We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Edinburgh hotel visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thistle Edinburgh City Centre, The King James

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thistle Edinburgh City Centre, The King James
Ranked #94 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
432 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Edinburgh hotel visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

A nice clean hotel at a very reasonable price considering its location. The staff are very helpful, the room is a good size and the breakfast is quite sensational. You can access a shopping centre from the third floor. There is car parking in front of the hotel however it is limited to about 7 or 8 cars, but there is a multi storey right around the corner.

Room Tip: Free internet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Dale H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThistleEdinburgh, General Manager at Thistle Edinburgh City Centre, The King James, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us in Thistle Edinburgh, King James.

We are certainly very handy for everything the city centre has to offer, with most things being a short walk away from the hotel, including the St James shopping centre, which as you say, can be directly accessed from our hotel. I am so glad that you found our team to be so friendly and helpful, as we do work hard to try to make everyone feel welcome. The housekeeping team do a great job too, in keeping the rooms clean and well maintained and of course there is free, easy to access, fast wi-fi throughout the whole hotel

We do have only limited parking for about 20 cars at the hotel but we have a good agreement with the John Lewis car park allowing our guests to park for 24 hours for £6; I am pleased to hear that it was beneficial for you.

We have been receiving really great feedback about our breakfast from our guest and to have it described as sensational is praise indeed! Thank you so much for letting us know; we introduced a new breakfast in late January, with more choice including different breads, smoked fish, figs and pancakes as well as many other items, it's nice to hear that you enjoyed it!

Thank you again for your kind words and for taking the time to post a review and we hope to welcome you back to Thistle Edinburgh, King James soon.

Kind regards

Jo

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    373
    606
    340
    92
    50
See reviews for
154
677
69
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Myself & my fiancee stayed here for 1 night, the first night for her away from our Baby. Having both grown up in Edinburgh we were curious to stay in a hotel we had passed so often. It was a good experience overall. Unfortunately we had already made meal plans for the night of our stay & wished we had booked for a second night so we could have had an opportunity to sample the restaurant menu. Certainly if breakfast was anything to go by it would have been worth it. The room was clean but the bathroom was quite small. The only other criticism would be the noise. Facing the front of the hotel it overlooked Leith Street so we expected noise there but unfortunately our room was situated right at the lift so we had to endure the internal hotel traffic as well. That aside it was a very good choice of place to stay for both location & general comfort. It helped our enjoyment of our return to the city we grew up in.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IWT1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThistleEdinburgh, General Manager at Thistle Edinburgh City Centre, The King James, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review about your stay with us in Thistle Edinburgh, King James and for your first night away, baby free, so to speak!

It’s always nice to go back to somewhere that you have thought about visiting for some time; I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience with us. Some of our front facing rooms can be a little nosier than the others which I know you say you expected, but I am sorry that you experienced noise from the hotel guests using the lift too; if we had another room to offer you, we certainly would have tried to rectify this for you.

Our breakfast has been receiving great feedback since we refreshed our offering in January this year, so I am glad you enjoyed it, we have worked hard on offering much more choice and variety, as well as the service. Maybe you can try dinner, the next time you stay with us.

Thank you again for your kind words and we hope to welcome you back to the Thistle Edinburgh, King James soon.

Kind regards

Jo

Jo Parsons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Stayed here 1 March for 1 night for a low key hen night for 12 ! Only 15 mins walk from Waverley Station. Check in was smooth and friendly and we were in our 6 twin rooms,on the same floor, by 1.45. Rooms looked onto Leith Street so had a bit of a view of Calton Hill, a bit noisy, but it is a main road into and out of Princes Street. room was very big, lovely bathroom with over bath shower. Free wi fi. Evening meal was from 7 till 9.45 which was served in the restaurant, we ate at 7.30 which we organised at check in, it was quite busy at that time but we didn't seem to wait long to get served. Food was fabulous and with our dinner, B & B offer, we could have food up to the value of £25 which would have given you 3 courses if you didn't have a steak! Fantastic value for Edinburgh. Didn't hear any noise over night, not even from us hen partiers!!! Breakfast was served from 7 till 11 with everything well presented and everything from cereal, fresh fruits, yogurt, cheese and cold meats and a full cooked if you wanted. Everything was piping hot, and at 10am it was busy but plenty room for all. Check out was 12noon with the offer to leave your bags free of charge. All in all a great, fantastic value stay, thank you.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FeeFife_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThistleEdinburgh, General Manager at Thistle Edinburgh City Centre, The King James, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such positive feedback following your recent stay with us in Thistle Edinburgh, King James.

I was very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our reception team to be friendly and accommodating. The team here at the King James work very hard to ensure our guests feel welcome, so I am pleased that you rooms were allocated all together and that you were pleased with them too.

We have had lots of great feedback about our new breakfast, which we introduced in January with more choice including different breads, smoked fish, figs and pancakes as well as many other items, its nice to hear that you enjoyed it! I was also delighted to hear that you enjoyed dinner with us too and got such value too! We have invested a lot of time in getting the service right in the restaurant, so I am pleased to hear how much you enjoyed the food and service, particularly as it was busy.

We always offer to look after guests’ bags if we can and as you say we also have fabulous, fast, free wi-fi all over the hotel which is always very well received by our guests.

Thank you again for your kind words and for taking the time to post a review and we hope to welcome you and your friends back to Thistle Edinburgh, King James soon.

Kind regards,

Jo

Jo Parsons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
516 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for two nights on a business trip and was allocated room 626, check in was efficient but nothing much more than that. My room was situated towards the rear of the hotel, overlooking some business premises and the bus station. The room was clean enough and roomy. The bathroom was ok but one of the taps had the top of it removed. The overall decor in the room was tired. My evening meal was served in the large bar area which overlooks Leith Street. The windows in the bar are old metal framed and in need of a fresh lick of paint, everything again in the bar, from furnishings and fittings to decor was again tired. I ordered the soup which was ok and the burger and chips which was pretty good. Service was decent. The morning breakfasts were actually the highlight of the stay, this was served in the main restaurant, which again really requires modernisation. The breakfast offered a very good choice of just about everything you could wish and was nice and hot, couldn't fault the breakfast at all. On check out I was incorrectly advised that I had an outstanding bill which was swiftly rectified. A nice touch would have asked if I had enjoyed my stay, but this was not forthcoming. Overall not any better than average, at best

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bordersgeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisVCGM, Manager at Thistle Edinburgh City Centre, The King James, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments, it is very useful for us to learn about our customers' perspectives on our product.
I am pleased to note that you found your room spacious, and that you found our housekeeping standards to be high. We have invested heavily in our breakfast product recently and I'm glad you found this in evidence during your stay.
We are currently reviewing the other areas of our offering, and part of this will be the fittings and furnishings of the hotel, which in places I agree looks dated, although our housekeeping team do a wonderful job of keeping our standards up to scratch. A lot of work and investment has already taken place and we intend to follow this up as we move into the future.
I'm pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay, and I hope that you will return soon to see us.
Kind regards,
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hebburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Just stayed for 2 nights 21st to 23rd Feb 2014 following 5 nights in Rome before travelling back to Newcastle. Location is spot on close to everything. Decor and cleanliness couldn't fault. Free WIFI and no issues connecting. Stayed on 6th floor in a front room. Was not disturbed at all by street noise. Beds are a good size and very comfortable and showers powerful and hot. Plenty of wardrobe and drawer space and a cool ironing centre. Breakfast was varied and plentiful and delicious. Only negative I have is the dining room was exceptionally hot,on the verge of being uncomfortable and on the and morning our friends had to leave breakfast and move to the bar area where tea/coffee and a selection of danishes are served where the room was a lot cooler. Don't get me wrong though I'd rather be a bit warm than cold and it certainly didn't spoil our sta. Check in was so easy and quick and the receptionist exceptionally helpful. Would defo recommend and would stay again. The hotel also has an entrance into the indoor shopping centre behind with a great selection of shops. Got a great deal too in the Thistle January sale, paid £130 for 2 nights B&B.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hazel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThistleEdinburgh, General Manager at Thistle Edinburgh City Centre, The King James, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback following your recent stay with us in Thistle Edinburgh, King James

I was very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our staff to be friendly and accommodating. The team here at the King James work very hard to ensure our guests feel welcome. The reception team have been getting some really positive comments recently, its good to hear that they were helpful and your check in was smooth and quick. I am glad that you were pleased with your room and that everything was in working order and comfortable for you. You really do get the best deals if you book with us directly, using our website, I am glad you took full advantage of this!


We are very central to everything that Edinburgh has to offer and very close to Waverley station as well as the other city transport links. Pubs and restaurants are a stone’s throw away from the hotel, as is Edinburgh Castle, Scott’s Monument and the famous Princes Street. Our hotel is ideal if you want to be a short walk away from most of the city’s attractions. We also have an entrance/exit which opens directly into the St James Shopping Centre, so I am delighted you made full use of that!

I do understand that the dining room can get a bit too warm at times and we really are trying to address this to make sure our guests can enjoy their food comfortably, but I am glad this didn’t spoil your stay with us. We introduced a new breakfast last month and have had lots of great feedback about it. There is much more choice, including different breads, smoked fish, figs and pancakes as well as many other items, its nice to hear that you enjoyed it!


Thank you again for your kind words and for taking the time to post a review and we look forward to welcoming you and your friends back to Thistle Edinburgh, King James soon.

Kind regards

Jo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

This is highly recommended for its location close to Princes Street and the station, with buses running from nearby to everywhere in the city. The hotel building itself is characterless but our room was spacious, clean and comfortable and we got a very good deal. Breakfast was excellent and the breakfast manageress exceptionally friendly and helpful. Surprisingly, the restaurant was closed in the evening and, as we had to eat in one evening because of my broken ankle, we had a bar meal - best described as mediocre and not to be repeated. Apart from that, it was a good choice for a city break.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig D, VCGM at Thistle Edinburgh City Centre, The King James, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us in Thistle Edinburgh, King James.
We are certainly very handy for everything the city centre has to offer, with most things being a short walk away from the hotel! I am so glad that you found our team to be so friendly and helpful, as we do work hard to try to make everyone feel welcome. During quiet evenings we move our dining experience to the bar area, as we feel it offers just as much comfort and a more relaxing experience for guests following recent feedback.

Thank you again for your kind words and we hope to welcome you back to Thistle Edinburgh, King James soon.

Kind regards

Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedlington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a one night stay at the thistle. On arrival we did not expect our room to be available at 11am so just wanted our bags locked away.
The lovely lady actually found 2 rooms available one on the front and one on the back. We opted for the front with a view. The room was lovely just what we needed. Breakfast was perfect too with a good variety. The hotel was quiet and we were not affected by traffic noise. Def be goin back.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank harlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThistleEdinburgh, General Manager at Thistle Edinburgh City Centre, The King James, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback following your recent stay with us in Thistle Edinburgh, King James.

I was very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our reception team to be friendly and accommodating. The team here at the King James work very hard to ensure our guests feel welcome, so I am delighted that they found you rooms as soon as you arrived and that you were pleased with them too.

We have had lots of great feedback about our new breakfast, which we introduced last month with more choice including different breads, smoked fish, figs and pancakes as well as many other items, its nice to hear that you enjoyed it!

Thank you again for your kind words and for taking the time to post a review and we hope to welcome you back to Thistle Edinburgh, King James soon.

Kind regards

Jo

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
#91 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Parliament House Hotel
Parliament House Hotel
#77 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#33 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,173 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
Motel One Edinburgh-Princes
Motel One Edinburgh-Princes
#30 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
New Town
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
#80 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Edinburgh City Centre, The King James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Edinburgh City Centre, The King James

Property: Thistle Edinburgh City Centre, The King James
Address: 107 Leith Street, Edinburgh EH1 3AT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Thistle Edinburgh City Centre, The King James 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King James is located just off Edinburgh’s world-famous Princes Street, and a short walk from the Royal Mile. Whether you’re here for work or pleasure, the Fringe or to see in the New Year, you’re guaranteed a warm Scottish welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Thistle Edinburgh City Centre, The King James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The King James, Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
King James By Thistle Edinburgh
Thistle Edinburgh City Centre, The King James Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing