We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good hotel at good prices”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #87 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very good hotel at good prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Breakfast was excellent I think i was cooked to order Hotel was a bit further from centre.But staff were helpful and and nothing was to much for them.Prices were lower than elsewhere and will be back next year.Rooms were very clean.The hotel had a great atmosphere

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarryMpluss3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla B, General Manager at Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Hello and thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our breakfasts are all prepared and cooked to order as you say, we are very proud of the standard we deliver here with much of our menu being locally sourced and homemade. I look forward to welcoming you back to Brooks next year.
Kind regards

Emma Loane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    449
    395
    145
    43
    18
See reviews for
135
570
40
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Stayed here for a few days in July for my sons graduation. Bedroom was nicely decorated and bed very comfortable. Bathroom was tiny but very well fitted and contained everything we needed, lovely fluffy towels and good quality toiletries.Did hear a little noise from the road but nothing that kept us awake the two nights we stayed there.

Breakfast was very good, plenty of choice and good quality foods on offer. Service was swift on the first morning we had breakfast, not so on the second one, the Spanish waiter seemed to be ignoring us and was serving people who arrived after us. When after waiting for about 20mins for him to take our order we asked him if he could possibly take our order he replied I will be with you in a minute then carried on serving other people. After another ten minutes we were starting to get annoyed and thankfully the owner walked in and we spoke to her about the matter. Carla was lovely, attended to our order straight away and harmony was restored.

Moan over, the rest of the hotel was very comfortable, nice lounge with well stocked honesty bar leading on to a lovely little garden for those who like to sit out in our sometimes lovely weather or in my case to have a fag.

Parking, was a bit worried about this but we got slightly discounted tickets from the hotel and car park was about 5mins away.

Really quite enjoyed my stay here( apart from grumpy waiter ) felt it was something different from the usual chains , paid about £180 for two nights including breakfast which at the time of me booking was very reasonable compared to a lot of hotels in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bunny60Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla B, General Manager at Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you taking the time to post a review of Brooks Hotel. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I do apologise for the issues you experienced during breakfast but am glad to hear that Carla was there to rectify this for you. We have since spent a lot of time training all breakfast staff in order to avoid this situation again. Hopefully we will see you again soon.
Emma Loane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
98 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

I booked this hotel for a week long stay to attend the Edinburgh Fringe festival. Since venues are all over town, it is hard to pick somewhere "central" to stay. I had previously stayed on the other side of town and was interested in exploring a new neighborhood. Ultimately this was an easy enough walk to the general festival area (usually about 20 minutes) and was close to the Traverse Theatre where I had a lot of bookings. The hotel ended up being a mixed bag for me. The room was clean. Free wifi. Safe and secure with a night porter to let you into the building. But the bed was just awful. It was two single mattresses pushed together and they were both saggy. One was god-awful and the other was terrible but manageable so that was the one I slept on. Basically just old and needed to be replaced. It's been a while since I have encountered such a terrible bed and I'm not a picky sleeper. There was also a loud whirring/mechanical sound from outside that I could hear most mornings. It did not wake me but if you are a sensitive sleeper it is something to consider. Although breakfast was included I did not take part in it most mornings. It was very crowded and one morning I did not have time to wait on a table. If you are in a hurry you would need to plan ahead to get into breakfast if you are staying there in August. The breakfast, when I did eat it, was very nice. I think it is cooked to order and that is why it takes so long. But with a busy festival schedule I did not have a lot of extra time to spare. I ended up having a nice cooked breakfast at Loudons Café around the corner. It was so good I went there every day thereafter. In the end this was a serviceable hotel at a reasonable price but with the bed problem and the noise issue I would not stay there again. There are so many properties in Edinburgh there is no reason to settle for this one which is ok but not great.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TallulahB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla B, Owner at Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Brooks sorry you did not like the beds they are brand new as the entire hotel is newly refurbished in May 2013 , Beds in the UK are softer than the USA its a cultural preference , We have 1000 pocket sprung beds which I believe are not available in the States as they are a higher quality but I know its different to home . Sorry you did not have the chance to experience our breakfast during Festival, we served it daily from 8am - 11am as most guests were on holiday and not in a hurry. Our hotel is typically £20 under the average price of hotels in Edinburgh which means you get affordable luxury boutique style on a budget . you are right there are better hotels in terms of luxury but they tend to be £300 a night rather than £100 per night during festival .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

As the Festivals were on in Edinburgh at the time of our stay, we had to look for a hotel slightly further from the centre than we usually stay in due to lack of vacancies and prices being high elsewhere. We paid for a superior room to get more space as the rooms are on the small side in this hotel. The hotel has lovely decor and atmosphere - great shared seating spaces downstairs. We didn't eat breakfast here, but could see that it looked a good standard selection. My only grip about the hotel is that when we checked in, we were given a tiny standard room and I had to phone the guy at the front desk to let him know I had paid for a superior room. We moved our things out of the room to a bigger room on a different floor, (annoying when you're tired) but I somehow felt that it wasn't a genuine mistake. The guy at reception - probably Polish - has the usual courteous detachment of most Eastern Europeans who don't seem to offer the same level of service and warmth as those who come from more prosperous nations, but he made more of an effort after this. We'd stay here again - in a superior room. It takes 15-20 mins to walk to the town centre if you're fit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nitpicking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla B, General Manager at Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to place a review on Trip Advisor. We are very sorry for the genuine error made at the start of your stay, I am pleased to hear however that our front desk team rectified this quickly and efficiently, and you were able to enjoy the rest of your stay with us.
We employ people from all over the world and find that the additional languages and mix of culture adds to the guest experience, especially with so many of our guests travelling from abroad to visit Edinburgh.
It is a shame that you didn’t have the opportunity to sample our breakfasts, we receive many compliments and great reviews in this area and are very proud of the wide range of specials (such as French Toast and Porridge with a dash of Whisky ) we offer – may be next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Excellent breakfasts, but the room is "basic" rather than "minimalist". It's understandable that hotels do not want to needlessly put unused toiletries out all the time (e.g. sewing kits, shoe polish etc), but this hotel didn't even have a hairdryer or wifi in the rooms (although there is wifi at reception) and doesn't stock those "handy" items such as earplugs or shower caps at the reception either. This hotel is located on quite a noisey street, and poor aircon in the rooms means leaving the window open and a noisey night's sleep. Although the breakfasts truly were delicious (esp the muffins), with a choice of dishes and attentive waiting staff, with the wealth of great looking cafes in town to breakfast at, next time, I would opt for a cheaper hotel and spend the money elsewhere.
The shower rooms are quite small, but what IS there, IS good quality - little touches like a soap dispenser, a hook on the door or more space to hang towels would have been good.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at the front if you want a chance of a quiet night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LK1cardiffUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla B, General Manager at Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of us, we find that all guest feedback is invaluable to us.
I am sorry that you felt us to be a little expensive, a great deal of research goes into our rates and we find that we are very competitive with other hotels in Edinburgh. We do provide complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel and hairdryers in all of our rooms, I apologise if you experienced an issue with either of these services during your stay.
We are a city centre hotel and therefore a little traffic noise and other general city noise can be experienced during peak times, if a light sleeper or not used to a central location we will always endeavour to place you in a room at the back of the hotel away from the road.
I am glad that you did enjoy your breakfast.
Kind regards

Emma Loane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

I stayed a Friday and Saturday on a B&B basis with a friend. The hotel is well placed for a 15-20 minute walk to Princes Street and worked really well for our visit to the Edinburgh Tattoo - it was a comfortable and safe walk there and back.

Our room was on the top floor facing the street. We had the window open the first night and there was some noise from the street with people walking past. The second day we left the window open during the day and closed it before retiring and had a better night's sleep. I loved the grey/silver decor in our room and it's always welcome to have a kettle, tea and coffee on hand. The beds were very comfortable and there was even a Fringe programme listing every show.

We loved the breakfasts which were served until 11:00 the days we were there; it was nice not to have to rush in the mornings. The cooked food and homemade muesli were delicious and the serving staff were friendly and attentive. Only downside is that you may have to wait for a table if it's busy.

There's a really nice sitting room with an honesty bar where you just make a note of what you've had. They even had a stock of crisps and chocolate buttons if that's what you fancy.

The young man on the front desk was helpful and printed our boarding passes for our return flights. He also provided us with a map of the city when we first arrived and organised a cab for our trip back to the airport. Check-in and check-out were straight-forward, courteous and efficient. There was a bit of a queue for check-out as everyone decided to leave at the same time, so we waited in comfort in the lounge as we were in no rush.

This hotel is part of a chain that has hotels in Bristol, Dublin and Bath. Although our room wasn't cheap (we were there on a bank holiday weekend with the Tattoo and Fringe happening) I'd consider staying in a Brooks Hotel if I was visiting any of those cities. A truly pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Being so close to the city centre there may be noise from people making their way home after a night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tizkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

I checked in yesterday and I will stay for a week. Since I arrived i am continously nicely surprised by many details you do not expect for a 3* hotel. Personnel is very kind, nice and professional. The room is large enough, nicely decorated, a mixture of classic English with some modern touch, and they have a tea pot with complementary coffe, tea a delicious chocolate!
Breakfast is delicious, i had eggs Benedict that have been so good that I in trouble to decide if tomorrow I order the same or keep on trying the menu ( it all looks so good!). Also deserve to be mentioned their homemade muffins....yammmi!

Room Tip: Breakfast is worth, for 7£, you get a gourmet breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mimi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#40 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,841 reviews
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#84 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Channings Hotel
#35 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
West End
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
#90 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brooks Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooks Hotel Edinburgh

Property: Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 70 Grove Street, Edinburgh EH3 8AP, Scotland (Formerly Herald House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Brooks Hotel Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Early 20th century Victorian townhouse in Edinburgh city centre; offers convenient budget accommodation for business travellers and tourists. Perfect for groups, 2 minute walk to Edinburgh International Conference Centre & 10 minute walk to Edinburgh Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brooks Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herald Hotel Edinburgh
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing