We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great little hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #87 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A great little hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

I want to endorse all the positive things other guests have said. A friend and I booked after reading so many good reviews on Trip Advisor - and we are not disappointed! I'm writing this in the very comfortable stylish lounge which has a very well stocked honesty bar. Breakfast was delicious - we had scrambled eggs with smoked salmon on granary toast. The staff are cheery and kind and the rooms are very nicely done. Ours are not large but the refurbishment is of a high standard, towels are large and fluffy, beds very comfortable. I would say that it is a little further from the centre than we had thought but it was a easy walk from Haymarket Station when we arrived and is definitely a hotel to be warmly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jane504216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    449
    395
    145
    43
    18
See reviews for
135
570
40
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

Was looking for lovely, quiet, and reasonably priced lodging near the EICC (Edinburgh International Conference Center). Found all of these at the Brooks Hotel. Rooms were pleasant, furniture charming, staff helpful. Breakfast included (although not personally a haggis fan, there are other options). It is in walking distance of the conference center as well as the Castle and Royal Mile and the train station. Having large umbrellas available at the front desk was a nice touch and typical of the service. Would definitely recommend it and stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

A great place for a short stay in Edinburgh: friendly and helpful staff, clean room accommodating up to 5 persons (!!), amazing breakfast. Within walking distance (10-15min) to Grassmarket.
Only negative point is the difficulty to park (got a ticket after 5 minutes parking in front), but that's not special to this hotel.
Altogether a great experience, will definitely come back for my next stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christophe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

Just returned today from this lovely hotel which made the short break for our 30th wedding anniversary all the more special. After a slight mix up with the type of room we had booked - which was sorted immediately thanks to carla we were more than happy with our room. Large comfy bed, spotless bedding and large soft towels. I usually have problems sleeping the first night but here I had no problems and didn't hear any noise at all. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Excellent choice at breakfast but if I wanted to be really picky I would have liked a croissant. Tried 3 of the restaurants recommended by the hotel and all were excellent and found this very helpful and much easier than trying to find good places to eat in a strange city.I wouldn't hesitate to recommend staying here if you find yourself in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizMick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

This hotel seem to be a peaceful and tranquil place despite the fact that it is situated at the heart of city center of Edinburgh. Most shops and restaurant are accessible as well as walking distance from Edinburgh Castle . Staff are accommodating and approachable specially Erwin at the reception desk because he managed to accommodate all my wishes and demands, he is highly commendable and knows his stuff which is diplomatically dealing with hotel guest .

Room Tip: Choose the ground floor room with a garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexanderGlasg0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

My friend and I stayed recently at Brooks Edinburgh and we throughly enjoyed it. From the time we arrived we were greeted by a warm welcome. The asian guy has a lovely smile and very helpful. Our room was in the second floor and it was lovely. Newly refurbished rooms. I love the honesty bar in the lounge and it has an access to the garden. Great to relax in the garden when the weather is nice. Definitely we will be coming back. Thanks team for the lovely time we had.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bengie Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

My friends and I stayed in Brooks edinburgh hotel this month and it was really worth it. The rooms are nice and the service was superb. Very friendly staff and very helpful. The rooms are recently refurbished. Ten to 15-minute walk to Princes Street and very close to Haymarket station. Definitely we will come back and recommend to our friends. Keep up the good work guys and see you again when we come up to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#40 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,841 reviews
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#84 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Channings Hotel
#35 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
West End
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
#90 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brooks Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooks Hotel Edinburgh

Property: Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 70 Grove Street, Edinburgh EH3 8AP, Scotland (Formerly Herald House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Brooks Hotel Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Early 20th century Victorian townhouse in Edinburgh city centre; offers convenient budget accommodation for business travellers and tourists. Perfect for groups, 2 minute walk to Edinburgh International Conference Centre & 10 minute walk to Edinburgh Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brooks Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herald Hotel Edinburgh
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing