We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #88 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stylish boutique hotel”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Just spent 3 nights in Brooks Hotel..1st - 4th January ...small stylish hotel, modern decor with lovely quirky pieces of furniture throughout the public spaces. Stayed in king size room, comfy bed and nice quality bedding, small well equipped bathroom and again attractive furniture. Hospitality tray with kettle and the usual teas and coffee..everywhere spotlessly clean..
The breakfast room again really attractive to sit in, nice choices for continental breakfast, healthy and fresh homemade items fruit compote and granola - staff all really friendly, efficient and helpful..chef specials and full Scottish cooked breakfast just terrific..
There is parking nearby, it's a short walk into the centre of town, 10 - 15 mins onto Princes Street...
Would definitely recommend the hotel and would happily stay there again..

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla B, General Manager at Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of us, it is much appreciated. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards

Emma Loane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    456
    416
    156
    44
    18
See reviews for
140
593
43
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Just spent 3 nights at Brooks Hotel for Hogmanay. Our room with twin beds were fine with two a little small beds, but with real duvets, a nice shower bathroom, tray with coffee, tea, cocao and a boiler. Heating can be regulated. Cleaning really fine.
Breakfast really good. Buffet with lots of homemade foods, and a variety of e.g. full Scottish breakfast with haggis, eggs florintine ...yummy ... , fresh fruits, yougurt, so you can make a healthy choice.
There is a room with a fireplace and an open bar. Very nice.
All staff are friendly and very nice. We felt at home.
The hotel is a 7-minutes' walk from Haymarket Station where the Lothian Express Bus for the airport runs every 10 minutes and takes 20 minutes.
You can also walk to both Grassmarket og Princes Street in 10 minutes. The area is a little dull, but in Morrison Street just 5 minutes from the hotel you can find a lovely restaurant The Atelier. Very recommendable.
We paid app 425 pounds for the room for three nights with breakfast and booked directly at the hotel.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MarianneRosendal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla B, Front Office Manager at Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you very much for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future.
Kind regards

Emma Loane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Brooks Hotel is a lovely quirky hotel with very pleasant staff.
We came for my boyfriends Birthday to Edinburgh & chose Brooks due to the positive comments on here and we were not disappointed.
We both had a very pleasant sleep and breakfast was fantastic!!!!! It is about a 15 minute walk into Edinburgh centre, but this was fine for us. The hotel and room was exceptionally clean, could not fault it.
The only reason I have given Brooks a 4 star and not 5 is because of the size of our room. It was tiny, exceptionally small indeed and for the price I was particularly shocked at this. Also at breakfast on our second day we were unable to sit for sometime as there wasn't enough space, we ended up going into the sitting room which was rather uncomfortable.
Other than that, it was a very pleasant stay & we loved Edinburgh!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazboz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla B, General Manager at Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you for you review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and found all of our staff friendly. We do pride ourselves on our standards of customer service and it is always lovely to hear when we are doing well.
With regards to the size of your bedroom we do have a few different room types, our compact doubles are our smallest rooms and as advertised, are compact. These rooms are primarily for single use, or are very competitively priced when used as a double and the price tag of staying in the city centre. We do ensure that there is only a small price increase of no more than £10 to upgrade between our room types and large Standard, King or Family rooms are available for a minimal additional cost, perfect those wishing to spend more time in their room or with a little more luggage.
I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards

Emma Loane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Brooks is a really lovely little hotel and we will definitely stay there again!

- Really friendly staff; we were new to edinburgh and they helped us decide where to go and how best to get there.

- Beautiful room; very clean and comfortable. Great nights sleep and lovely shower. Nice touch with the ipod dock in each room.

- Really tasty breakfast. Good value for money as theres a wide range of things to choose.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla B, General Manager at Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you for your review.
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future.
Kind regards

Emma Loane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely stay, beautiful home made breakfasts, excellent choices. Honesty bar in front of the fire was so luxurious. Nice decor in rooms, I had a king room which was on the small side but perfect for me and had more than I needed. Small shower room but water pressure amazing for a hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful. A good value little boutique hotel with lots to offer. Short walk from Princes St too so ideal for city break stay.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ruth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla B, General Manager at Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you for your review. It was lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards

Emma Loane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend away for my husbands birthday after choosing it based on the reviews I had read in various places. When we arrived we were pleasantly surprised at how lovely grad hotel was. It definitely lived up to its description as a 'boutique' hotel. The rooms were on the smaller side but as we were only there for a weekend it wasn't an issue we never spend much time in the rooms whilst away on city breaks. On arrival there was a little glass jar of hand made cookies which was a lovely touch. The staff were super friendly which seems to be a rarity in a lot of hotels, they took the time to talk to yo us you left/ arrived back at the hotel and were more than happy to help with directions, places to go etc.
Breakfast was amazing although on the 2nd morning was a little bit chaotic. People were been turned away as there were no where near enough tables and the service was VERY slow. I thought we'd been forgotten about it took that long! This was only on the Sunday morn though so maybe everyone gets up later then after a heavy night! This was my only negative though and if certainly didn't ruin our stay. We would definitely return to the brooks if we were to go back to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iyesha21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla B, General Manager at Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of us.
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. I do apologise for any delays you may have experienced at breakfast on the Sunday, it was a situation where the entire hotel came down at the same time, we are able to seat approx. 50 people at a time, however we did have ask some people to wait in order to space orders out for the kitchen to avoid further delays for those who had already ordered. As all of our food is cooked to order a rush as large as this can cause delays in the kitchen. We have now implemented a slightly different system in order to avoid such delays in the future.
I do hope that we will see you again soon.
Kind regards

Emma Loane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupar
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Just the one night for my wife and i to catch up with friends and do a bit of shipping! Very attentive and pleasent welcome! Very relaxed feel to the place, should have made more use of the lovely guest lounge. The room was nice, good shower etc no biscuits though! Overall good value for money.Would stay again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McSwanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla B, General Manager at Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you very much for your review.
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
My apologies for the lack of biscuits in your room. We do usually put homemade biscuits into all of our rooms. I shall discuss this oversight with our Housekeeping team to ensure that this doesn't happen again.
I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.
Kind regards
Emma Loane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Haymarket Hub Hotel
Haymarket Hub Hotel
#141 of 148 in Edinburgh
18 reviews
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#83 of 148 in Edinburgh
793 reviews
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#39 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#75 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,143 reviews
West End
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
#95 of 148 in Edinburgh
643 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#21 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brooks Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooks Hotel Edinburgh

Property: Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 70 Grove Street, Edinburgh EH3 8AP, Scotland (Formerly Herald House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Brooks Hotel Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Early 20th century Victorian townhouse in Edinburgh city centre; offers convenient budget accommodation for business travellers and tourists. Perfect for groups, 2 minute walk to Edinburgh International Conference Centre & 10 minute walk to Edinburgh Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brooks Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herald Hotel Edinburgh
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing