We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thistle Edinburgh City Centre, The King James
Ranked #94 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Lochwinnoch
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Poor”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

We had booked a deluxe king room which "recently refurbished Deluxe King rooms wihch are more spacious than the Standard rooms. The Deluxe King rooms feature wireless Internet access, comfortable furniture and state of the art LCD TVs, perfect for relaxation after a hard day. In addition, the Deluxe King rooms all have well appointed luxury bathrooms featuring a bath and Power shower as well as a full range of complimentary toiletries"
Refurbished; laminate flooring stuck on as drawer fronts. More scuff marks on the walls than paint. Glass placed on top of a dirty dressing table. Holes in the bedding.
LCD TV; fuzzy channels.
Wifi; could only be found in one corner of the room.
Well appointed luxury
bathrooms; big chip out of bath panel.
The room had certainly not been recently done, very tired & grubby looking. Felt very cheated for the money we had payed.
On the positive side, the room & bathroom was clean. The staff where helpful & friendly. The breakfast was lovely, good
selection of cold & hot food.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cobym84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig D, Manager at Thistle Edinburgh City Centre, The King James, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to offer feedback on your stay. I will have a look into the deluxe room you stayed at and ensure it is at the standard we expect. Our Deluxe rooms are more spacious and have a higher standard of bed to that of our standard option. I apologize that this didn't meet your expectations on this occasion and hope that you would give us an other opportunity to impress in the future.

Kind Regards

Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    373
    606
    340
    92
    50
See reviews for
154
677
69
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is about a 5 min walk from the railway station and is above or a part of a shopping centre complex. It looks nothing special from the outside, and inside it has at some point been very smart. But now it is looking very tired, some of the corridor carpets are getting very thin in the door ways. Some of the decoration has not been done brilliantly.
The room was adequate but I would not have been happy if I had paid the full price shown on the hotel website, as it certainly not worth that amount. The bed was comfortable, some furniture showing its age. The bathroom again adequate but nothing special, the shower could have been a touch better.
The buffet style breakfast was good, the staff I did see were very helpful.

Would I stay again, I'm not sure, if it was on a deal then maybe. But there are so many hotels available in Edinburgh to choose from.

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank BigStuNorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig D, Manager at Thistle Edinburgh City Centre, The King James, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for the recent review of your trip. We are an older property and there are areas we are working to improve over the coming weeks and months ahead. We do offer a great location in Edinburgh city center and what we lack in modernization we hope we more than make up for in character and service.

Thank you for taking the time to write the review, it will help me raise the standards and look at areas that need further improvement.

Kind Regards

Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for the one night in August. The location is great as it's right by the train station. Staff are friendly too. However we had a room at the front and even on the 5th floor the people on the street woke me up 3 times. It's an ok hotel overall but just average.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank chloelewis1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig D, Manager at Thistle Edinburgh City Centre, The King James, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to offer feedback on your stay with us. As you rightly say we are very fortunate with our location as it is close to all the cities attractions. Unfortunately with being right in the city center there can be some noise at the front of the hotel, we do try accommodate guests where we can at the quieter rooms to the back of the hotel. Perhaps if you stay with us again you could request one of these rooms and we will do our best to accommodate you.

Kind Regards

Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina di Carrara, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Everything was perfect. A great care for any aspect of our stay, even for Italian tourists. A special thank to Elena (trainee) for her help. I'm celiac and the waitress during the breakfast helped me with breakfast
We would like to come back in this hotel if we came in Edinburgh

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debora L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig D, Manager at Thistle Edinburgh City Centre, The King James, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for the kind comments regarding your stay, I am glad we met your expectations and you enjoyed your stay with us at the King James. Also thank you for taking the time to praise Elena, I will pass on your regards and know she will be delighted with your comment.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the King James in the near future.

Kind Regards

Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Although only staying for one night but for the price of room paid breakfast was NOT included and would cost £10 per person if you pre-booked! The room wasn't ready when checking in at 4:00 pm and have to wait 5 minutes or so.

However the location is prefect for anyone visiting Edinburgh for sight seeing and shopping.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberto N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig D, Manager at Thistle Edinburgh City Centre, The King James, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Hi Reviewer

Thanks you for the review. Unfortunately not all of our rates include our award winning Breakfast and this should be checked upon booking. I am really sorry that we didn't make your expectations regarding check in, we try our very best to have all our rooms available for 2pm on the day of arrival.

I will look into the reasons for why we didn't achieve this during your stay.

On a positive note I'm glad you found our location to be excellent, and as you rightly said we are close to all the cities major attractions .

Thank you for the feedback it will certainly help me raise the standard within the hotel

Kind Regards

Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Was a bit dubious after reading some of the reviews
However we arrived at 10am and just asked if the hotel could store our bags. The receptionist said our room was ready and we could stay at the back or the front
We chose the back as it was quieter, the room was brill and we had a wonderful stay
Going back we booked a taxis early in the morning which was waiting for us
The hotel is fantastic if you want a central stay and by the way the wifi was fine whenever I did use it

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig D, Manager at Thistle Edinburgh City Centre, The King James, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Hi Reviewer

Thank you for the excellent review. I'm delighted that my team passed your expectations! We try very hard to make every guest stay memorable for the right reasons and really appreciate when this is recognized.

I am so glad you had a great stay and hope you choose the King James in future visits to Edinburgh

Kind Regards

Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
213 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

All that you might want is here. Rooms not huge, but good value and breakfast realistically priced as well. As often with Thistle, friendly service completed the picture. Wifi free. Carpet could do with a little attention and bathroom quite small: if these had been fixed I would have give this an 'Excellent' rating!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ICE-Zugfahrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisVCGM, Manager at Thistle Edinburgh City Centre, The King James, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your review of Thistle Edinburgh, The King James. It's very kind of you to take the time to leave your comments, and I'm sure the team will be delighted to read them. I am pleased that you found our hotel to be good value, we do try hard to ensure this is the case for all of our guests.
Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
#92 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Parliament House Hotel
Parliament House Hotel
#77 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#33 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,161 reviews
New Town
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
#81 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
Motel One Edinburgh-Princes
Motel One Edinburgh-Princes
#30 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Edinburgh City Centre, The King James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Edinburgh City Centre, The King James

Property: Thistle Edinburgh City Centre, The King James
Address: 107 Leith Street, Edinburgh EH1 3AT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Thistle Edinburgh City Centre, The King James 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King James is located just off Edinburgh’s world-famous Princes Street, and a short walk from the Royal Mile. Whether you’re here for work or pleasure, the Fringe or to see in the New Year, you’re guaranteed a warm Scottish welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Thistle Edinburgh City Centre, The King James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The King James, Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
King James By Thistle Edinburgh
Thistle Edinburgh City Centre, The King James Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing