We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real gem in Edinburgh” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brooks Hotel Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #86 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Staffs
Level Contributor
240 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“A real gem in Edinburgh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

My husband and I have just returned home after a wonderful 3 night stay at the Brooks Hotel and we have been very impressed by the welcome we received. The room was lovely and the bed enormous, the shower was very powerful and the complimentary toiletries were great. The only thing that could be improved would be to possibly have nets at the window as I was conscious that people opposite could look straight in, but that's only a minor niggle.
The breakfasts as mentioned by others were wonderful, it was so nice to be able to have something different to the normal breakfast fare. I adored the eggs Benedict, they were cooked to perfection.
It's very easy to get into the centre because the bus stops just round the corner and for only £3.50
you can travel all day.
I booked directly with the hotel and had a 3nights for 2 offer which was much cheaper than using
a booking agent so I'd like to thank the staff and wish them every success for the future, we hope to return.

Room Tip: Book direct with the hotel and you can give them your preference
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucindaStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla B, General Manager at Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you very much for your review on us, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I look forward to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Emma Loane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    439
    387
    140
    39
    17
See reviews for
131
550
38
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

After staying in many many hotels and B&Bs in Edinburgh I have found my perfect place. The location is perhaps the only downside but really it's a short bus or taxi to Prince's Street. It's well worth the extra travel. This place is a gem - an absolute gem.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Disgruntled32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We have just stayed at the Brooks Hotel in Edinburgh for a long weekend, enjoying the sights and sampling the whiskies! David at the hotel made us all feel very welcome and the recent re-furbishment has really given the hotel a warm cosy feel, with a short stroll into the centre. The bedrooms are well equipped with a lovely lounge bar and the breakfasts were amazing. Not many hotels provide home made cakes, haggis and the eggs benedict was a particular favourite amongst the boys. Thanks for a lovely stay and expect us to return

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla B, General Manager at Brooks Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our Assistant Manager David made you feel so welcome, he is a star!
We hope to see you at Brooks Edinburgh, Bath or Bristol again in the future.
Kind regards

Emma Loane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwen
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

This hotel is wonderful.

We stayed here for three nights recently and enjoyed a little piece of luxury whilst still in a very reasonable price range.
The hotel is perfectly located for a nice walk into the city but it is on a bus route if you want to save your feet for princes st.
Upon arrival we were delighted to find such a lovely looking hotel with comfy beds, high powered showers (just what you need after a long drive up) and a very helpful night porter.

The staff in the hotel were brilliant and could not do enough for you.

Being foodies breakfast was delicious with a choice of continental and cooked and we needed a lie down every morning after because there was so much choice, with breakfast muffins, home made marmalade, jams, granola, fresh fruit, berry and natural yogurt compote - together with a full Scottish!

Needless to say this is a fantastic hotel with everything you need for a city break in lovely Edinburgh and will not hesitate to stay here again.

Thank you

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandrakirwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Came back here after a while of not being able to book it because of popularity.
Not dissapointed, it still has all of the great points of a boutique hotel, great rooms, comfy beds and lovely breakfast.
Tried to book for Fringe but already full.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bertie500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Stayed here 3 nights on a recommendation from Lonely Planet. Friendly and very helpful staff. Clean,comfortable room, good size, compact bathroom. Sizeable, relaxing lounge with an honesty bar. Excellent breakfast, just slight disappointment there was no smoked salmon on our final morning. Hotel is situated off Fountainbridge, some 10 to 15 minutes walk from Princes Street. Frequent bus services nearby. Very good Italian restaurant - called, appropriately,Italia - nearby.
All in all, a good break. Edinburgh a city well worth exploring.

Room Tip: Choose a room not facing onto Grove Street. Road seems to be a cut-through and can get slightly nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy7945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

We had pre-booked for 4 nights at this lovely hotel with a full advance payment using one of the online travel sites. Right from the time we arrived to the day we checked out, the service here was just brilliant.

The double bed was extremely comfortable with a small but still nice bath area. The finishing on the wall gave a rather warm yet upmarket kind of feel. I guess the corridors to the room had wooden flooring that creaked when someone walked by; but that surely is not something to bother about as it is calm and quiet most of the times.

What I loved most was the brilliant breakfast options offered. Every day had a specials menu and we tried a few other than the regular english breakfast with sausage, mushroom, bacon and eggs. These guys has a spanish chef who made some lovely salmon and egg on toast besides nice coffee,tea or juice. With a price of about £9 per person for breakfast, I thought it was a great deal with what they had to offer.

The hotel is close to a bus station which is a 3 minute walk (walk right for 2 mins after exiting the hotel and left again for 20 seconds and you will see the bus station to the center of the city. A chart of the various buses will tell you of the best option to travel to your destination.

Would definitely stay here if I visit Edinburgh again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NashP470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#39 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,806 reviews
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#85 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Channings Hotel
#31 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
West End
Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket)
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#25 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brooks Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooks Hotel Edinburgh

Property: Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 70 Grove Street, Edinburgh EH3 8AP, Scotland (Formerly Herald House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Brooks Hotel Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Early 20th century Victorian townhouse in Edinburgh city centre; offers convenient budget accommodation for business travellers and tourists. Perfect for groups, 2 minute walk to Edinburgh International Conference Centre & 10 minute walk to Edinburgh Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Hotel.de, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your Brooks Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herald Hotel Edinburgh
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing