We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
Nearby Hotels
US$329
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$215
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$178
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Murrayfield Hotel and House(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$384
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$247
Waldorf Astoria
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$208
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$849
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$680
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$224
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$202
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,264)
Filter reviews
1,264 results
Traveller rating
533
484
176
49
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
533
484
176
49
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty barbottle of proseccowowcher dealguest loungecity centreeggs benedicthaymarket stationgrove streetnice loungecompact roomlounge arealovely hotelfull scottishminute walkboutique hotellothian roadbreakfast room
Filter
Updating list...
995 - 1,000 of 1,264 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Stayed in Edinburgh over the weekend here. Lovely clean room and bathroom. Breakfast was fantastic and the staff were very kind, friendly, and helpful. Its near Haymarket station and a quick walk into the City Center so either train will get you there. Short walk to Grassmarket for dinner and the rest of old town. Just a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merticuflamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla B, General Manager at Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to place your review. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and will hopefully have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards
Emma Loane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

My husband and I decided to stay here since it seemed convenient to get in and out of the center of the city. We were more than pleasantly surprised by the outstanding service, breakfast and location Brooks had to offer. Breakfast was fantastic from the parfaits, homemade muffins, and hot entree items. Staff even helped prepare continental blast before it opened for the day when we had to leave early. The rooms were a good size with a great shower (stayed in the king room.) The bed was your standard european mattress however i was dissapointed there was not a king size mattress topper to combine the 2 twin beds, only a sheet covered the mattreses. When the weather was rainy or cold we took advantage of the bus many of which stopped a block away. Would recommend if you are looking for a quiet, cozy, friendly spot and on somewhat of a budget.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank e_dibs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights when attending a conference at nearby EICC. Ok the bathroom was small, my room had a view of an external staircase or the nearby student drying green but I loved this hotel. The decor was elegant and understated, the staff were universally friendly and helpful, the breakfasts were excellent, and where these days do you find an honesty bar? The wi-if coverage was also excellent, which is really important to me, and it was lovely and quiet. I used three of recommendations from the places to eat/drink and they were all great and exactly as described. I've stayed in 5 hotels in the last 3 weeks and this was definitely my favourite.
Ok it's a good walk into town, but if you're at the EICC and you're fed up with big chains, I would definitely stay here and I would happily come back again.

Room Tip: I had two friend staying on the third floor and they really liked this.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HelenMNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Brooks was overall a good experience. We arrived there late and they had someone at the reception ready with our room. the elevator was rather tiny, but that is generally expected of European hotels. The room was decent sized. we had a room with 2 beds. Will mention, the bathroom was tiny... even by European standards. was hard to turn around.

The hotel was about a 10 min walk from the castle, and grasslatern square... not a bad walk. Overall it was a good experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelBug6277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We walked to all the major locations from here - the castle and grassmarket within 20 minutes, but even back from Princes Street and Arthur's seat. We had (a very good) breakfast included but passed Bite Me! and Loudons every day which looked great and would be extremely near. Was easy to get to lots of nearby restaurants and Lyceum theatre, there was always a local place to grab a coffee to start all walks with, although the Fountainbridge end of the street felt the safest/busiest to walk along in the evenings.

Rooms were fine. Absolutely huge soft bed. Free Wi-fi. Anti-mist bathroom mirror worked great. Good size shower with non-slip tray. No view as such. Some road noise, but nothing to wake us up. All reception staff were particularly excellent, efficient and very friendly, greeting us on each entrance and exit.

Minor cons that could easily be addressed would be:
* the breakfast room capacity (needs change of layout to smaller tables to accommodate the larger amount of residents - in the end we had to share a table with 2 grumpy residents who resented the intrusion and spoilt our experience)
* the breakfast times seem to differ between reception, the room guide, and the menu
* the room guide includes 10 suggested eateries, 1 of which we found closed down, and the other we couldn't find as the location was later found to be completely different!
* and of course the main issue: no biscuit top-up - just 1 biscuit to cover three days! ;)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews