We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely Edinburgh hideaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #87 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely Edinburgh hideaway”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We spent two nights at Brooks Hotel in Edinburgh - a lovely place to stay in Edinburgh, with a comfy lounge with a roaring fire. A good base to explore the City, close to the centre, and really welcoming service.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pradachica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla B, General Manager at Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of us on Trip Advisor, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards

Emma Loane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    452
    401
    150
    44
    18
See reviews for
135
577
41
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

The staff were lovely, food was great, location good but travelling half way around the world from Australia we needed to keep in touch with work/home. The internet was either completely non functional or more or less non functional. WiFi is one of the reason we chose this hotel, so we were very disappointed when it was not available. We would come back, but only if we didn't need to keep in touch with house and pet sitters, etc.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brisfoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla B, General Manager at Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Hello, thank you for your review. I do apologise for the issues you experienced with the wifi, as explained at the time we were the victims of a terrible virus which took our IT team a few days to clear up. Due to this virus our supplier temporarily disconnected us from the internet in order to stop the virus from spreading further. Our internet was fixed as promptly as possible and I am very sorry that this affected your stay with us. I do hope that we will see you again in the future, our internet is usually very reliable.
Kind regards

Emma Loane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lier, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We had a very pleasant stay at this lovely hotel. The staff were extremely courteous and very helpful. We had asked for a quiet room as my girlfriend was heavily pregnant and that was exactly what we got. The rooms are nicely decorated and the lounge is cosy and charming. There is an air of informality about the place and you are treated as a friend, rather than a customer. Breakfast was very nice and you can see the cook in action behind a glass wall. The hotel is ideally situated, not far from the centre and the bus stop to the airport, yet still in a fairly quiet part of the town. We were charmed by Edinburgh and the Hogmanay celebrations and will definitely return. I already know which hotel to book! This was my first ever review on Trip Advisor, but we were really bowled over by the place. Keep up the good work!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BBBogaerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla B, General Manager at Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review on us. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you both (and baby) back to Brooks Edinburgh.
Kind regards

Emma Loane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights over new year and had a fab time. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk to the city centre passing some lovely little shops on the way so you have the benefit of being slightly away from the hustle of the city. The room we had was quite small but beautifully decorated as is the hotel. Be sure to make use of the lounge where you will find a well stocked honesty bar and a real fire with comfy sofas. Breakfast is 10 out of 10 recommend the full Scottish with haggis and the marmalade cake. Don't hesitate to book this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla B, General Manager at Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards

Emma Loane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Just returned from 3 nights at Brooks Hotel and pleased to say it was fantastic as expected. The staff were generally very friendly and helpful, there was always someone on reception. The room was fine, we were lucky enough to get a big king size bed and the room was spacious. The view was not great but we were not there for the view. The decoration of the room was lovely, with great bedding and a great little bathroom. It was a little cold on arrival but reception sorted that out quickly for us. It was nice to get the White House complimentary products in the bathroom. The communal areas downstairs were stunning, we loved chilling in the beautifully decorated lounge. The honesty bar was a nice touch too. The breakfasts were not included in our rate but we paid for it every day as it was fantastic, definitely go for the full Scottish Breakfast. I would not hesitate to stay here again. It was a 20 minute walk to Princes Street which is great on a nice quiet street. The hotel also went out of their way to organise a well priced cab for us to the airport.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenandRob2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla B, General Manager at Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of us. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I do hope we will see you again in the future.
Kind regards

Emma Loane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Just spent 3 nights in Brooks Hotel..1st - 4th January ...small stylish hotel, modern decor with lovely quirky pieces of furniture throughout the public spaces. Stayed in king size room, comfy bed and nice quality bedding, small well equipped bathroom and again attractive furniture. Hospitality tray with kettle and the usual teas and coffee..everywhere spotlessly clean..
The breakfast room again really attractive to sit in, nice choices for continental breakfast, healthy and fresh homemade items fruit compote and granola - staff all really friendly, efficient and helpful..chef specials and full Scottish cooked breakfast just terrific..
There is parking nearby, it's a short walk into the centre of town, 10 - 15 mins onto Princes Street...
Would definitely recommend the hotel and would happily stay there again..

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla B, General Manager at Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of us, it is much appreciated. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards

Emma Loane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Just spent 3 nights at Brooks Hotel for Hogmanay. Our room with twin beds were fine with two a little small beds, but with real duvets, a nice shower bathroom, tray with coffee, tea, cocao and a boiler. Heating can be regulated. Cleaning really fine.
Breakfast really good. Buffet with lots of homemade foods, and a variety of e.g. full Scottish breakfast with haggis, eggs florintine ...yummy ... , fresh fruits, yougurt, so you can make a healthy choice.
There is a room with a fireplace and an open bar. Very nice.
All staff are friendly and very nice. We felt at home.
The hotel is a 7-minutes' walk from Haymarket Station where the Lothian Express Bus for the airport runs every 10 minutes and takes 20 minutes.
You can also walk to both Grassmarket og Princes Street in 10 minutes. The area is a little dull, but in Morrison Street just 5 minutes from the hotel you can find a lovely restaurant The Atelier. Very recommendable.
We paid app 425 pounds for the room for three nights with breakfast and booked directly at the hotel.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MarianneRosendal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla B, Front Office Manager at Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you very much for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future.
Kind regards

Emma Loane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#39 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,872 reviews
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#82 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Channings Hotel
#37 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,253 reviews
West End
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
#89 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brooks Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooks Hotel Edinburgh

Property: Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 70 Grove Street, Edinburgh EH3 8AP, Scotland (Formerly Herald House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Brooks Hotel Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Early 20th century Victorian townhouse in Edinburgh city centre; offers convenient budget accommodation for business travellers and tourists. Perfect for groups, 2 minute walk to Edinburgh International Conference Centre & 10 minute walk to Edinburgh Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brooks Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herald Hotel Edinburgh
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing