We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eire”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #89 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Eire”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Had a lovely 3 night stay in Brooks Hotel. Newly refurbished, lovely décor, good balance of old and new furniture which adds character. Bathrooms a bit small but very clean. Good location near Grass Market area and Haymarket station. Very friendly and helpful staff. Great choice for breakfast, suit all diets and tastes. Lots of character, pictures on website don't lie. Ladies, the Nail bar next door a great way to spend an hour or two if you've time to kill between checking out and flight.

Room Tip: Ask for room at the back. May seem like a quite street but seems to get a lot of traffic, even at w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,070 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    452
    404
    152
    44
    18
See reviews for
135
582
41
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in a king-sized room for three nights in June 2013.

It was an extremely difficult task trying to find a reasonably priced hotel in the Edinburgh city centre but it seems with the Brooks Hotel our search was over. The hotel has recently been refurbished to give 'boutique quality at affordable prices' and this it suceeds in. However, as my partner and I encountered a few issues I will go into more detail than I usually would.

For those worried about the location fear not. There is a Tesco Metro just around the corner, less than 5 minutes' walk. Lothian Road, 5 minutes away, hosts a variety of mini-supermarkets, bars and restaurants including several chains such as Nandos and Wagamama. The city centre is about a 10-15 minute walk. However, you can also take the number 22 bus that runs regularly to the city centre (Princes Street) and then Ocean Terminal. A note on Edinburgh buses though: make sure you have correct change!

On to the room itself, we found it clean, stylish and modern; the furnishings were of a high quality. I particularly liked the shower room and the LED mirror; the heated towel rack was a nice touch but no room for a toilet roll holder!

One important thing to note: the rooms do not have air conditioning, heating only. As this is an old, historic building I imagine installing A/C would be a costly and difficult task not to mention possibly taking away some its aesthetic value. Fortunately it was not particularly warm at night-time (9-10C) so we were relatively comfortable with the window open; although for security reasons you cannot open it particularly far.

We did have a couple of issues on arrival. First of all we were expecting a king sized bed, but we were presented with two singles put together. The gentleman on reception said this was 'industry standard' and should have been zipped together with a mattress topper; this was not the case. The former was rectified improving the situation slightly on the second day but no sign of the mattress topper. I have to say though the beds themselves were extremely comfortable; the quality of the bed linen was high also.

Secondly we were only given one shower mat and one hand towel for the two of us; the gentleman on night duty, extremely helpful guy by the way, sorted us out with extra towels when we returned. The hotel guide mentions that towels/linen are only replaced once every three days, although you can request at reception to have them changed. We would have preferred daily changes as standard with the option of towels/linen not being refreshed such as what other hotels do e.g. towels on floor, change please, towels on rack, keep.

At the end of our stay we also noticed that the hotel guide informs guests that there are 'do not disturb' signs on the doors - not so in our room. This would have saved a slightly embarassing situation when housekeeping tried to come in at half past 9!

The door to our room was also quite odd. Most self-closing doors will close quickly at first and then slow down to avoid causing a loud bang on closing. This door got it the other way around, taking a good 30 seconds to shut fully; trying to push it shut faster is difficult and not recommended. Perhaps the mechanism could be adjusted?

The complimentary toiletries present on the first day were four small bottles of shampoo. These were not replenished and on the final night I asked the guy on night duty for some shower gel/shampoo having seen some in the housekeeper's tray. Coincidentally some other guests walking past at the time were also presented with the same situation on arrival.

Breakfast was excellent. Apart from a full, cooked Scottish breakfast they also offered bacon/sausage toasted sandwiches as well as weekly specials. I really liked the freshly baked, home-cooked muffins. Cereal, toast and fruit were also on offer.

We did not have the chance to look much at the lounge or terrace garden, but it seemed like the rest of the hotel to be decorated and furnished to a high and comfortable standard.

So in summary this hotel has some excellent foundations on which to build on, however, there are some inconsistenices that in my opinion need to be rectified. I'm not sure if I would stay here again without the facility of A/C; I think it would depend on the season, which is a crying shame as I loved the hotel. If you are not bothered about A/C then I would recommend as it is surely one of the best value hotels in the city centre.

Room Tip: Phone ahead to request a room with a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tillyhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla B, Owner at Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
thank you for comments the " do not disturb signs" are now up sorry they were not up in time for you and sorry about the no air conditioning we took a decision not to get it becuase its Scotland and normally colder than South of England

Glad you liked the decor breakfast and us the staff thanks again for good comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
115 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We stayed for one night. Just for a change if scenery. Great value. Newly refurbished. Reception check in was smooth. Good location. 5 minutes walk from the cinema. 10 minutes from the city centre. Breakfast was delicious. Friendly service. Honesty bar is an excellent idea.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globaltrott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla B, Owner at Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
thank you for your lovely feedback it makes us v happy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pisa, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2013

I stayed 3 nights at this good value, comfortable hotel. The room was spacious, very clean and shower in bathroom was very modern and clean. There were tea and coffee facilities and hairdryer. The aspect. Of room was looking out to courtyard garden below and views across to the quay and beyond. I was particularly impressed with the inclusive breakfast where the full Scottish breakfast a real tasty bonus. I found all the staff very friendly and helpful. I liked the honesty bar and enjoyed the lounge area to relax in. The hotel was very close to bus routes into the City Centre but a 10 minute walk gets you to the station at Haymarket, for all major routes. The airport link bus was very reasonable price but with the 're-vamp of the station area I was unable to locate easily .

Room Tip: Hotel room very spacious and good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tuscan18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed in the hotel for a couple of days at the end of May and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, with attentive service, good breakfasts with daily specials and comfortable rooms.
There were only three things that I mentioned:
Our room could have been designed slightly better, the bed was right next to the door and didn't have room for two bedside lamps.
The porter could have offered to help my wife with the bags whilst I was off parking the car.
One of the towels had a small hole - quickly rectified by the manager.

Overall a great stay an thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

My boyfriend booked us 1 night here for my birthday and it was fab, we would definitely recommend and come back again! I understand the hotel has recently been refurbished and it seems to have been done to a high standard. It has a contemporary feel to it and even though we had a compact double room it was perfectly adequate for our stay. Nice double bed, tv, kettle and very nice bathroom with power shower, toiletries and towels. My hairdryer broke but this was replaced without question. As mentioned in previous reviews there are certainly some squeeky and wonky floorboards but it is an old building so it has to be expected!

There is a large lounge with access to a courtyard garden with an honesty bar. it was really nice to sit and relax in the lounge after our night in edinburgh.

Breakfast was fab, lots to choose from in the continental section plus a cooked breakfast if you wanted it which was served by a waitress and not buffet style. I had a full scottish breakfast and this was lovely and of a much higher standard than i was expecting.

It is about a 10 minute walk to Princes street and all the shops but we don't mind a bit of a walk so this didn't put us off. There isn't any parking at the hotel and we had to park at the NCP opposite the travel lodge which was £12 for 24 hours, this is about a 5 minute walk away so drop your bags off first if you have lots!

Overall it was a really nice stay, pleasant staff and very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tdcbbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I want to endorse all the positive things other guests have said. A friend and I booked after reading so many good reviews on Trip Advisor - and we are not disappointed! I'm writing this in the very comfortable stylish lounge which has a very well stocked honesty bar. Breakfast was delicious - we had scrambled eggs with smoked salmon on granary toast. The staff are cheery and kind and the rooms are very nicely done. Ours are not large but the refurbishment is of a high standard, towels are large and fluffy, beds very comfortable. I would say that it is a little further from the centre than we had thought but it was a easy walk from Haymarket Station when we arrived and is definitely a hotel to be warmly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jane504216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#39 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,875 reviews
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#84 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Channings Hotel
#37 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
West End
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
#90 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brooks Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooks Hotel Edinburgh

Property: Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 70 Grove Street, Edinburgh EH3 8AP, Scotland (Formerly Herald House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Brooks Hotel Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Early 20th century Victorian townhouse in Edinburgh city centre; offers convenient budget accommodation for business travellers and tourists. Perfect for groups, 2 minute walk to Edinburgh International Conference Centre & 10 minute walk to Edinburgh Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brooks Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herald Hotel Edinburgh
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing