We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value; friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #89 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Good value; friendly staff”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

This is a great value and very close to the action of Edinburgh. All the staff were very friendly, especially Paul, the night deskman. This place is minimalist in many ways but exceptional in cool ways, such as in the "Honesty Bar" on the ground floor where you can pour yourself a drink and relax. The cook is a nice guy and appreciates compliments on his cooking. The breakfast serving staff are often too busy to do the job well so it can take some initiative on your own to get your food.

Room Tip: We got a room facing the courtyard and it was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,070 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    452
    404
    152
    44
    18
See reviews for
135
582
41
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Angus
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

This is one of the best hotel experiences I have had. We stayed to visit the Highland Show. A warm welcome, all staff excellent. Stylish design, spotless rooms, great shower. Great location 10 minute walk to City centre. Highlight of stay is breakfast, fresh local produce, fresh berries on pancakes, best bacon I have tasted. Overall this hotel delivers an authentic 5 star experience should be graded much higher than 3 stars. My new hotel of choice in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caspod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

we were staying at the Brooks for the first time whilst on business for 2 nights in Edinburgh.
after our first night ,we came down and we asked if there was a fan available to put in the room as we were very warm in the night. we were told that they did not have one as it was unusual to be warm in Edinburgh! when we returned that evening and collected our key we were informed there was now a fan in the room. and lo and behold there was ! they had gone and bought a fan that day.
we have stayed in top class hotels throughout the world and none have responded to guest request so quickly and without fuss. this small detail earned our 5 star rating and our return custom.
the staff are excellent and are happy to go the extra mile.
incidentally , the breakfast is very good .

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

The hotel and the location are ok for the price, if you're looking for something not very fancy I'd recomend it. The breakfast is amazing, besides the normal breakfast they have this special options that are just delicious. I'd stay there again no problem and would recomend it. The staff is great as well!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natali222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla B, Owner at Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
thank you for the lovely comments glad you liked your stay the breakfast and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

This hotel oozes character. It is warm, cosy, clean, friendly, helpful. Room perfect. Shower over bath with great water pressure. Thick, soft towels.
Breakfast room with an a la carte menu and simple buffet that includes both toasted and untoasted museli.
A lounge with an honour bar. Restaurants round the corner as well as a Tescos supermarket.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FelixJuno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2013

This hotel was recommended to me by reviews on another website. Going through Edinburgh every month I keep a shortlist of the places to return to, this tops it. It's Fountainbridge location puts you walking distance from town, Grassmarket and Haymarket station. The 24 service is fantastic, the food is fresh and cooked to order (much better than hotels of the same category that preheat). Rooms are comfortable--no view to speak of unfortunately. The Private Patio is ideal in summer/good weather whether you smoke or just like to drink/sit in the open air. An Honesty Bar is provided and stocked with excellent spirits. No hidden charges of any kind: free wifi, coffee and luggage holding. The café next door, Mademoiselle is also excellent.

Room Tip: Book on their website, booking early and late will yield better room rates. Calling ahead, even bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fshussain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla B, Owner at Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
thank you very much for your positive comments very much appreicated hope to see you agian in Edinburgh or Bath or Bristol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry, Ireland
Level Contributor
123 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Stayed here with my sister for two nights at the beginning of June. We are both in our twenties and it is NOT a short walk to the city centre - twenty to 25 minutes at least.

The room was small, basic. Nice TV and the wallpaper was a cool design. However the room was stuffy and the bathroom was incredibly small.

Our room was next to the lift and anytime someone walked out or into the lift, the floorboards in our room would creak. Likewise when anyone walked past our room, we could feel our floorboards sounding.

We left both large towels on the floor to be changed and on our return we saw there were two towels hanging on the radiator. One was new, the other still had tan/make-up marks on it. Shampoo was not replaced, we had to ask for more. Also, as the towel trolley was kept outside our room each day, we noticed that the hotel also stocked containers of conditioning cream and shower gel - these were not given to our room either day, which we thought was strange.

There is no secure lock facility on the inside of the door (i.e. it can be opened from the outside with a key, there is no separate inner lock) and both mornings this caused a problem. We had been busy traveling and wanted a lie-in til breakfast on the first morning, when a maid came into the room (knocked, but didn't wait for a response) and then left when she saw us in bed (we had already awoken with the noisy floorboards). The second morning a maid walked in (no knock/housekeeping call to warn) to see my sister undressing - her bed was right next to the door. This is the most embarrassing scene I have ever witnessed in the hotel. There are no 'do not disturb' signs and no way of preventing housekeeping from entering the room.

I booked this hotel two months in advance and paid £220 for two nights. The week before my arrival I was on Brooks website to see the check-in time and I thought I'd look at their room prices again (because in my mind I thought I'd see how much I had saved by booking in advance). To my surprise the exact same room rate (twin incl. breakfast) was now being advertised for £140. So I emailed the website, told them the price I had discovered and asked them if I could cancel the room I had booked and re-book it using the cheaper rate. Received no reply, but as we were busy traveling around Dundee and Glasgow I didn't check my emails until the day before I got to Brooks. Naturally, of course, the receptionist said it was "impossible" that a room would have been reduced in price closer to the date of arrival and that I must have been mistaken. I persisted and eventually he conceded that it was "unlikely yet possible" that they advertised the room £80 less a week before, thus rewarding last minute customers and financially punishing guests who researched and booked in advance. The receptionist also stated they had not received any correspondence from me in relation to booking the room at the cheaper rate, even when I forwarded the email which clearly detailed my request and the date on which I sent it. I demanded a discount and finally got £30 off the room - in my mind Brooks made £50 very cheekily, by ignoring the email I sent.

Overall, Brooks was not a great place to stay in Edinburgh. I was disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KerryGirl_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla B, Owner at Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Thank you for your comments & for staying. Sorry you did not enjoy your stay , the hotel is 0.6km from the castle which is 10 min walk but if you are going to another part of the city it’s longer. If 0.6km is too long to walk a great bus service is available from outside the hotel for £1.50 The Castle is defined as the city centre as the city was built around it.
The building is old 1840 so some floor boards creek this happens in old buildings,, the keys to the room allow you to lock your door but if you were having trouble we would have showed you sorry. We have a do not disturb sign which means you can tell us if you wish to be left alone. We replace towels every three days as is now industry standard if you wish more we can do it no problem but you have to tell us . We replace the shampoo and shower gel daily during housekeeping sorry if yours was not done. £55 per person per night including breakfast is still £20 under the average rate for Edinburgh hotels I know it’s an expensive city , you are right Glasgow is much cheaper.
There are last minute offers available on our website and it depends on room types available we have small doubles which are cheaper but typically only one person in them for £80 which is what you saw advertised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#39 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,874 reviews
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#84 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Channings Hotel
#37 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
West End
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
#90 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brooks Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooks Hotel Edinburgh

Property: Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 70 Grove Street, Edinburgh EH3 8AP, Scotland (Formerly Herald House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Brooks Hotel Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Early 20th century Victorian townhouse in Edinburgh city centre; offers convenient budget accommodation for business travellers and tourists. Perfect for groups, 2 minute walk to Edinburgh International Conference Centre & 10 minute walk to Edinburgh Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Expedia, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brooks Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herald Hotel Edinburgh
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing