We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So much potential to be awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #71 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“So much potential to be awesome”
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

We spent two nights at the Cairn in March 2014. We just paid for the basic room, which was £53 per night. The room was tiny - and clearly didn't used to have an ensuite. This has massively reduced the space. The lights on the wall showed that the bed used to be the other way round, and so there was a light literally next to your face (and super bright) and also plug sockets behind the pillow. The beautiful almost floor-to-ceiling window had curtains that didn't meet, and didn't block any light, so by 7am the room was bright as day. Not bad for us as we wanted to be up early but not great if you had hoped for a lay in. Also definitely not good in summer months when you'd be woken by 5am! The decor was dated, and needed a refresh. But generally the room was clean, and pleasant enough. Tea and coffee facilities were provided and some lovely shortbread too. The refurbished (or brand new, perhaps) ensuite was lovely - black and white towels, a powerful shower and thoughtful toiletries - a razor, shower gel, shampoo, even a shoe buffer. The bed was comfortable with a hood quality duvet and soft pillows. The restaurant / bar area is lovely and a good selection of drinks are on offer. The rest of the hotel looks tired, with duct tape on the stairs and a wobbly staircase and lots of scuff marks on the walls. We didn't take advantage of the breakfast. This hotel is a great location, with a lovely complex of restaurants and bars just around the corner (Omni) and St James shopping centre, and only a 10/15 minute walk to Waverley station and The Royal Mile. Overall, this hotel is tired and with some refurbishment could be awesome. The staff were very helpful and friendly, and the whole area was welcoming. It would be 5 stars with some love and attention and better layout of the rooms.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBrakesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    454
    196
    77
    63
See reviews for
165
446
166
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed at the Cairn Hotel for one night first impressions were the hotel needs a bit of TLC I couldn't complain about the price £45.for a double room , the staff are very friendly and efficient at their jobs,just little things let the hotel down like the staircase handrail being loose and the stair carpet having holes in it although they were covered up with duct tape the room was clean but small and we were unable to open the window (old sash type) as it was either broken or had been screwed shut so the room got a little bit stuffy ,we did opt for the hotel continental breakfast which was ok but nothing special the location was fairly good as we were going to the playhouse and it is only a five minute walk away and very handy for a lot of bars and restaurants,also it is only a ten minute walk to Waverley Station and Princes Street

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baty1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Stayed here for one night only. We arrived early and our room was not ready but were allocated another room. The room was not a refurbished room but it was clean and did the job for one night. Plenty of toiletries , tea and coffee even had shortbread. Flat screen tv. This is a great wee find and just round the corner from the playhouse. Bus stop right outside for Portobello. The reception staff were very friendly and the price was great too . Definitely be back.

Room Tip: Try and get a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elamcg150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed here for three nights in February. Great value for money and a good location as only 10 minutes walk from Waverley station and close to the Omni centre for cinema/restaurants etc. However we had issues with our "refurbished room" as the fittings in the bathroom were loose, no mirrors anywhere, limited storage space and one evening/morning we had no hot water due to workmen in the vicinity. The staff displayed indifference to our plight and only offered a shower in a recently vacated (and dirty) room. Only after repeated complaints was an apology and an explanation offered. Still awaiting a response re. a refund!

Room Tip: Beware refurbished rooms as may yet be work in progress.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Stayed here 3 nights in Feb 2014. Lots of ongoing work taking place meaning workmen in stairwell outside our room at 8 each morning! Room pretty small but cheaper than a travel lodge and less than 10 minutes walk from princess st. Plenty of tea coffee shortbread in room. Shower excellent and bed very comfortable.
Never used restaurant, on way to Prince's St we came across "a taste of Italy" great breakfast for 8 pounds including drinks, great service and excellent value.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robbie1965148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel is situated far enough away to fall into cheaper price categories without been completely out of touch from the city. A 10 minute walk from Princess St and you are at the door.

The hotel appears to have a recent renovation with wooden flooring in our room however the layout and amenities on offer leave a lot to be desired. In room 101 (ominous some may say!) where we were the only mirror was the small bathroom one and the tv stuck where a dressing table should have been. There is also a lack of table space to store items.

For under £100 for a long weekend in February there's not much more on offer with the relative comfort this place offered and I would recommend it for the mid-range traveller.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank wandering_huw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights, we only paid about 30 Gbp a night without breakfast. Which was great value much cheaper than getting a private room in a hostel.

Our room was large with a window overlooking a quiet courtyard, Decent size bathroom with toiletries. Coffee and Tea and even short bread!

Everything was clean.

Staff were really friendly and the location is excellent

We were really impressed and would recommend for those looking for value.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank chris h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#84 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#21 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
The Salisbury Hotel
#77 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairn Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairn Hotel Edinburgh

Property: Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 10-18 Windsor Street, Edinburgh EH7 5JR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Leith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairn Hotel Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the lively theatre district of Edinburgh with the old town just minutes away, the Cairn Edinburgh has recently undergone a complete refurbishment to high standard. The hotel offers fantastic accommodation suited for leisure and corporate guests alike easily accessible by rail with the Edinburgh Waverley station only a 10 minute walk away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Lastminute, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cairn Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing