We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #86 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 9 August 2013

My mother and I (She's 61, I'm 26) were looking for a hotel in Edinburgh and this came up on a website.. it looked in a good location from Edinburgh Haymarket Train station so I booked it..and SO glad I did. This is a gem. The rooms & lounge have free WiFi, completely modern and comfortable. The single room is quite small for 2 people, the double was great. I will definitely book this hotel again when going back to Edinburgh. This could be a great one for couples too!
The staff were great & very helpful with anything you wanted to do in the area too.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla B, General Manager at Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much, and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Emma Loane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

953 - 959 of 1,179 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2013

We spent a night here in late July and were very pleased with our room and overall stay (lovely comfy beds). Breakfast was fantastic, not come across such a wide range on offer in a long time.

A couple of areas that could have been better were:

1) the lack of aircon or a fan in the room on a very hot night but I don't suppose they get many of those!

2) no holder for the loo roll

3) could provide better tea/coffee range i.e. cafetiere, fruit tea and biccies

Room Tip: We had a room on the 3rd floor at the rear and did not notice any noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pink_Eeyore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla B, General Manager at Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2013

Thank you for you review. We always strive to exceed our guests expectations and so it is always great to receive feedback from you. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and have taken your points on board, as you rightly point out air-con is very rarely required in Scotland, however fans are something we certainly consider for next summer.
Kind regards
Emma Loane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

The room was stylish, modern & well-appointed, but the view was of an ashlar-ed pillar, beyond which was a building site. We were also disappointed to find that the hotel had no parking - we could find no mention of this on their website. On arrival, we were told that there was an NCP car park (patch of waste ground) half a mile away, where we could buy parking, The option of paying at the hotel or at the car-park was given. Having opted to pay at the car park, no mention was made that paying there would involve twenty-five pounds of change in one's pocket. Using Ringo was an alternative but involved four calls due to a poor signal - it is better and no more expensive (£12 a day) to pay via the hotel.

The breakfast was excellent but cost an additional £8.50 per person - check when you book whether you have the 'room only' option or one where breakfast is included.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 6egemot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla B, General Manager at Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Brooks Hotel. We always welcome all feedback as this allows us to improve upon our service. I am very sorry that you were disappointed by the parking situation. Like many city centre hotels we are not fortunate enough to have our own car park hence no mention of parking on our website. We do however provide discounted parking at the nearest available car park in order to make parking as easy as possible for our guests. I am sorry if the discount was not explained to you clearly and I have passed your feedback on to our team to ensure that this is better explained in future.
With regards to breakfast, we feel that £8.50 is a very reasonable charge for our breakfasts and feedback has in the past always been incredibly positive. We often have offers on our own website with regards to Bed and Breakfast rates and highly recommend making your reservation directly with the hotel to receive these discounts.
Once again thank you for your review and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards
Emma Loane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Very comfortable and well situated small hotel, just what we needed. Staff was very helpful and the breakfast wonderful. The location was also great both towards the city and back in the smaller neighborhood. The courtyard was a welcome addition, and the bar a nice "plus" on a hot day. Bedding maybe a bit hot during the heat wave, but overall comfort was very good, and the modern bath facilities a real plus.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla B, General Manager at Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and will hopefully have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.
Emma Loane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Normally end up booking into a "chain" hotel when up in Edinburgh, but every where was busy when I looked.
Found Brooks with a quick search and couldrecall walking past it a few times.....it is tucked away up a quiet street, and it takes a few glances to realise it is a hotel.
Really pleased that circumstances conspired to make me book Brooks. It is a charming little place. Rooms as well furnished and quiet....this can be a busy area of Edinburgh with traffic noise.
Wifi was poor in my room, but my colleague said his was fine.
The staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly.....especially when I discovered i had left my phone in a local restaurant.
The honesty bar in the lounge was a good way to help us unwind after a busy day.

We didnt eat breakfast in hotel as we had an early meeting, so cant comment on the food. There are also many local cafes to choose from.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimandKate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla B, General Manager at Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2013

Thank you very much for your review, it always lovely to hear such positive comments. I am glad that our staff were able to assist in reuniting you with your phone. We hope to see you again at Brooks.
Kind regards
Emma Loane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Visited Edinburgh for a short city break with my mum - if I was visiting again I'd definitely stay at Brooks Hotel again. Small, stylish, well kept and clean. Customer service was great, really personable staff - great recommendations for food as well!

Great location if you want a bit of peace and quiet but within walking distance of the main streets.

Really glad we decided to have the breakfast included, as it was fantastic. Nice range of food available, lots of fresh, home made products. French Toast or Eggs Florentine highly recommended!
For evening meals you must try the Pho Vietnamese house (5 minute walk away!) - so good we went there two nights in a row!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Stayed here in late June with my girlfriend and my sister. We all really enjoyed it.

The rooms are comfortable, clean and bright. Comfortable beds and very quiet.

The breakfast was amazing--please send along the recipe for the fruit compote. Lots of choices at breakfast and wonderful home made muffins to go along with a heaping cooked breakfast.

The guest lounge, garden and honour bar were part of what gave this place its unique and comfortable character.

Would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cjm562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#84 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,254 reviews
West End
Apex Haymarket Hotel
Apex Haymarket Hotel
#71 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,131 reviews
West End
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
#106 of 151 in Edinburgh
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#97 of 151 in Edinburgh
916 reviews
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#36 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,092 reviews
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
#96 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brooks Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooks Hotel Edinburgh

Address: 70 Grove Street, Edinburgh EH3 8AP, Scotland (Formerly Herald House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: £48 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brooks Hotel Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Early 20th century Victorian townhouse in Edinburgh city centre; offers convenient budget accommodation for business travellers and tourists. Perfect for groups, 2 minute walk to Edinburgh International Conference Centre & 10 minute walk to Edinburgh Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Brooks Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herald Hotel Edinburgh
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing