We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel for city break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #88 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Lochcarron, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely hotel for city break”
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Wonderfully friendly & helpful staff, very nicely refurbished and handy for visiting Edinburgh city centre. We booked last minute so our double room although really clean and cosy was a bit on the small side. Would happily visit this hotel again but go for a larger room. Breakfasts were really nice and service good. Staff were really helpful even to letting us wait in the lounge for ac couple of hours for our train - all with complimentary tea & coffee. Overall excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher S, Owner at Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback we do make sure we share your reviews with all our team who get a buz knowing their smiles and helpfulness don't go unnoticed! We have all different room types from small doubles to family and superior king rooms and would advice to always book as far in advance as possible to get the ideal room for the occasion. We always offer our guests free tea and coffee when there relaxing in the lounge during the day; another way we try and deffirentiate to hotel from the chains and make our guests feel at home. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regard Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    456
    416
    156
    44
    18
See reviews for
140
593
43
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

At only £69 for a new tastefully decorated, en-suite double room, with two amazing breakfasts, i was thinking what is the catch!?!?! turns out there wasnt one! had looked at hotels charging £150-£250 for a saturday night in edinburgh and none of them were a touch on this hotell. Very friendly service and the breakfast was delicious. I'm not somebody who can afford to flash the cash but id happily have paid well over what they are charging. I just couldn't get over what amazing value it was, made my trip. gorgeous boutique hotel

Room Tip: better views at the front of the hotel stairs are noisy so if your a light sleeper ask to be away f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eljbarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher S, Owner at Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Dear Guest, Thanks so much for your review and mentioning you thought we were good value. Although our rates are currently set with an introductory discount we plan to always be great value for money! Thanks again and we hope to welcome you again soon. Kind regards Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

The hotel has been refurbished to an excellent standard,
we were made to feel very welcome,
the staff were very helpfull.
We will return to this hotel in the near future
Many thanks for making our break so enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julie n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher S, Owner at Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your thoughts on our newly referbihed hotel on trip advisor we very much apprechiate your possiive feedback. We aim to make all our guests feel welcome and try to help them during their time in Edinburgh. We hope to see you agian soon. Kind regards Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 March 2013

A very welcoming boutique hotel b&b with friendly staff, recently refurbished rooms and a truly fantastic breakfast. Very relaxing and quiet given its good location. 5-10 walk to get to all the main central attractions of Edinburgh. We'll be booking again soon.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soothscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

This hotel is very impressive,I got a good impression from first calling when I was dealt with by Susie who was very efficient in dealing with my enquirey.I wasnt dissapointed when I arrived as all the staff were very helpful,smiling and very welcoming.
The room was very comtable and although small has everything needed for a good nights sleep. The shower was powerful and everything was very clean.
The lounge has a well stocked honesty bar.
The Scottish breakfast was superb - high quality ingredients and nice staff all led to a very enjoyable stay. Will def use again next time I visit Edinburgh..The locatoion from the Centre is only a few minutes away.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonBoyDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Just returned from this beautiful hotel after a mini break in Edinburgh. My friends and I intend to return to this place time and time again. Our rooms were tastefully decorated , beds very comfortable , service second to none. Manager Kate , made us feel very welcome from our very first moment , she is a credit to the owners. Please don't pass this hotel by , you'll never know what you have missed.

K.Franks Falkirk 01-03/03/13

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kennyandirene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Recently stayed at this beautiful boutique hotel . This hotel is a real gem it's central Edinburgh just a 5 min walk to haymarket. On arrival the staff could not do enough to help even offered a tour of the hotel to see where to go for breakfast etc .I was on a business trip and don't normally sleep properly When away from home but the bed was so comfortable I actually got a full nights rest. The breakfast was great all you could want and more. I will definitely return as my stay was great and could not ask for a better location or service

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katharine Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Haymarket Hub Hotel
Haymarket Hub Hotel
#141 of 148 in Edinburgh
23 reviews
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#83 of 148 in Edinburgh
794 reviews
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#38 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#75 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,143 reviews
West End
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
#95 of 148 in Edinburgh
643 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#21 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brooks Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooks Hotel Edinburgh

Property: Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 70 Grove Street, Edinburgh EH3 8AP, Scotland (Formerly Herald House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Brooks Hotel Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Early 20th century Victorian townhouse in Edinburgh city centre; offers convenient budget accommodation for business travellers and tourists. Perfect for groups, 2 minute walk to Edinburgh International Conference Centre & 10 minute walk to Edinburgh Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Brooks Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herald Hotel Edinburgh
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing