We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
Nearby Hotels
US$321
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$332
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$273
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$249
Waldorf Astoria
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
HotelIndigo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$613
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Murrayfield Hotel and House(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$242
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$211
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,264)
Filter reviews
1,264 results
Traveller rating
533
484
176
49
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
533
484
176
49
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty barbottle of proseccowowcher dealguest loungecity centreeggs benedicthaymarket stationgrove streetnice loungecompact roomlounge arealovely hotelfull scottishminute walkboutique hotellothian roadbreakfast room
Filter
Updating list...
964 - 969 of 1,264 reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2013

A beautifully decorated hotel in muted shades of grey, welcoming staff especially David on reception, and a beautifully appointed sitting room where one could sit in comfort, flicking through glossy magazines and sipping whatever you fancied from the small but well-stocked honesty bar.

Bedrooms were comfortable with great showers and lots of Fairtrade tea, coffee and hot chocolate.

Breakfast at a very reasonable seven pounds was delicious; I had eggs Benedict followed by homemade banana muffins on one morning and the full Scottish on another, all beautifully fresh and well-flavoured and guaranteed to keep you sustained for walks through glorious Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulaGalvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla B, General Manager at Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted to hear that you rate our breakfasts so highly. This is an area in which we place a lot of effort and thought, it is of course the most important meal of the day, so lovely to hear that we are doing well.
I do hope that we will see you again in the future.

Kind regards
Emma Loane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We had a great experience at the Brooks hotel from start to finish. We were greeted by the smell of a real christmas tree in the hotel lobby, no fakery here! The staff went out of their way to help us throughout the duration of our stay.

The comfy bed was very welcome after a long day walking the christmas markets of Edinburgh, as was the shortbread provided with the room's tea and coffee facilities. We planned to go out for breakfast, but caught a glimpse of the breakfasts cooked at the hotel, and changed our minds! Quite simply the best selection of delicious offerings i have seen in any hotel, miss the Brooks breakfast at your peril!

Wonderful place, we will be staying here again on our next trip to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernard247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla B, General Manager at Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and particularly glad to hear about your decision to join us for breakfast! We are very proud of the breakfasts we serve and it is lovely to hear when we are doing well.
I hope to see you again at Brooks Edinburgh.
Kind regards

Emma Loane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed with a group of friends last weekend and everyone loved this place. Cool deco, delicious breakfast - especially the hagus black pudding, very useful honesty bar, comfy bed, really nice staff and Edinburgh is a fantastic town.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank mooregerard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla B, General Manager at Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Thank you very much for you lovely review, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay here at Brooks and your visit to Edinburgh.
Looking forward to welcoming you all back in the future.

Kind regards

Emma Loane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Have just returned home after staying at this friendly and welcoming hotel. I started my stay with 2 friends but unfortunately due to falling and breaking her arm badly one of my friends had to go home less than 24 hours after arriving. The staff were extremely helpful and concerned in assisting where they could with making her short stay as comfortable as possible.

As well as the rooms being very clean and comfortable, the lounge area and breakfast room are extremely clean and welcoming. The honesty bar in the lounge was a very welcome sight at the end of the day!

The hotel is approx 10 minute walk away from Grassmarket and 15 minutes from Royal Mile. But if you are not up for the walk then the number 35 bus route is approx 400 metres away from the hotel and runs all the way from the Airport down the Royal Mile out to Ocean Terminal.

If I get the opportunity to visit this lovely vibrant friendly city again - I know exactly where I want to stay - Brooks Hotel, Grove Street.

Hope to see you all again some time!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 9Lisa21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla B, General Manager at Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Hello

Thank you for taking the time to place a review of us on Trip Advisor. I am so glad that you managed to enjoy your stay despite your friends accident. I do hope that she is recovering quickly and starting to feel better now, it was such a shame. Thank you very much for your lovely review and kind words and I look forward to welcoming you all back to Brooks in the future.

Kind regards

Emma Loane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

We decided to stay here for a weekend in Edinburgh, we wanted a comfortable room within walking distance of the city centre and it was ideal.

We got the train to Haymarket and it was a short walk to the hotel.

The room was fairly compact but this was mentioned on the booking info so we couldn't complain. The room was nicely finished, very clean with a modern en suite shower room.

We stayed on a room only basis but opted for the breakfast as the choice was good and we enjoyed it very much.

The staff were extremely attentive and made it a very pleasant stay.

The only negatives were minor:

- on the first night, we slept with the window open and it was noisy at times but it is the city centre after all. The second night, the window was closed and we slept very well.

- there was a knock on the door from housekeeping at 8.40am which for a weekend was earlier than we would have liked. Having said that, we perhaps should have put up the 'do not disturb' sign. However, there was nothing to hang it on.

- the guest sitting room with honesty bar is lovely but some background music would have been good as people felt that they had to speak quietly when other guests were there.

Overall, a very good stay and we will definitely return.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank billyridley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla B, General Manager at Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of us on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are currently looking into hooks for the doors so that the 'do not disturb' signs can be hung effectively. I apologise for housekeeping knocking on your door so early in the morning and will feed your comments back to them to ensure that this doesn't happen again. With regards to music in the background, we do usually have this and I will discuss this with the staff to ensure that it is always playing. I am glad to see that you would highly recommend us and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Kind regards

Emma Loane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews