We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Boutique Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #88 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic Boutique Hotel”
Reviewed 21 February 2013

I stayed at this hotel whilst on Business and wish I had found it earlier. It's a great hotel and the decor is just to die for!
The room are very clean and the staff are very polite and helpful.
It's very close to the Haymarket station but close enough to the City centre.
I would definitely reccommend this hotel

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda20107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher S, General Manager at Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 17 March 2013
Good afternoon,

Thanks for your fantastic review we are glad you found the decor and ambience tasteful and appreciate such a great recommendation, thanks for choosing to stay at Brooks Edinburgh.

Kind regards

Susie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    452
    403
    150
    44
    18
See reviews for
135
579
41
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We stayed a Saturday night in February. Booked with expedia, but it would have been cheaper to book direct with hotel as they were running special offers. I knew where the hotel was so this was the main reason for picking the hotel, location. Very close to Haymarket train station and the West End of Edinburgh. The hotel is going through an update, with all the ground floor completed and some of the bedrooms. The new decor is very classy and we a had a new room which was also nicely decorated. A good quiet room, very clean and had everything we needed. The staff on arrival were very friendly and gave us a tour of the ground floor. We didn't spend much time in the hotel, just to sleep really, but there is a jolly comfortable looking lounge with honesty bar that we didn't use. Breakfast was good, buffet style, just don't leave it too late as there wasn't much left on the cooked front and it didn't get replenished. Would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samclack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher S, General Manager at Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 17 March 2013
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your lovely review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay and found the room to be nice and quiet enabling a good sleep.

Kind regards

Susie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Fantastic hotel! Tucked out the way but close enough to town. Lovely rooms of good size and tasteful decor. All the staff were very helpful. Breakfast was delicious with a good selection. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher S, General Manager at Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 17 March 2013
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your lovely review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and found it to be value for money while still experiencing great service and a good breakfast.

Kind regards

Susie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Still renovating but not obvious, ground floor and top floor bedrooms all complete and is finished to quite a high spec. Really nice owner who said they should be completed by May. Comfiest beds I've ever slept on, nice staff who knew what they were doing. Great French tea room next door, close to Haymarket and Lothian Road with Princess Street a nice 20 minute walk away. Will be going back soon. Oh and the breakfasts are great.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher S, General Manager at Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 17 March 2013
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your lovely review and we are glad you enjoyed our comfy beds :) Andrew the owner is always delighted to hear positive feedback as he has put his heart and soul into making Brooks Edinburgh a great place to stay in elegant but comfortable surroundings, and most importantly.... value for money.

Kind regards

Susie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kings Lynn
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

I would totally recommend this hotel for trips to Edinburgh. It is located close to Haymarket station, and is around a pleasant 20 minute walk to the castle (30 minutes to Waverly station). The staff are fantastic - they cannot do enough to please, making tea and coffee (complimentary!), suggesting things to do and being available for general help.
The decor on the ground floor communal areas is outstanding, and the lounge area itself is large and airy but still cosy, with fire roaring every evening. The hotel has a well equipped honesty bar, which is a lovely touch, and a nicely landscaped outdoor area (which it was too cold to really appreciate during our stay).
Breakfast is delicous - clearly effort has gone into sourcing the best ingredients and treating them with care. The haggis was a pleasant surprise - and usually I find scrambed egg is a disappointment on breakfast buffets but it was perfect here! It is also reasonably priced in comparison to other city centre outlets offering breakfast.
The rooms on the 1st floor, where I stayed, have not been refurbished - and they were tired looking but adequate. If the ground floor is anything to go by, they will be fabulous once finished.
If I had to find a fault I would say the shower is a bit underpowered (and this may well be fixed in the refub) but otherwise this was perfect and we will be back!

Room Tip: If possible, get a room on the second or third floor (there is a lift) as these have been refurbishe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher S, Manager at Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 17 March 2013
Good afternoon Ladies,

Thank you for your lovely review and we hope your daughter enjoyed her free breakfast. Please contact the hotel directly for our best rates on your next visit and we look forward to welcoming you back to Brooks Edinburgh.

Kind regards

Susie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

I would strongly reccomend this hotel.. My sister and I were visiting my daughter who is a student, currently working in Edinburgh as part of her university placement. We picked it because it is just around the corner from her apartment. What a gem. The communal rooms are beautifully furnished and the staff are literally wonderful. We had room 107 which is really overdue its refurb. We had to slam the room door hard to get it to shut close enough to lock and the bathroom door could not be shut properly at all. Once the rooms are all refurbished to the standard of those illustrated on the website, this hotel will be unsurpassable. Thank you for your generous and warm hospitality Brooks x.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SuzyC222_59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viana do Castelo, Portugal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

The beds were really comfortable and the room was well equipped, including the bathroom.. The lobby and common rooms were also very friendly, somewhat old-fashioned but in a pleasant way.. A really good choice, considering the price.. In all fairness, I was told the hotel was undergoing a major upgrade, so I'm not sure if the prices will stay the same, but at the time of my stay it was a bargain..

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diogo_Guerra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#39 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,872 reviews
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#83 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Channings Hotel
#37 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
West End
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
#90 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brooks Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooks Hotel Edinburgh

Property: Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 70 Grove Street, Edinburgh EH3 8AP, Scotland (Formerly Herald House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Brooks Hotel Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Early 20th century Victorian townhouse in Edinburgh city centre; offers convenient budget accommodation for business travellers and tourists. Perfect for groups, 2 minute walk to Edinburgh International Conference Centre & 10 minute walk to Edinburgh Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brooks Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herald Hotel Edinburgh
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing