We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Howies Victoria

Howies Victoria
Ranked #162 of 2,448 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$26
Cuisines: European, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Old Town
Description: A 600 year old room built from the very stone that Edinburgh Castle sits upon above. Remarkable atmosphere, intimate, informal, set prices in the heart of medieval Victoria Street. Just off The Grassmarket and The Royal Mile. 3 Minutes walk from Edinburgh Castle, The Scottish National Museum and open for lunch and dinner 7 days a week. Set price menus. Scottish seasonal food. Established 1991. Accept all cards and cash.
Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

The staff in the restaurant were very helpful. Out starter came very promptly. Too often soup is served way too hot, but the leek and potato soup was at just the right temperature. Needed a bit more pepper, but still fine. My main course of Loch Duart salmon was very tasty. They made a mistake with my husband's order. They were very apologetic and offered to do it again, but he chose to eat what was on his pate. He was happy with it and had no complaints. When we went to pay the bill a very generous amount was taken from the bill which they did not have to do, but the gesture was much appreciated. Even although the restaurant was busy we never felt rushed.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sueFife_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    688
    453
    128
    59
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful 80 birthday celebration”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Thank you what a night to remember you made my father feel the star of the show, the staff were great and the food lovely .... Sara you were great thank you

Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
755 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“A Good Restaurant Near The Military Tatoo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

This is a decent restaurant near the Military Tatoo
Food was tasty and service was decent
The restaurant was crowded most likely because of the Tatoo
Probably need to make reservation

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bradyboy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“GREAT FIRST MEAL!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We landed late afternoon and were starving! Following directions to a place we couldn't find, we just picked a place to eat. When we walked in we were told that a group had just sat and it could be a bit of a wait. The wait never happened- Kate was our first of many service staff to accommodate every need - from menu presentations, food and wine reviews and recommendations. For the two of us, we each selected an appetizer and a first and a shared dessert. Everything was really nicely presented and tasted incredible! I am making myself hungry just thinking about it... Ha! Nice selection of wines, reasonable in price for quality. Highly recommend Howie's for an exceptional dinner served by wonderful, attentive staff!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ItalyJustdoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Quick service and a good meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We actually were looking for a quick meal before another fringe show. So when we went we were actually a bit under time pressure. But we were lucky and got a table quickly and although they had to wait a bit before they could take our order we still managed to have a starter and a main in time to get back to the Fringe venue, thanks to the very efficient service. The food was also very good, with the haggis neeps and tatties being a nice traditional taster of Scotland. And for main we had the fish special and some of us went for the lobster. Both was well cooked and seasoned. So I will happily return on my next visit.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Howies Victoria also viewed

 

Been to Howies Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing