expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #82 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Great Location as it was 10 minutes walk from where we had to go and only 20 minutes from the old town. Rooms are comfortable and clean. There was a strange smell in the corridors leading to it though. Staff was ok but nothing too amazing. Breakfast is not including but we did not try it. Overall ok for a few nights.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Remy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

784 - 790 of 1,243 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2012

I had the misfortune of booking 2 double rooms at this hotel, never again ! I have travelled all over the globe and have never experience such poor customer service. The rooms were adequate at best, we paid £5 each for continental breakfast and received extremely poor quality food. Stale pastries, watered down milk etc so don't bother with breakfast. If you intend to drive be very careful where you park, ***be warned***. We were told by the receptionist / manager that there were no parking restrictions on the road outside the hotel at the weekend and ended up with a parking ticket. Despite being told there were no restrictions the Receptionist / Manager and General Manager were extremely offish and denied telling us there were no restrictions. There is no mention in their brochure or website about parking and I'm sure that lots of other people have been caught out. I also overheard 3 ladies complaining about being overcharged for their rooms. In a nutshell don't stay here there are so many other hotels / B&B's in Edinburgh and I will certainly not stay there again

Room Tip: Don't make the mistake of booking this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank oke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We didn't want to spend a lot over a weekend in Edinburgh as we knew we would be out and about and not spend much time in the room. The location is good - short walk to Waverly St and Princes St and the area is safe (I've lived in Edinburgh before). The rooms were clean, the shower had good pressure and the beds were comfy. There is tea/coffee and yummy short bread in the room and it also had a flat screen TV. It is a really good choice if you are looking for a budget hotel in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shodo80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We visited Scotland in 2007 and I must say that we chose a very bad hotel in all respects
Hotel looks nice from the outside, but everything is exactly inside a hotel naopak.This would prefer renamed the hostel because the quality of accommodation is very poor.
Prevails whether Polish community there and obviously you do what does contemporary man prefer
definitely will visit this city again, but this hotel NEVER AGAIN!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Renee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Yes, as reviewed by others the rooms are extremely tiny, however, our rooms 209 and 319 (stayed on different occasions) were clean and bright. The bedding is pristine and the window can be opened although we had to wedge it up.......well, sash windows, eh? Bathroom is very small but there again very clean and with good lighting. Our ground floor room was quieter than upper floor but this room was slightly larger. Overall very good value for money, in a super location in a wonderful city. Didn't take breakfast.

Room Tip: I asked if all rooms were same size and reply was 'yes'. But our upper floor room was defin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunrisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

This hotel is in a great location at the bottom of Calton Hill and is about 15-20mins walking distance to the Palace at Holyrood House and The Royal Mile. It was clean and the staff were friendly enough, however the hotel decor could use a serious overhaul and our first room on the ground floor was very small and smelt rather mouldy (we were able to change rooms and the second room had no such smell). There are no safes in any of the rooms, and when we inquired about a safe place to store our laptops and passports the front desk staff advised us that they could hold our passports for us but that if we had a lock on one of our suitcases we should just store our other valuables in that case in our room which we weren't all that happy about. I think the price is ok for what you get, although it generally doesn't include breakfast, and my husband and I ended up changing accommodations after a couple of nights to a B&B as I felt that for a small increase in price we got much better accommodations that also included breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Our room was comfortable and spacious and a great deal for the price.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weekend_traveler82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#18 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,308 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Regent House Hotel
Regent House Hotel
#130 of 151 in Edinburgh
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
#95 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,239 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairn Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairn Hotel Edinburgh

Address: 10-18 Windsor Street, Edinburgh EH7 5JR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Leith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: £46 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairn Hotel Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the lively theatre district of Edinburgh with the old town just minutes away, the Cairn Edinburgh has recently undergone a complete refurbishment to high standard. The hotel offers fantastic accommodation suited for leisure and corporate guests alike easily accessible by rail with the Edinburgh Waverley station only a 10 minute walk away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Cairn Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing