We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #86 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I think this a great place to stay for a couple of days. It's a relatively short walk into town and there is a very good restaurant called L'Atelier on nearby Morrison Street. The staff were excellent and the breakfast choices and quality also excellent. There is a problem with sound proofing and the cleaners did talk outside the room fairly early in the morning but we were there to visit Edinburgh not to lie in. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hpbeebie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla B, General Manager at Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Hello
Thank you for your review. It was lovely to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. With regards to the housekeeping team, we have had a discussion with them and arranged for them to communicate with each other at a slightly quieter level whilst in the hotel corridors. I do apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused you.
Kind regards
Emma Loane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

885 - 891 of 1,164 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2013

We LOVED Brooks Hotel! We didn't mind that it isn't smack in the center of Edinburgh, its only a short walk to the castle and the center of the city, or you can take a bus and zip right up there in a flash. This hotel is so beautiful! The decor was modern and the bed was BIG and soooo comfortable. The bathroom felt deluxe compared to everywhere else we stayed, and the BREAKFAST! I could go on for hours about the delicious breakfast, but I'll just say--get the traditional Scottish breakfast and try the haggis! It's delicious! We did some research in advance and took the train in and out of HAYMARKET, one stop shy of Edinburgh central (Waverly). Brooks hotel is less than a 5-minute walk from Haymarket station, and when lugging a suitcase across uneven, cobble stone streets, it makes a BIG difference. The next time we are in Edinburgh, we will be booked at Brooks Hotel. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ERoe11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla B, General Manager at Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We were so glad to read about how much you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully will be able to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards

Emma Loane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We had a lovely mid-week two night stay at Brooks Hotel in Edinburgh over half term. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room are all individually designed; we had room 105 which was good sized, cosy and comfortable and cleverly organised so that there is ample storage space. It was at the back of the hotel, overlooking some flats and was very peaceful – you can hear a low level of road traffic noise if the window is open but with it closed it is very quiet. The breakfast was generous and delicious and very reasonably priced – you can opt for continental breakfast at half price with a wide range of breads, cakes, fruit and cereal. The hotel is on the west side of the city and about 20mins walk to the castle and rather further for other tourist attractions but we found its high standard at such a reasonable price outweighed any inconvenience and we enjoyed the walking to and fro. I would definitely recommend this lovely hotel and return myself.

Room Tip: Back rooms could be quieter but double glazing was effective
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoyceC81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla B, General Manager at Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Hello
Thank you for you review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.
Kind regards

Emma Loane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed at the Brooks Hotel for three days in late October and had a great time. The rooms are nice with very comfortable beds. Very modern looking bathrooms and a cozy atmosphere throughout. We particularly enjoyed the common room, which had free wifi and a warm fire, and the included breakfast that was delicious and prepared per order.
The location is fine, just a couple streets over from the main drags and we never felt unsafe. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scarls17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We chose the Brooks Hotel based on great reviews for a 1 night stay before flying out of Edinburgh the next am. The location seemed a bit sketchier than we expected. The lobby was small with a friendly staffer behind an old wooden desk as a check-in counter. It seemed a little on the shabby side to us. The courtyard was nice as was the lounge & honor bar area. We did struggle with the computer down the hall getting our boarding passes to print but the staff was very helpful, & apologetic for the multiple attempts.

Our room was on the 3rd floor, to the right, then right again, down a few halls. We get to a stairwell door & still no room. We went into what appears to be the back stairwell & at the head of the stairs was our room. We thought this too was a bit odd for a room location. It faced other apartments with clothes hanging out of the windows so not exactly scenic. The bed was comfortable enough, the room smallish but comfortable. The bathroom was good. The heat was on & even the floor was hot so maybe we were over a kitchen or laundry. We could only open the windows slightly to cool the room. Being October, this could be a real problem if we were there in the heat of summer. I would rank this hotel more a 2.5 star vs the higher rating on TA & other sites. Just a little to shabby & oddly laid out to be a 3 or 4 star in our opinion.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smileycuteness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla B, Owner at Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you for your review and choosing to stay at Brooks , The hotel was built in 1840 & listed too so that means we can't change the layout and the rooms , similarly the hotel is in the city which means its populated so we do have neighbours , Sorry we can't change the view or the oldness of the hotel its part of the period charm . Edinburgh is an old heritage city.. We sourced local antiques from Edinburgh shops some are very polished up and others a little more rustic its part of shabby chic ! I know not everyone likes it or gets it as modern new furniture is easier to understand our sister hotel in Bristol is modern so you may like it more. The room may have been hot if you left the heating on , the kitchen is not on the third floor but on the ground floore beside the lounge . Hopefully see you again at our sister hotels in Bath or Bristol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Me and my husband recently stayed here for a 2 night stay in Edinburgh. We really enjoyed our stay at Brooks hotel. They were very accommodating and friendly and we would definitely stay there again. The room was small but this was because we chose the COMPACT double bedroom as we were on a budget. This however wasn't a problem because the room was well set out and had everything we needed. The shower was very nice; thoroughly warming us up after a windy day out. The lounge was gorgeous and if we weren't wanting to see so much of Edinburgh we would have spent more time in there, (fire was very nice to warm up to). There is a 15 minute walk to town but this wasn't a problem as there were lots of lovely pubs/cafes/shops on the way to keep it interesting. If you're wanting to see Edinburgh and then retreat to somewhere very relaxing then I would come here.

Room Tip: Unless you are somebody that needs a lot of space I would advise booking the compact room as it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JadeHodson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Good Hotel, great breakfast. friendly staff and very relaxed atmosphere, they moved rooms for us when requested with no problems, night receptionist Paul was a true gent. A 10 minute walk in city centre. The bar and sitting room downstairs had an great and friendly atmosphere and i really felt at home.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eddie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#82 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,243 reviews
West End
Apex Haymarket Hotel
Apex Haymarket Hotel
#69 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,109 reviews
Corstorphine
The White Lady
The White Lady
#43 of 151 in Edinburgh
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
#95 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,239 reviews
West End
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
#67 of 151 in Edinburgh
626 reviews
New Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brooks Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooks Hotel Edinburgh

Address: 70 Grove Street, Edinburgh EH3 8AP, Scotland (Formerly Herald House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: £61 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brooks Hotel Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Early 20th century Victorian townhouse in Edinburgh city centre; offers convenient budget accommodation for business travellers and tourists. Perfect for groups, 2 minute walk to Edinburgh International Conference Centre & 10 minute walk to Edinburgh Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Brooks Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herald Hotel Edinburgh
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing