We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel I've stayed in for the money I paid!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #87 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best hotel I've stayed in for the money I paid!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

Fantastic hotel! Tucked out the way but close enough to town. Lovely rooms of good size and tasteful decor. All the staff were very helpful. Breakfast was delicious with a good selection. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher S, General Manager at Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 17 March 2013
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your lovely review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and found it to be value for money while still experiencing great service and a good breakfast.

Kind regards

Susie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    449
    395
    145
    43
    18
See reviews for
135
570
40
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

Still renovating but not obvious, ground floor and top floor bedrooms all complete and is finished to quite a high spec. Really nice owner who said they should be completed by May. Comfiest beds I've ever slept on, nice staff who knew what they were doing. Great French tea room next door, close to Haymarket and Lothian Road with Princess Street a nice 20 minute walk away. Will be going back soon. Oh and the breakfasts are great.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher S, General Manager at Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 17 March 2013
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your lovely review and we are glad you enjoyed our comfy beds :) Andrew the owner is always delighted to hear positive feedback as he has put his heart and soul into making Brooks Edinburgh a great place to stay in elegant but comfortable surroundings, and most importantly.... value for money.

Kind regards

Susie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kings Lynn
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

I would totally recommend this hotel for trips to Edinburgh. It is located close to Haymarket station, and is around a pleasant 20 minute walk to the castle (30 minutes to Waverly station). The staff are fantastic - they cannot do enough to please, making tea and coffee (complimentary!), suggesting things to do and being available for general help.
The decor on the ground floor communal areas is outstanding, and the lounge area itself is large and airy but still cosy, with fire roaring every evening. The hotel has a well equipped honesty bar, which is a lovely touch, and a nicely landscaped outdoor area (which it was too cold to really appreciate during our stay).
Breakfast is delicous - clearly effort has gone into sourcing the best ingredients and treating them with care. The haggis was a pleasant surprise - and usually I find scrambed egg is a disappointment on breakfast buffets but it was perfect here! It is also reasonably priced in comparison to other city centre outlets offering breakfast.
The rooms on the 1st floor, where I stayed, have not been refurbished - and they were tired looking but adequate. If the ground floor is anything to go by, they will be fabulous once finished.
If I had to find a fault I would say the shower is a bit underpowered (and this may well be fixed in the refub) but otherwise this was perfect and we will be back!

Room Tip: If possible, get a room on the second or third floor (there is a lift) as these have been refurbishe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher S, Manager at Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 17 March 2013
Good afternoon Ladies,

Thank you for your lovely review and we hope your daughter enjoyed her free breakfast. Please contact the hotel directly for our best rates on your next visit and we look forward to welcoming you back to Brooks Edinburgh.

Kind regards

Susie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

I would strongly reccomend this hotel.. My sister and I were visiting my daughter who is a student, currently working in Edinburgh as part of her university placement. We picked it because it is just around the corner from her apartment. What a gem. The communal rooms are beautifully furnished and the staff are literally wonderful. We had room 107 which is really overdue its refurb. We had to slam the room door hard to get it to shut close enough to lock and the bathroom door could not be shut properly at all. Once the rooms are all refurbished to the standard of those illustrated on the website, this hotel will be unsurpassable. Thank you for your generous and warm hospitality Brooks x.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SuzyC222_59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viana do Castelo, Portugal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

The beds were really comfortable and the room was well equipped, including the bathroom.. The lobby and common rooms were also very friendly, somewhat old-fashioned but in a pleasant way.. A really good choice, considering the price.. In all fairness, I was told the hotel was undergoing a major upgrade, so I'm not sure if the prices will stay the same, but at the time of my stay it was a bargain..

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diogo_Guerra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orsay, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

very good hotel, clean, comfortable, nice staff, 15 minutes to the old town by walk, i'd definitely recommand it
very good quality for a affordable price and 10/15 minutes to the bus station which brings you to the airport

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orion_le_chasseur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

Wow! What a fantastic find! As a professional hotel inspector on an inpromptu stop over (for pleasure) I was eager to see inside and beyond the website in the flesh. A hefty stones throw from Haymarket Train Station and not next to it as advertised on the website, a genuinely warm and friendly greeting awaited myself and my son by Kate at reception who is indeed a credit to the Team. Although we sadly didn't get to stay in one of the newly refurbed rooms on this occassion it was however way after 9pm and it was howling a gale outside so I reluctantly went along with 'check-in' non the less despite being a tad dissappointed. The long overdue tired decor of room 108 'Spey' included bland white heavy scuffed walls, two ikea bedside lamps and ikea malm bedside cabinets. Apart from the small ikea lamps, the compact room was illuminated by just one of the two built in ceiling lights.
The out of place safe on the window ledge required you to pay extra at reception in order to use, however there was many good points... The linen was clean, large fresh towels, adequate tea & coffee making facilities and the electric wall heater worked well although the high pitched buzz was quite annoying at 4am.

The bathroom had everything needed for functionality, however again, it was obvious that it was well overdue for a refurb, missing flush button, shower casing not complete on top of the unit -potential fire hazard.

The 'bathroom' with no bath would be best described as 'compact' and reminded me of an inner cabin shower room on board a struggling ferry company's fleet. The super thin peach toilet paper reinforced this comparrison.

All that said, the new owners who own and operate two other hotels in Bath & Bristol I believe are no doubt aware of this hence refurb'ing the hotel.

My only real gripe was not knowing this when making the reservation over the telephone that evening until we checked in.

Breakfast was served between 08:00-10:00 on the Sunday morning, (by the night porter who doubled up as the breakfast chef) and was buffet style.

The pleasant young female breakfast host wasn't visible when we areived for breakfast but it became apparent that she was preparing tea/coffee for existing guests already sitting down.

The hot breakfast buffet was faultless and eggs were cooked to order along with tea coffee and hot chocolate. Everything else was seamlessly self service and well stocked however, I would have liked to have seen a fruit s bowl selection and pastries perhaps. Maybe something that will be addresses in time.

The decor. The reception, function room(s), lounge and reataurant are faultless. Alot of attention to detail. I hope the bedrooms will match this. Judging by the website gallery, the rooms that have already been refurbed will fit this style i'm sure.

Overall, a pleasant experience and keen to see more on another visit towards easter when i'm informed all work will then be complete.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheMuddyFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#40 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,841 reviews
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#84 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Channings Hotel
#35 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
West End
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
#90 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brooks Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooks Hotel Edinburgh

Property: Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 70 Grove Street, Edinburgh EH3 8AP, Scotland (Formerly Herald House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Brooks Hotel Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Early 20th century Victorian townhouse in Edinburgh city centre; offers convenient budget accommodation for business travellers and tourists. Perfect for groups, 2 minute walk to Edinburgh International Conference Centre & 10 minute walk to Edinburgh Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brooks Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herald Hotel Edinburgh
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing