We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Easy to get to, handy for town” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cairn Hotel Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #72 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Ipswich
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Easy to get to, handy for town”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

12-15mins walk to Princes St (centre of town) on the New Town side. Lots of restaurants on the way between hotel and city centre, so lots of choice without going all the way in.

Hotel itself is fine - bathroom all good (not big, but perfectly functional), bed comfortable, tv good, brand-name shortbread & hot chocolate included on top of usual tea& coffee facilities - both replenished each day. Full wardrobe and desk.

Yes, it's a little old and not shiny-new-modern. The walls are pretty thin, so pray you get nice neighbours (ours were all perfectly quiet- but we could hear when they got in and out of bed... so we were very glad they weren't noisy at all!). But if you get a good deal on this, and make use of reception if you have any problems (we didn't!), you'll be fine! :)

Oh, and they let us use their big storage cupboard all day even after we'd checked out, so we could use our last day there properly and go up the volcano etc without our backpacks!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joday_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    429
    191
    74
    63
See reviews for
154
420
165
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012 via mobile

Myself and a friend stayed in this hotel for 1 night after coming back from a holiday abroad. We booked it as it was cheap and since out flight didnt get in until 12am we just needed a bed for a few hours until our train at 9am. Wasn't expecting much for the price we paid...hotel is really old but it seemed clean enough and the night porter was friendly. Anyway...we left the room to go to the shop 10 minutes after arriving and came back to find our room had been BURGLED! (I know fishy right...we'd only just arrived and left, not many people knew we were there :/) Over £850 worth of our things had been stolen! The burgler had entered quite easily through the window on the ground floor which HAVE NO LOCKS! Just one of those old fashioned catches which is supposed to stop it opening wider than 2 inches...ours obviously didnt work though as the window was wide open! We were then shown another room... the window also opened no problem and our question "does this window lock?" was avoided! The hotel then tried and failed to deny responsibility.If you're staying at this hotel...PLEASE CHECK THE WINDOWS!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Zapp123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

Good points. The hotel is only 10mins walk from Princes St. The beds were comfortable
Bad points. The twin room we had was very small and not the quality on the advert.
When looking for a power socket by the bed I found a rodent poison feeder.
The hotel is generally run down and needs some money spending on it,
but it seems to get by offering reasonable room only rates. Breakfast and
evening meals are available at reasonable prices

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank littlewoodr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

Stayed in this hotel last night. It is in desperate need of upgrading. The facia of the hotel looks very welcoming and modern, when you go in its quite different. The wall coverings, carpets and general decor is very dated - I live in a 100 year old house with antique features, but they could use these features to their advantage. As previously stated the receptionist was welcoming on our arrival - she would be - she's taking your payment. We booked online through bookings.com site, be VERY CAREFUL ours stated we would have bed and full english breakfast, which we had as confirmation on an email - which staff didn't uphold!! We were told that it was an issue we should take up with bookings.com and we would have to pay an extra supplement of £2 per head. Needless to say we didn't pay the extra! When we asked for a complaints form we were told they didn't have any and we had to email the hotel!

The only good point to this hotel was the location for the playhouse - £62 per room for a bed, a mouldy bath/shower and some toast which we had to make ourself!

Customer service obviously isn't a high priority for the management of the Cairn hotel!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmandaS82xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

The cairn hotel is a two star hotel that is in an ideal location, just 300 metres from the Edinburgh Playhouse. My wife and I stayed in room 105 and found it clean and tidy. Tv in room, plenty of tea and coffee and the bathroom was immaculate. We didn't eat in the hotel but the small bar is fine. Would stay again and probably will do the next time we are going to the Playhouse.

Room Tip: Room 105 was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
383 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights. The staffs are helpful and friendly. It is walking distance to princes street and bus, train station.

The hotel is very old. Room is dusty and small. There is mould on the shower wall- not pleasant :(

We stayed there for 5 nights and they didn't change the bed sheets once. Would have been nice to have clean sheets every 3rd day maybe?!?

The wifi signal in the room is fast and strong.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thebudgetbeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

Stayed for one night at the Cairns Hotel in room 26 in the Annexe. It's a triple room with the hardest bed I've ever slept in. I think the floor would have been more comfortable without springs in your back. Shower also not the best as water didn't run away instead filled the shower tray full.
However for £30 per head for two chaps sharing a twin booked a few days out it's cheap and cheerful. As already documented by others this isn't The Ritz but ideal for cheap budget accomation not for a posh weekend away.
I would stay again with mates.

Room Tip: Room 6 in the Annexe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank njd47559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#85 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#26 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket)
Broughton & Calton
Regent House Hotel
Regent House Hotel
#132 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#40 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairn Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairn Hotel Edinburgh

Property: Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 10-18 Windsor Street, Edinburgh EH7 5JR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Leith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairn Hotel Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the lively theatre district of Edinburgh with the old town just minutes away, the Cairn Edinburgh has recently undergone a complete refurbishment to high standard. The hotel offers fantastic accommodation suited for leisure and corporate guests alike easily accessible by rail with the Edinburgh Waverley station only a 10 minute walk away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Cairn Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing