We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #77 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good value and great location”
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Very good value for the location, just off London road so only a few minutes walk from Princes Street.
Lovely bathroom and complimentary toiletries which were renewed every day, hot water at all hours and plenty of it which was great. Tea and coffee facilities which were renewed daily also. Clean and comfy bed.
The staff also were lovely, very friendly.
The only issue really was that the bedroom carpet and walls were grubby and stained and the decor fairly tired, however the room was inexpensive and as I mentioned great location etc so old carpet and decor I think is a very reasonable trade off!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAandM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    472
    208
    79
    66
See reviews for
174
468
167
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

A quick reveiew to say this hotel is very good,nice clean comfy room ,en suite,hot drink facilities in room

Room rate was very good for Edinburgh,location is reasonable for the centre of the city,this is nice old town with a busy shopping street from around the corner .

There is an extra fee for breakfast.

Generally a good stay,heard a few noises from other rooms during the night but was an okay stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misterwoo08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Not a bad hotel, but awfully noisy considering it seemed like such a quiet location. Noisy people in the street outside, noise from fellow guests, right up to 3.30am. Had room 205, which as well as being small and having an unpleasantly stained carpet, is the first room you come to in the hotel, meaning lots of noise from people passing, even from the ones who weren't shouting at each other. The soundproofing between rooms was poor too. And on top of that the bed was hard.

Positives: Tea and coffee facilities fine, room clean, friendly staff, reasonably convenient location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the front, which has a lot of foot traffic going past late at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myjlcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

its nice to stay in a hotel that keeps its heating on. It was a very cold weekend. Bed comfy, furniture worn and decor needs updating, spotless linen and good supply of toiletries. Continental breakfast poor, if we had know before arrival would have upgraded to full breakfast which looked good.
Great location for the city centre.
Friendly and helpful staff

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mazappleyard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

I had the misfortune of having my rooms mixed up with a colleague's when we were putting up here today. While three rooms had been booked - it was stated on the online receipts - only two seemed to register on the system and the receptionists could not find a third room registered under my name. And so the room hunting began, I went to the room registered under my name, but my colleague was in it; it took a while for the receptionist(s) to locate the room that he was supposed to spend the night. The receptionist(s) - there was a young lad and lass - were very apologetic, helpful and cheerful. I was told that they were also new, but such great attitude! I had also left my handbag at the reception in the confusion, and the lass ran up to my room to return it to me with a smile - all things intact! My room is huge and had a high ceiling. Can't wait to wake up in it the next morning!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nan_Eliana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

I'd booked a double room to stay in but when we got to the room (after we eventually found it through all the halls!) I was pleasantly surprised to find we were in a family room - a big double bed with two singles and a nice, recently done up bathroom.

+comfy bed & pillows
+powerful shower
+big enough television with Freeview
+plenty of cupboard space
+tea, coffee, hot chocolate, kettle, shortbread
+shower gel, soap, shower cap
+towels changed, even though we were only there 2 nights

-door/walls were quite thin so quite noisy in the morning with other people and the cleaners
-could do with a bit of paint in the bedroom as a few stains on the wallpaper
-was quite cold during the night, although there was a guide book saying you could get more blankets at reception. I just used another duvet from one of the other beds

We didn't eat at the hotel so can't comment on the food. We did get a drink each in the bar, was just over £7 for a vodka lemonade and a pint of beer.

All in all, the hotel was fine for what we needed it for. It's round the corner from the Omni Centre and Playhouse and about a 10 minute walk to Waverley Station. I booked it on Laterooms so only paid £74 in total but I wouldn't have paid the full amount.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glasgow_ac87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

although the overall price can be considered value for money if the prime need is for a short economic stay.The acomodation was clean warm and comfortable. The general state of decor was tired and worn throughout. The location for city centre is ideal with only a short uphill walk of approximately 7-10 minutes. However my advice is not to pay the £6 for the continental breakfast, on two occasions we went down at 9- 9 30,the main part had virtually gone ( 3 croissant remaining), and one crumpet,a selection of small boxes of cerials,pre-wrapped cheese's,two bowls of fruit and bread to toast with a selection of jams.Either upgrade to a full cooked breakfast ( a further £2 ) or go to any of the many cafes locally and enjoy your own choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colin o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
The Salisbury Hotel
#83 of 149 in Edinburgh
826 reviews
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#38 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
No. 11 Brunswick Street
#35 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,005 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Princes Street and Gardens
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairn Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairn Hotel Edinburgh

Property: Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 10-18 Windsor Street, Edinburgh EH7 5JR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Leith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairn Hotel Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the lively theatre district of Edinburgh with the old town just minutes away, the Cairn Edinburgh has recently undergone a complete refurbishment to high standard. The hotel offers fantastic accommodation suited for leisure and corporate guests alike easily accessible by rail with the Edinburgh Waverley station only a 10 minute walk away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cairn Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing