We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly Suprised!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cairn Hotel Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #71 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
West Midlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Suprised!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2009

Myself and my partner booked a room at this hotel because of the price...it was one of the cheapest in the areas, and so we were expecting basic and no frills and we were plesantly suprised.

We booked a double room but ended up with a huge family room, it was clean and tidy and nicely decorated and even had a touch of Scotland with Tartan carpet. It had a great sash window overlooking a courtyard. The bathroom was wonderful, it was very large, and modern with shower and bath and plenty of complimentary soaps, shampoos and shower gels. The room was also well stocked with complimentary teas/coffees/hot chocolates and biscuits.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful and could not fault them at all. The location was good, 10 mins walk from the train station, bus station and Princes Avenue.

The bar is small but perfectly formed and comfortable. We chose not to have breakfast in the hotel so can't comment.

Overall it was a great stay and i would definitely go back to Cairn Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frankie2102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    429
    191
    73
    63
See reviews for
154
419
164
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2009

Got a decent price on laterooms.com (3 nights for a total of £140). This is most definitely a no-frills hotel, but there is absolutely nothing to complain about.

General feel is a little scruffy - reminds me very much of my old University hall of residence. :) I'm in room 214 which is a touch poky, but has a very large and spotless bathroom.

Location is easy walking distance from everything you need, including a large Sainsbury's supermarket (10 min walk East down London road).

Staff are very friendly and helpful.

On the whole, highly recommended as a budget option.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rewbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2009

My wife and I stayed here for two nights and, for the most part, our stay at the Cairn went just fine. The biggest pluses are 1) clean and recently remodeled bathrooms, 2) a good location (close to restaurants and a fairly easy walk to the main tourist attractions), and 3) free wireless. I also appreciated getting, in addition to the typical instant coffees and teas in the room, hot chocolate packets and some biscuits (although these were not restocked in our room the second day).

The staff was helpful--told us how to use the wireless and called an AM cab for us to the train station--but wasn't particularly friendly.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GelEGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2009

I stayed at this hotel when visiting Edinburgh to go to the Military Tattoo. We arrived early and was given the oppurtunity to leave our luggage in a locked room ... great. Then when we returned to check in later in the day we were asked to pay for the room there and then, not simply a swipe of a card and pay on check out.... there was a reason for this. The room was disgusting! The beige carpet was dirty, the bed sheets had seen better days and no washing powder, the bathroom was a joke. To enter the bathroom you had to squeeze yourself between the sink and the toilet so that you could close the door, the towel bath mat was dirty when we exited the shower due to the dirt between the grout on the floor tiles! Luckily we were only there for one night! I would never recommend this hotel. Although breakfast was nice and basic.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Lulu061183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2009

10 min walk from royal mile/princes st. Its a bit of a maze to get to room, with no lift.
We were able to leave our luggage when we went on a 3 day tour. Room was big enough as well as bathroom. Breakfast was great with choice of cereals and hot breakfast, not a buffet, you order what you want and they bring it to you.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JodzDaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2009

Edinburgh was a great city to walk around the hotel was close enough to the city center but not so much that it was loud during the evening. I stayed on the second floor and although it was a bit of a maze getting to the room it was worth it. A nice big window made for great natural light and air.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lozbang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fife
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2009

Location of the hotel is excellent for all amenities in the city centre, altho off the main streets so still quiet.

Reception - friendly,helpful and informative.

Breakfast - newly decorated and clean - excellent breakfast!

Bar - reasonably priced and well stocked.

Our Room - Large and clean with everything you need altho in need of some decoration (we were in the annex building which has yet to be updated)

Will be using hotel again in future.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dawn49042000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#86 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#25 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
West End
Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
Broughton & Calton
Regent House Hotel
Regent House Hotel
#132 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#41 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairn Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairn Hotel Edinburgh

Property: Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 10-18 Windsor Street, Edinburgh EH7 5JR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Leith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairn Hotel Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the lively theatre district of Edinburgh with the old town just minutes away, the Cairn Edinburgh has recently undergone a complete refurbishment to high standard. The hotel offers fantastic accommodation suited for leisure and corporate guests alike easily accessible by rail with the Edinburgh Waverley station only a 10 minute walk away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Cairn Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing